Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Davidfrom Arlington, VA

Glad it Is Not the Inn at Little Washington

Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels
Planned this trip for my friend from Louisiana who's never seen mountains or small, colonial towns. The Lafayette Inn provided a great place to stop after visiting Shenandoah National Park to see the autumn leaves and hike, then stop in the country for dinner and to sleep before heading out again to see more of the fall leaves and visit wineries. The owners couldn't be nicer. And, the town is a quiet, quaint little Virginia town. A bit off the beaten path and maybe not as extravagant as the Inn at Little Washington, but being able to have a fancy meal or one of nearly 30 gourmet burgers made this stay all the better. I cannot wait to return and visit with the owners - just the nicest couple you could meet!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Arlington, VA

Great old hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Fireplace in room, very cozy bed & linens, spooky appearance at night/haunted history, nice innkeepers/chefs that opened the restaurant just for 2.
Cons: Add a DVD or Blu-Ray Player to the TV
Location: Close to wineries, Shenandoah National Park, Charlottesville
Great old hotel with plenty of character. Rooms were very cozy and comfortable, with recently remodeled bathrooms and gas fireplace. Arrived at night and it looked very haunted from the outside--indeed internet has ghost stories about the place, but no specters were seen or heard. Good restaurant and menu selection
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dianefrom Woody Creek CO

Cozy and quaint, a little less than expected

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels
The exxterior of the Inn was in need of paint and maintenance. Our room required us to go outside to re-enter, somewhat inconvenient in the cold.We did not get the room we originally requested. Beautifully furnished and we were greeted by the host warmly. the room was cold even with gas log fireplace and additional heater. Cozy in bed. Not well-lit and my daughter had trouble reading with any of the lamps. TV - only 4 or 5 channels. Dinner was excellent but mainly meat (2 lg chicken breasts)and no vegetables, a little pricey for what we got. We did not have any toiletries in the room and when we asked for them, they were brought to our table (at dinner) and we were told that we already had them so now we would have 2 sets. Never saw the original set.We enjoyed it but were a litlle disappointed.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Major disappointment

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels
Arrived at 9 pm to find out that room reservation confirmed by hotels.com just a few days prior was not in fact accepted by this hotel who claimed that a server delay had caused the room to already be booked prior to our reservation being transmitted. Not sure why hotels wasn't notified in this case. Instead 2 emails were sent to me directly but were sent to spam. This snafu cost me about 2 hours of my time and $100 but I am not sure I have even got my refund yet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Southwest Michigan

Historic Inn close to Shenandoah NP

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Location, history, graciousness of owners & staff, reasonably priced w/breakfast incl., gas fireplace, welcome champagne & snack
Location: Only 10 min from Shenandoah NP Swift Run Gap entrance. Experienced rock climbing for the first time on the Bearfence Mountain trail.
We greatly enjoyed our stay at The Lafayette Inn and being so close to the mountains in fall splendor. The staff showed fantastic hospitality and the inn was well preserved and lovingly restored. I liked the history book provided in our room that told us more about the area and how the Civil War affected the town. The morning breakfasts were delicious and oh-so-filling!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near the wineries.

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Wonderful staff and quaint Inn. Make sure no one is in the room above you, floors are squeaky...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by reins

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels