Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Aug 13, 2013
It was a safe and comfortable stay. The staff thoughtful and kind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Arun from Kerala

comfortable stay

Posted Jun 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Everything was comfortable except for an extra MB bill on the last day which i had not used 24 hrs prior to check out...unfortunately didnt check during payment..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by manoj

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Veena from San Francisco, CA, USA

Loved the staff

Posted Apr 13, 2013
Pros: the staff, very helpful and nice
Cons: the cabs had no idea where to go as this is a new location.
Location: great pool
I LOVED the staff here. They really know how to make a personal feel special. My only side note is make sure you tell your driver or the location (the specifics) because that was an issue as this is a new hotel/location. Thanks again for an amazing stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
by davin d

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by John from Toronto

Posted Mar 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were very happy with the service and had a very enjoyable stay. The food in the restaurant was very good. The night club was loud on Friday and Saturday night however they did put us at the opposite side of the hotel. We would go back to this hotel and would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by rcj

fantastic hotel

Posted Mar 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was the best place we've ever stayed. Coudn't fault it. It was for my husband's 50th birthday and the satff were just wonderful. In the rooftop restaurant, they even came out with a cake at the end of our meal, as a surprise! The cocktail evening was nice-so unusual to be invited to something without a 'catch!' All the food was excellent and service top notch. We didn't really want to leave. It's a bit of a 'bubble' in the mad Chennai world outside and we would have loved to have stayed longer. Extremely tempting to stay there all day and you could so easily, with the pool, lovely room and spa. It is easy enough to get about though. We walked and took tuk tuks everywhere. The men on the gate will call one for you. We were there for the cricket but good location to visit other attractions too. Would highly recommend the Taj.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Karan

Great hotel in Chennai

Posted Mar 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Arrived late and the hotel's Innova was at the airport waiting for us. It was a Friday night, so quite buzzing and the bar/club on the ground floor was full of people (mostly men). The music was loud and my colleague's room was vibrating a little because of the bass. Not terrible, but not ideal. Breakfast spread was good and the concierge was very helpful with getting us rebooked on a flight. Our lunch at the Indian restaurant (on the ground floor) was absolutely fantastic and we had to call the chef out for complements. Overall a positive experience and would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by A verified traveler

Avoid at all costs

Posted Feb 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Upon checking into this hotel, we immediately felt that this "Taj" property did not measure up to the Taj brand in any way. This is by no means a 5 star hotel and Taj should be ashamed of themselves for carrying this hotel under it's banner. We were greeting by the guest services manager upon check-in, sat us in a dark dingy lounge area with a stained and torn sofa. There were other "business men" having meetings in this area and we were shocked and disgusted to see some of them in bare feet! The guest manager himself had in ill-fitting suit with a torn hem, and as he escorted us to our room we asked him about the state of the hotel and if this was a "lower standard Taj", to which he replied that he was surprised to hear us say this and no one has ever made the is comment before. When we got to our room, we could see the chairs, bed skirt, and curtains were dusty and stained and there were finger prints all over the cabinets. We complained to the housekeeping manager who then moved us to a bigger room which was only marginally better. We were booked to stay for 4 nights, but we were so disgusted with the place and the quality of service that we immediately checked out to find a better hotel. My wife and I have stayed at many Taj properties in the past, but because of this experience we will likely not be doing so in the future. We chose this hotel because it had an "outstanding" rating on this website. Do not be fooled! Stay far away from this hotel!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Nightmare on Sri Street

Posted Jan 2, 2013
Booked the deluxe suite last minute on Expedia. Upon arrival to my room, immediately noticed a very strong mold stench. Room was humid, air conditioning wasn't helping. They showed me another room on a lower floor, which reeked of cigarette smoke. Decided to stay in my room. All was well until about 9PM when extremely loud music started thumping throughout the hotel... Music didn't end until 1230. It should be noted that the noise was from a private event, and not the nightclub in the hotel. However there is a nightclub, and on Friday and Saturday nights the hotel lobby and restaurant are packed with people (some very drunk). So if you want peace and quiet, this is NOT the hotel.. Next day they apologized, and offered me free internet as a gesture, I agreed. Ended up staying in Chennai an extra night. Upon checking out, there were 5 charges for internet (and tax on my bill) 672.50RS per day, even though I was only there for 3 days. I told the front desk attendant, Sri, that I was offered free internet, yet he refused to take it off the bill. He didn't want to hear what I had to say, and literally told security not to let me leave the hotel (they wouldn't open the gate) until I agreed to pay the internet charges and sign my bill. This went on for 30 minutes until somebody else intervened and told him to remove the charges. This nearly caused me to miss my flight. Horrible experience!