Ratings based on 661 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Parking and Restroom

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: See experience
Cons: See experience
Location: Go checkout "Easy" - awesome oysters, steak, and drinks.
Valet is a mess. Keys were misplaced once, had to wait 30 minutes another time because they were so backed up and mismanaged, then when leaving waited 10 minutes, after we called ahead, in the cold because they "thought someone else was helping".... Hotel seems nice in appearance and a good location; also the bed is great. Carpets are ok, drapes are dated, furniture is cheap. No vent in the bathroom and shower is weak/turns off if you flush the toilet. Overall - we were fine with our stay, but for the price we paid for a King Jr Suite, we expected comparable to the Ritz or Four Seasons; and they would not ever have the above issues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom D

Classic Hotel

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Everyone from the valet too the desk check in were extremely helpful. The room was spacious and clean. My only problem was that the bathtub was slick on the bottom. Otherwise there were no complaints at all. Porters Restaurant served an excellent breakfast and the service was also attentive and helpful. We plan too come back again the next time we go to Chattanooga.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Cons: You need a more reasonable priced restaurant.
Enjoyed hotel stay-we were attending concert that night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom knoxville

Great old downtown hotel.

Posted Dec 11, 2014
It takes awhile to get hot water. The room and view of lookout mountain were excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quick weekend away

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: Good location
Location: Community Pie for dinner, Geocaching within a couple of blocks, City Cafe for breakfast
No wait to check-in. We're not used to street parking so we didn't want to deal with moving the car again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Clean hotel. It's a little older. Shower was in bad shape.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Dec 7, 2014
while the location is great the facility is old and not well maintained. The bathroom floors were worn and thus felt dirty. the air conditioning was loud. the elevators and hallways had not been maintained and looked very worn. Everything in the common areas needs a sanding and re-painting. The on site Starbucks and Porter's Steak House were both excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2014 by Manager Read House, Hotel Management
We do understand that you have many choices and options when you travel, and we genuinely thank you for choosing us this time around. Although we would have liked to have made a better impression, we were happy to hear that you found Porters restaurant and Starbucks excellent. Your business is never taken for granted and we genuinely thank you for staying with us. Warm Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom M

Very nice hotel clean great host

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Stayed there for Thanksgiving weekend the hotel was beautiful you will really enjoy your stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Good facilities and friendly staff. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Knoxville, TN

Great Downtown Location

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: I loved the location and the comforting atmosphere. There was a great steakhouse and Starbucks in the lobby and the price was right.
Location: Tons of options within 10 min away- Ruby Falls, Lookout Mountain, Rock City, urban winery, local food venues, the Aquarium, and tons more!
We stayed at The Read House for my birthday weekend because of it's location in Downtown Chattanooga. It is close to the interstate for traveling to Ruby Falls, Lookout Mountain, and Rock City. Plus it was close to the Aquarium, the pedestrian bridge, and tons of food venues to sample.