Paying with Bitcoin
Powered by Coinbase. Our acceptance of Bitcoin is powered by our partner, Coinbase. We do not guarantee and are not responsible for the availability of Coinbase’s services. To complete your booking, you will be re-directed to Coinbase’s website, where you will see the total cost of your booking in Bitcoin, based on an exchange rate set by Coinbase. The Bitcoin price for your booking will remain valid for 10 minutes. If you do not initiate a payment during this time, the Bitcoin exchange rate will be updated and the Bitcoin price for your booking may change.
Bitcoin network transaction fees. As with nearly all Bitcoin transactions, a very small transaction fee (a “miner’s fee”) will be added by the Bitcoin network to the total cost in Bitcoin of your booking if you are sending Bitcoin from a non-Coinbase wallet. This fee covers the cost of verifying Bitcoin transactions. Expedia has no control over this fee and does not receive any portion of the fee.
Bitcoin transactions are final. Once you initiate a Bitcoin transaction, you cannot cancel it (provided however that you may seek a refund per our refund policy described below). This is inherent in the nature of the Bitcoin network, not a policy set by Expedia.
Under payments and over payments. If, using a Coinbase wallet, you attempt to initiate a payment of Bitcoins different from the exact cost of the booking indicated by Coinbase, your booking will not complete. If, using a non-Coinbase wallet, you initiate a payment of Bitcoins different from the exact cost (plus miner’s fees) of the booking indicated by Coinbase your booking will not complete however your payment maybe processed by the Bitcoin network, in which case your payment will be refunded by Coinbase. After a failed payment you will be required to re-submit payment for the correct amount in order to complete the booking and the Bitcoin exchange rate may update.
Transactions complete once confirmed. Once a Bitcoin transaction is submitted to the Bitcoin network, it will be unconfirmed for a period of time (usually about an hour, but sometimes longer) pending full verification of the transaction by the Bitcoin network. A transaction is not complete until it is fully verified.
A valid email address and a Coinbase account are required for refunds. Your refund will be issued through Coinbase, and you must have, or create, a Coinbase account in order to receive the refund. Coinbase will send a refund notification email to the email address associated with your Expedia booking (if you were signed in at booking, your Expedia account email address; otherwise, the email address you provided at checkout). Providing a valid email address that you are able to access is important, as it is a condition for receiving your refund. If you do not have a Coinbase account associated with the email address to which the refund email was sent, the refund notification email will explain how to access a Coinbase account automatically created on your behalf to claim your refund. If you fail to access your Coinbase account and/or complete the steps outlined in the refund notification email within 30 days, the funds will be returned to Expedia. If the refund notification email is sent to an email address associated with an existing Coinbase account, the refund will automatically be credited by Coinbase to the associated Coinbase account. You acknowledge that, if you are unable to (1) access the email address associated with your booking or (2) use the Coinbase service or access a Coinbase account, you will not be able to receive a refund for your booking.
Refunds issued for the USD value of your booking. Your refund will be issued by Coinbase in Bitcoin for the USD value of your booking, less any applicable fees, including any cancellation fees. Your refund will be converted from USD to Bitcoin based on an exchange rate set by Coinbase at the time you initiate the refund through our Website. You acknowledge that if the value of Bitcoin against USD has risen since the time of your purchase, you will receive less Bitcoin than you paid at the time of booking.