Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tc from uk

Great hotel close to river

Posted May 24, 2014
Very nice hotel, with good location next to river and new entertainment area. Short walk to metro station. Staff pleasant &helpful & assisted us to book sightseeing trips. Reasonable food options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Deb from Wheaton, Illinois

Close to river

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was the second shangri la hotel I stayed at in china. Both were very nice and were very helpful for western travelers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JIM from AUSTRALIA

EPITOMIZED EXCELLENCE!

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: MY WIFE AND I ENJOYED EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS HOTEL FROM THE PICK-UP AT THE AIRPORT BY THE HOTEL STAFF TO THE DROP-OFF UPON OUR DEPARTURE.
Cons: EVERYTHING BRINKS ON PERFECTION!
Location: THE PANDA RESERVE, LESHAN AND THE WATER IRRIGATION PROJECT.
OUR EXPERIENCE AT THE SHANGRI-LA, CHENGDU, HAS BEEN NOTHING SHORT OF EXCEPTIONAL OR OUTSTANDING!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by M. MacKay from Maine

Great Location, Extremely Comfortable

Posted Nov 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Shangri-la's location could not be better: just around the corner from the famous nightclub street and just across the river (with a convenient footbridge) from the live music bars and restaurants. This was my last hotel on a two-week trip, and I was happy to pay a premium for an extremely comfortable bed (by Western standards) and a delicious breakfast (Chinese and Western both available and both very good). The staff speak good English and helped in a number of ways, from changing money to hailing cabs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amelia from Singapore

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Business Traveller from UK

Posted Nov 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall a pleasant experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ilze from Canada

Great stay

Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
The only comment I have is that the restaurants and coffee were way to expensive. We paid $40 for two coffees- not even a specialty coffee- just plain perked coffee. Meals were the same thing. The porters and bell boys were extremely helpful in getting cabs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by keren

Nice hotel, loved the location

Posted Sep 26, 2013
Should check if upgrade to the horizon club is not cheaper then breakfast...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tony from Penang, Malaysia

Great 5 Star Hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: Great presentation, clean, quiet, and very comfortable rooms
Location: Great - right on the river and near plenty of restaurants and bars
This is a great hotel and I will cerrtainly use it again when I visit Chengdu. It has a high standard of finishes and very well located. The rooms were very quiet and comfortable with free wifi. My only two minor issues was that the creamer powder in the minbar was never replaced the five days I stayed there and in the Chinese Restaurant off the lobby (Shang Palace from memory) a number of the foods and wines listed were not available - it was embarrasing having to re-order in front of guests several times as staff did not know what was not available when orders were taken.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Krishnan from Singapore

Fantastic service

Posted Jun 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Completely enjoyable