Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel on a hill in the country.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The beautiful views of the Virginia countryside.
Cons: Our particular room had an issue with the windows fogging up. Probably due to the window seal being compromised and needing replacement.
Location: There are many notable historic places in the immediate area. Montpelier is very close, as well as a multitude of civil war sites. Good restaurants.
The hotel is situated on a hill such that it can't be seen until you arrive at the front door. It's almost like driving up to your own mansion on the hill. The rooms are spacious and well kept. The view from our room was absolutely stunning. The blue ridge mountains in the background and picturesque farm in the foreground. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Quiet out-of-the way place

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Quiet. Beds good. Very clean. Reasonably priced.
Cons: More signage to find hotel. I had to stop at two gas stations for directions. The hotel is very not conveniently located for most things.
Location: The hotel is 45 minutes from Montecello. Not a good hotel for touristy sight-seeing.
A great find. Hotel was extremely quiet. Behind the hotel were rolling hills with soybean fields. Hence, if a traveler avoids planting and harvesting seasons, the hotel is extremely quiet. Hotel was very clean. Beds very comfortable. Breakfast buffet was fine. I am a very seasoned traveler who finds it difficult to stay in hotels. I could stay in this hotel without difficulty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sarah Montgomery from Atlanta

Exceeded my expectations

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was better than we expected, with a nice view and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Linda

Va Wine Visit

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is my 2nd stay this year at a Holiday Inn Express. As a meeting planner for 37 years, I was impressed and would recommend to anyone that asked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Caroline from Weyers Cave, VA

Great for an overnight!

Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were in town for a wedding and didn't want to pay the prices that bed and breakfasts were charging. We were immediately impressed with the great view! It's not a big hotel but based on the parking lot when we got back that evening, they had a lot of a people staying there. The free breakfast was delicious. There was some trouble with the pancake maker (really neat machine I've never seen anywhere else) but it got fixed. Nice variety of food and plenty of seating, inside and out. If we ever had reason to stay overnight in Orange again, I'd be happy to stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Glenn from Arizona

Very clean and comfortable

Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just stopped for the night, nice people at front desk. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business and Pleasure Stay

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: There was no road noise to hinder your sleep. It's a great place to unwind for fresh air or to stop for visiting Fredericksburg or Charlottesville.
Location: It was only a 35 minute drive from Skyline Drive entrance off of Hwy 33.
We had a great view of the mountains with plenty of space to sit outside, grill out, or take a walk. A local bus service called Toots picks up by the CVS at the bottom of the hill if you have to give up the car to your spouse while he/she has to go elsewhere. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and offered a variety of foods at breakfast-- bagels, pancakes, eggs, bacon, yogurt, cereal, fruit, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by LP from PA

Nice hotel in a nice location

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comfortable hotel with amenities in a pretty hilltop location. Has outdoor pool with courtyard seating for the provided breakfast. Refrigerator and microwave in room with 24hr coffee/tea service is always appreciated. Close to several vineyards (Barboursville a favorite) and other sites we look forward to visiting on a future trip.