Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aristotle from Canada

a good hotel at a modest price

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: convenient to the places I like to visit
I have come to the Savera, about every 2 years, for a short visit to the city. It is convenient, close, inexpensive and comfortable
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely dissappointed!!

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: The breakfast buffet was pretty good.
I am not a big fan when it comes to writing reviews. But I am extremely dissapointed with this hotel stay. I am from bangalore, but studied in US and also working there now. I had to visit chennai for my visa process. As I am not familiar with chennai, so wanted to book something nice, so went for an expensive one. I spent around 6000 rupees for a nights stay. Only reason I booked this hotel was because they promised high speed wired and wireless internet. I had my biometric check and visa interview on 2 consecutive days and had taken early morning appointment, so that I can work from there rest of the day. But when asked for the internet, a technician came 2 to 3 times in 3 hours span and could not fix the issue. I asked him to call me and inform when its fixed or what is happening but he never showed up or even called after that. I called the front desk many times saying its very important for me to have internet as I have client calls, they gave me a prepaid airtel card which did not work at all. If you just want a place to crash, there are good hotels for just 600 rupees per night at chennai. You do not really have to spend 6000 to just have a bed to crash!! What I have to say to these hotel staff is - If you do not provide what you promise then please do not charge for those things at least!! Also at least have the courtesy to say sorry when you cause inconvenience to your guest. FYI - I paid for the stay with my hard earned money, nobody sponsored me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alec from New York

Lovely hotel just outside city centre

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: Quiet location yet easy access to airport, station and downtown Spencer Plaza. a couple of interesting temples close by
Cons: not much.they are doing a fine job to accommodate guests. They could provide some chaise loungers around the pool area as the seating is limited.
Location: Quiet, a couple of kilometres from Marina Beach, with nice temples nearby. Just a lovely hotel all round.
We arrived in the wee hours from a BA flight from London and checked in at the hotel with ease and comfort.. Staff were courteous and very helpful. Situated in Mylapore, it's just south of centre city and has a nice pool and several good restaurants. Has a small but efficient business room with free internet access and wifi. Can heartily recommend and would go there again on next visit. Popular with Indian businessmen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location and near to beach

Posted Feb 7, 2014
The room was good. The hotel staff were courteous and the food was good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Satyendra from Guwahati Assam

Response to queries

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: Their prompt attention to queries made on phone and mail
Cons: The breakfast service can definitely be improved as the number of guests during breakfast appeared to be fairly large
Location: Had no time to look for anything nearby as I had only stayed the night
The hotel is moderately priced. They responded quickly for my query regarding airport pick up and airport drop and both the airport pick up and drop were done satisfactorily at a reasonable extra charge. The check in was smooth and quick. The staff were courteous. The roof top restaurant staff were attentive. Food was reasonable. The breakfast restaurant was crowded and it was difficult to get the staff to attend to requests; however, they tried their best to serve the needs of the guest fairly well. Perhaps a few more persons to attend the breakfast crowd is desirable. On the whole a reasonably good hotel at an economical price
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and close to beach and Anna salai

Posted Jan 25, 2014
2 out of 5
by SS. from Austin, Texas

If hygiene is an issue don't stay here.

Posted Jan 24, 2014
Pros: The hotel is well-situated. There is an excellent Mughlai restaurant on the roof. The travel service at the basement does a very good job and is relia
Cons: Cleanliness, service, especially the former.
The hotel is well-situated. There is an excellent Mughlai restaurant on the roof. The travel service at the basement does a very good job and is reliable. That said, it was a surreal experience (we stayed for three nights). We had twin beds. When we moved one of them, we discovered old bottles, ancient food, and various wrappers shoved under the bed--was an archaeological discovery is the best spin I can put on it. Concerns about cleanliness persisted. When we got new towels (for which we had to ask many times each day), there was nice blonde hair wrapped within the towels. At the breakfast buffet, plates and cups had to be chosen carefully--many were dirty. The staff were very pleasant but didn't do anything fast. Checkout took over half an hour--because of another guest's minibar clearance (which was begun by the same individual who was already claiming to be helping us)--and we had a prepaid reservation through Expedia. It took forty minutes to get coffee during breakfast. Luckily, there isn't much to see in Chennai proper--otherwise we'd be more displeased about all this wasted time.
3 out of 5
by John from Vancouver

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: Staff mostly very obliging; Malgudi restaurant; good location ... but also habit. I've been staying there for a good many years.
Cons: Cleanliness of rooms, especially bathrooms. Appointment of another interior designer.
Location: Good for central Chennai; the Music Academy is two minutes away for those who appreciate Carnatic music; Mylapore temples not far; beach not too far
I have been staying at Severa for many years. This time, however, I was disappointed. The facelift that the entrance and ground floor has undergone is awful; my wife pointed out that the sheets on the bed in our room hadn't been changed; the windows were smeared over on the inside; the bathroom hadn't been properly cleaned. The breakfast room/dining room has also been 'upgraded' in a doubtful manner, and the staff there seemed to suffer from not being clear about what they were supposed to be doing. On the other hand, the staff elsewhere in the hotel are mostly obliging. For those who like South Indian food the Malgudi restaurant is outstandingly good; and the Minar on the roof does North Indian pretty well. Neither, probably, will be appreciated by visitors who aren't confirmed enthusiasts for Indian cuisine.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Arvind

Overall OK experience.

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: Hotel is very close to US consulate and has swimming pool, few restaurants.
Cons: Service, response by Hotel staff. Food quality at Malgudi restaurant. it is not good.
Over all stay was Ok. I may stay again if i have some work at US consulate(that is the only reason i stayed in this hotel as it is close by). Though i am disappointed due to following two things, i also informed Hotel staff about it. 1. Constant drilling noise(it was coming due to renovation work that was going on) since morning till 12 when i checked out. I called hotel staff about it and i was told they will check but no update till 12pm. 2. Bad odor/color hot water in the morning, i could not take bath. i called hotel staff and they mentioned that they can give me another room/bathroom so i can take shower but when they came to room they explained that they can bring bucket of water as this problem is there in other rooms as well, i decided to skip the water bucket option. One staff member was suggesting me to just use cold water if hot water is not good :-( . I am just sharing my experience with you all.