Ratings based on 1,051 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by John from New Hampshire

Clean but needs renovation

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Cute setting
Cons: See need for renovation, above. The restaurant was expensive, service poor, food mediocre.
Location: Location great. Shuttle bus right next door! Tennessee Aquarium is the best! Rock City, very good. Hunter Museum and Ruby Falls, good.
Our unit was clean. However, the toilet was about to come off its moorings. The bowl was cracked. Half of the slider window/door was completely fogged and was very hard to move open. Rug stained.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Choo Choo stay

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: The staff!
Cons: Coffee pot, lighting, carpets.....
This was a spur of the moment trip with my girlfriend therefore, I was limited in what hotels were available. I almost didn't go due to the reviews on this site. The amount paid for the room and what we got wasn't a good value. I won't stay there again. We were in building 1. There was a different smell to the whole building. Carpets need replacing and the lighting needs improvement. Bathroom was small and could only brew one cup of coffee at a time. The staff were some of the nicest of anywhere I've ever stayed and the history was well worth a visit if one is ever in Chattanooga.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Apr 13, 2014
It was alright, but we were a little disappointed. Kind of shabby, a little run down.
3 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Atlanta, Ga

Historic hotel rip off

Posted Apr 9, 2014
If you need a hotel that allows pets stay here, or if you have young kids who would think it's cool to stay at an old train station stay here, otherwise, DO NOT STAY HERE. Overall it was "OK". Everything needs to be updated, staff was friendly and helpful, but it's very overpriced for the conditions, amenities (or lack there of). I definitely would not stay here again. Save yourself the hassle and just stay at the Marriott and take a trip to visit the choo choo hotel as a tourist sight to see, other than that, leave.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Noisy guest!

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The grounds are great and fun to explore with the family,the shuttle picks up right in front of the hotel.
Cons: This hotel is in desperate need of some updating. The hallways and the gift shop had a old musty smell.
Location: The Chattanooga aquarium is great,and cheeseburger cheeseburger and sticky fingers BBQ are must eat at restaurants.
Me and my son stayed at the choo choo before a couple of years ago and enjoyed ourselves, this time was a little different. The fire alarm went off twice the first night we were there and the only explanation we got from security was that they thought someone was smoking in the pool area? I had to wake my son up after a long day of exploring Chattanooga to get out of the hotel just in case there was really a fire. We had a little trouble getting back to sleep due to the two families that were obviously related at the end of our hallway that let their unsupervised kids run back and forth across the hallway screaming and yelling to their rooms that were across the hallway from each other.They just left the doors propped open so the kids could run between rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gina from Columbia, TN

Not too bad

Posted Apr 7, 2014
The room was clean but I noticed that it definitely was starting to show its age. The ceilings were stained. There was rust in the bathroom. The housekeeper woke us up knocking on our door at 8:30 a.m. to see if we had left, although checkout is 11. Not a pleasant wake up call. Overall, though, it was a good experience. Neat atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carol from Alabama

Nice area and close to events chosen to enjoy

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: The location to events we chose to enjoy.
Cons: No improvements needed.
Location: Look out mountain, Ruby falls and the Aquarium
This was my first trip to this hotel and will not be the last.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Devin from Nashville TN

Nice hotel for the money

Posted Apr 5, 2014
We were just in town for one night, wanted something not too expensive but still close to downtown. Was nice for the money. Loved that it was next to shuttle park , easy to get downtown without the hassle of paying to park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Expirience

Posted Apr 4, 2014
The room was in building one & was a typical room, Very clean the furniture was polished. The Breakfast Buffet was passable. What REALLY got me all excited about the Choo Choo, took place after my wife & I checked out. We went to Lookout Mountain & did all of that . My wife looked in her purse & noticed that her diary was not where she expected to see it. After many stes backward, retracing our day. She realized it had been left in a drawer in our room. So back to the Choo Choo we went. The lady at the fron desk made every effort to contact housekeeping in an attempt to track the wayward diary down. We asked if we could have a key to go & look for our selves. Just as we pulled up to the front door of Buildig #1. One of the ladies on the staff was standing in front with the Diary & several other items from the drawer where they were left. With a big cheerful greeting, she says, "I bet these belong to you"! EVERYONE responded with concern to our plight. I just am very pleased with the attention payed to our issue. Many THANKS to the staff of the Choo Choo!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We had a great time

Posted Apr 3, 2014
The hotel room was very clean and had a nice, clean smell. We enjoyed all the amenities, especially the indoor pool. Great place to stay with the family!