Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by G&N from ottawa canada

Excellent all around

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Having arrived late the courtesy extended was exceptional. Superlatives all around. A wonderful & very relaxed stay,wrapping up our 2 weeks in Provence. Alps en haut a wonderful holiday destination. Thankyou
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colorado Couple from Denver, CO

A great time at "La Bonne Etape"

Posted Nov 6, 2013
Pros: Great location. Charming building. Incredible restaurant. Friendly staff.
We travelled to France in November 2013 and stayed one night at "La Bonne Etape" for a romantic getaway. We had a great time, and the culinary experience for dinner at the restaurant was amazing. Jany Gleize put together incredible menus. The entire staff was courteous and friendly. Service was flawless. We are already planning to come back during the summer or late spring. Highly recommended!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by MRO from Bahama, NC

OK for Passing Thru on One-Night Stay

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
PROS: (1) This hotel has 2 GREAT restaurants (a bistro & a fine dining restaurant). (2) The pool is well-maintained and an extremely pleasant aspect of this property. CONS: The hotel itself is in need of a complete systems replacement. Air conditioning was not working during our entire stay. Plumbing is extremely outdated. Bathrooms additionally should be updated. (Bathroom in our room was decorated with old red and gold - colored marble slabs. Fixtures and plumbing were 1980's vintage.) The beautiful one acre garden on this property is unkempt and choked with weeds (although still spectacular). SUMMARY: This property could be a really great and relaxing oasis if the deferred maintenance were addressed. This town has very little going on, and is not worth visiting as a specific destination.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Heather from Australia

Wonderful service & great restaurant

Posted Jun 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff were incredibly nice and helpful - and the restaurant was divine!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Juan Les Pins

Great Staff and Service...

Posted Apr 25, 2011 on Hotels.com
Stayed one night at this great little hotel well finished with charming decor. The room was in the ground floor garden with it's own entrance again nicely finished with brick flooring antique furniture and a good sized bathroom. (Balcony rooms were also available.) The staff were welcoming, friendly and attentive, especially in the restaurant which is a must. Great creative food and some good wine. The breakfast was very nice too. Proprietor/Chef Monsieur Gleize is a charming host and runs a very well thought out polished and yet un-intimidating establishment. There isn't really much to see or do in Chateau-Arnoux-Saint-Auban itself, but the surrounding area has some good places to visit such as Sisteron and the Ganagobie Priory.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel, but ......

Posted Sep 18, 2010 on Hotels.com
This hotel is charming with lovely grounds and sparkling pool. It also has a gourmet restaurant with a great reputation. Unfortunately we did not eat here. We had a ground floor room overlooking the pool area. It was very nicely furnished but the bed was very small (I doubt it was a full double) and the bathroom only had a hand held shower in the bath. I understand that other rooms (more expensive) did have showers. This was one of the more expensive hotels on our trip so we were somewhat disappointed in our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Bristol, England

A great little hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2009
Just what we would expect chateaux type hotel. Hotel staff were extremely helpful, would go back again. We did not eat here as it was very expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Silver Spring MD

Amazing Start to our French Honeymoon!

Posted Sep 29, 2009
From the time we drove onto the grounds, we absolutely loved every aspect of our stay at La Bonne Etape. Gorgeous surroundings, first-class service from all hotel and restaurant staff, a lovely room that was clean and comfortable, and those views! They were to die for! This was the first leg of our honeymoon and we spent most of our time dining, lounging by the beautiful pool, enjoying our soaking tub (built for two) and walking around the area (there's a castle, fountain, and a lake/trail perfect for picnicking. Our room was technically "standard" but we'd never have known; we had OUTSTANDING views, beautiful furnishings, and more space than I've ever seen in a European hotel. The staff is more than happy to accommodate special requests, such as espresso by the pool, a light snack in the middle of the day, breakfast in bed, whatever you can dream up. They even coordinated a hot air balloon ride for us on our last day in the area. The restaurant is Michelin starred, and it's clearly earned that distinction.