Ratings based on 1,266 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rogersville,tn

Clean,but outdated

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Had always heard of Chattanooga Cho Cho,but never stayed there 8/16/14. Hotel lobby was magnificent!! My room was in building #2, a ride from lobby. Building looked and smelled old. Elevator was so noisey I was afraid to use. Room was quite,clean and bed was comfortable. Probably will not stay again. I would rather stay downtown in newer hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Free electric shuttle to town area

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Large rooms, nice pools, beautiful gardens
Cons: No smoking! Need rooms renovated, new beds, comfortable chairs. Need decaf tea in the restaurant.
Location: Alleia's restaurant is a must, impeccable and amazing dining experience. You are quite far from the activities, but there is a free electric shuttle.
The rooms are like you stepped back into an old Holiday Inn in the 1970s. Clean and updated bathrooms. Nice courtyard outside of some of the rooms, but a lot of smoking outside of the rooms in building #1. Had to call the front desk as could smell smoke in our room. It was the people next to us that was sitting outside and had their sliding door open and smoking, maybe inside, who knows. These were all non-smoking rooms. Seems that smoking is a problem. I was told that if they smelled smoke in a room after they checked out, that the tenant would be charged 150.00 without hesitation. Otherwise, the beds were fine and room nice and large. The t.v. didn't have a menu so you could not see what was playing or going to play. The chairs in the room were terribly uncomfortable. Nice large table. Front desk Lydia was extremely helpful and pleasant, over the top service. The other one when we checked in was not pleasant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Aug 25, 2014
When we arrived they put us in the wrong room that was not fully cleaned and one bed did not have pillow cases. I told them that the room needed to be finished cleaning and some pillow cases. They went into the room and threw the pillow cases on the bed and that was it. We had to go to the front desk at least three times because our keys did not work and we were in the very back of the property which is a 5-10 minute walk. On the final morning of our stay we were woken up by gushing water that was coming through the bathroom ceiling. It maybe cheap to stay here but it is not worth shaving money. It is major need of renovations and I will not be staying there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC Mtns

Interesting Place

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: History
Cons: Interior condition
Location: Lots going on in Chattanooga. Be sure to eat at the City Cafe and get a pie or cake.... mmmmmmmmmmmmmm-good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very sad state.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Convenience to downtown
Cons: Everything needs to be redone.
Location: All tourist attractions readily accessible as well as many restaurant choices.
Disappointing in all aspects. Decor needs to be updated, grounds are unkempt, very depressing place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old unkempt

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Location: The location was not good but they have a free shuttle to downtown
This place probably was nice 50 years ago but it is pretty much falling apart, they are doing some renovations but it needs a lot more. Everything so old and musty,ceiling pealing,woodwork scratched up,some carpets bad,doors taped up,water dripping. The gardens however are nice and the food at the station house was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend with friends

Posted Aug 22, 2014
It was a good weekend. It just a big place and they put us in building number 3 and it was a long walk if we needed to go to the front or needed anything to eat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2014 by jimmy, Hotel Management
I am happy to hear that you had good stay. We have golf carts to shuttle guests the complex, just call the front desk. Regards, Jill Ellis Coker QA
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Renovation needed

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Update carpets, fresh paint needed and update the furniture.
Location: The area is a bit sketchy getting to the hotel.
The room smelled old and musty. The beds were short sheeted and the pillows were flat and hard as a rock. The carpet was stained. Every shop and restaurant closed at 8:00 pm. Very dissappointed with the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Trying to become a destination but not there yet

Posted Aug 17, 2014
the gardens and grounds were very well maintained and beautiful. We were placed in hotel 3. The room was very large but poorly furnished. The toilet ran continuously. The thermostat did not work. overall the room was in poor condition and not well sound proofed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by jimmy, Hotel Management
I’m sorry to see your review. Did you notify management about your issues? If management knows of an issue they will act on it. We sometimes make mistakes, but we also make great recoveries. Regards, Jill Ellis Coker Quality Assurance
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nostalgic

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Shuttle to downtown was convenient.
Cons: Overall rooms need to be updated. Pool is over chlorinated leaving hotel 1 with a chemical smell.
Location: Great food down downtown.
The main building for check in on the grounds are beautiful. Unfortunately the regular rooms leave a lot to be desired.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by jimmy, Hotel Management
I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. Let us know if you are ever unhappy about anything and let us find a solution to exceed your needs. We just need the chance to prove it. On average, we invest between $1.5 to $3 million a year in maintaining and upgrading the property. We are planning another renovation this year. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM