Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AGfrom United Kingdom

4 star? You must be joking.

Posted Mar 20, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Condition
Location: Excellent location
I went on a business trip to Chengdu and chose this hotel because it was dirt cheap for a 4 star hotel. I was the only non Chinese resident throughout my stay and the staff could hardly speak any english which did not matter because I had my friend who translated for me. Well situated and acceptable. This is not a 4 star hotel but might be passed as a three star. This hotel needs a total refurbishment as it is tatty every where you look. The whole place needs to be gutted out and revamped.Do not forget to take tea bags, biscuits and toilet paper to make your stay more comfortable. If you are not used to Chinese breakfast ,you can only get eggs and dry toasts ( butter or milk not available) and a small selection of fruits. Having said all that, what do you expect for £20 per day inc breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Davidfrom Montreal, QC, Canada

Great value

Posted Nov 19, 2012
Pros: The price
Cons: The carpet and wall (dirty, bare)
Location: Good
Good location next to the river/canal. Easy to get taxis from the hotel (but not easy coming back from the shopping district0. Hotel could use some sprucing up - new paint, new carpets - wall was bare outside of a mirror, TV was on old rear-tube version in the corner, and some of the amenities (ex.: Lobby Lounge) were only open sparadically, but the bed (a huge king-sized one) was great and extremely comfortable, the rate (C$29) came with a great, full breakfast and the staff, although English was a challenge for them, were only too happy to help out in any way they could. Also only a short walk to lots of little Sichuan restaurants (mainly noodles). I'd definitely stay again, especially given the price, but stay away from anyone asking if you want a taxi from the airport, as the price will be brutally inflated (I spent CNY150 from the airport, but RMB 80 going there).
1 out of 5
by SEKfrom 重慶

全然だめ。

Posted Nov 16, 2012
部屋は暗い、壁も汚れている。エアコンのつまみは壊れている。 冷蔵庫はあかない。 風呂は途中から茶色い水になる。 朝食はコーヒー、バターも無い。ジュースはうすい。 チェックインも遅い。 英語スタッフもいない。
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
the hotel does give good value for money and is priced to reflect its limitations. it needs a refurbishment and there is a smell of stale cigarettes in all the common areas, The staff do not speak English and whilst we were there an English visitor was very disressed because she could not geta doctor. But you do get a comfortable room with all the required facilities at a very fair price, There is also the best street barbacue in Chengdu just behind the hotel, Breakfast best avoided unless you are really into local food.i liked the place, it had a charm and really makes you feel you are in the real China. The staff do try and help
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by asdfrom 二本

歩いてヨーカドーまで行けるよ

Posted Aug 10, 2012
Pros: ホテルの位置
Cons: 朝食時間が遅い
Location: とてもいい
朝食時間が7時だった 朝、空港に行くため、時間がないので、弁当でも欲しかった 場所はとても良い位置だ
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Hotel Condition

Posted Aug 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
When we arrived we found that no-one spoke English, luckily my wife is Chinese. We went to our room which was on a non-smoking floor. It had not been cleaned or made up from the previous occupant but what we found as well was that the room reeked of tobacco smoke and there were cigarette butts in many places. The shower door had a large gap around it and the shower unit was higher than the rest of the bathroom so water poured out and went all over the bathroom floor which was very, very slippery as a result. The best description you can give the Hotel is that it is 'Very Tired' and in much need of a refurbishment. The staff were pleasant and helpful but were let down by their surroundings. We had booked and paid for 16 nights and would have changed Hotels if it had been possible.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Nicole

Posted Aug 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
Nous avons d abord eu une chambre très malpropre , bruyante, vue sur des ordures.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by HT

Not 4-star at all

Posted Jun 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
Seemed nice from afar, but it really wasn't. The biggest things that got me: the bathrooms were falling apart, as the shower and bath faucet were coming out of the wall and not just leaking, but spraying water everywhere and out of the shower. Also, they didn't have maps from Chengdu, they got maps that I'm pretty sure they stole from somewhere, then rather than give you one at the desk, they simply had one in the room that they charged you for if you lost. At least it was priced accordingly, but I don't know who gave it the 4-star rating in the first place
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Lisa & Paul

You get what you pay for

Posted May 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
The Riverside Fairmont was a budget hotel at best - certainly not the 4 stars we had expected. The bathroom was infested with bugs, carpets and walls had miscellaneous dark stains, the complimentary toiletries were already opened and partially used, the fridge was locked and turned off, and the air conditioning only worked for three hours at a time meaning that in the 30 degree heat, we sweltered during the night. On the plus side, the staff tried to be helpful with their limited English and the location was ok. By the way, when it comes to the free breakfast, unless you like hot orange juice, old sponge cake, and celery - don't bother.
3 out of 5
by katyfrom jiangsu, china

it's not really a 4 star hotel

Posted May 15, 2012
Cons: the heat!!!
Location: beside the river, not far from the centre of the city
For a 4 star hotel, I was very dissapointed, however the price was very cheap! The staff did not speak a word of English. The room was so hot - even with the a/c on it's lowest setting, so I could not sleep at all!! The internet in the rooms is wired, so If you don't have a normal laptop (ie a phone or tab) you cannot connect to the internet!! The carpet was very dirty. There were no cable tv channels as promised and the english speaking channel was so blurry that it was unwatchable! The breakfast provided was ok- it was completely chinese breakfast with no cereal provided and no butter for the toast. No coffee or tea either!!! On a positive note, the view from the riverside rooms were wonderful, the bed was more comfortable than most chinese beds and there was a constant supply of hot running water!!