Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel on a hill in the country.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The beautiful views of the Virginia countryside.
Cons: Our particular room had an issue with the windows fogging up. Probably due to the window seal being compromised and needing replacement.
Location: There are many notable historic places in the immediate area. Montpelier is very close, as well as a multitude of civil war sites. Good restaurants.
The hotel is situated on a hill such that it can't be seen until you arrive at the front door. It's almost like driving up to your own mansion on the hill. The rooms are spacious and well kept. The view from our room was absolutely stunning. The blue ridge mountains in the background and picturesque farm in the foreground. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh

Quiet out-of-the way place

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Quiet. Beds good. Very clean. Reasonably priced.
Cons: More signage to find hotel. I had to stop at two gas stations for directions. The hotel is very not conveniently located for most things.
Location: The hotel is 45 minutes from Montecello. Not a good hotel for touristy sight-seeing.
A great find. Hotel was extremely quiet. Behind the hotel were rolling hills with soybean fields. Hence, if a traveler avoids planting and harvesting seasons, the hotel is extremely quiet. Hotel was very clean. Beds very comfortable. Breakfast buffet was fine. I am a very seasoned traveler who finds it difficult to stay in hotels. I could stay in this hotel without difficulty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Terrifrom Seattle

Best place I have stayed this trip

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
The warm cinnamon rolls were awesome. The view of the farmland is also relaxing and it's a very nice quiet location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by David K. Sutelanfrom Norfolk, Virginia

Very convenient to our areas of interest in Orange

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was truly excellent. The hotel was located on a beautiful hill with absolutely gorgeous vistas. If we ever again visit Orange, we will definitely plan to stay at the Holiday Inn Express.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chrisfrom Virginia

Nice hotel in a beautiful location

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
We picked the Holiday Inn Express Orange because of the very positive reviews and pictures we saw on Hotels.com. We found the hotel to be as clean, neat, and comfortable as many reviewers found. The hotel staff and breakfast were just as outstanding as we'd read about. The only downside was the hotel color scheme as shown in the pictures on Hotels.com. The hotel was remodeled since those pictures were taken, so instead of the beautiful, expressive colors my wife was looking forward to, we found the colors to be muted (maybe even drab) by comparison. If color isn't that important to you, this won't even be noticed. It just would have been nice if the pictures conveyed the current appearance of the hotel. That not withstanding, the hotel was excellent, the location amazing (and quiet), and our stay truly enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ruthfrom North Carolina

Beautiful views - great stay

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very pleased with this hotel and we were able to redeem Welcome Rewards. Breakfast was good, rooms not so crowded and had all comforts including kitchenette.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sue w.

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Claudia C

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by The Boyette Familyfrom Windsor, Va.

Great Weekend stay

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed Friday and Saturday night at the Holiday Inn Express in Orange, Va. Our room was very nice, spacious and clean.We ate breakfast both mornings during our stay, and the food was very good. The views from the hotel were absolutely stunning. We hope to stay there again the next time we are in that area.