Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by RJ

Incorrect on line description of room

Posted Jan 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
We thought we were going to get a room with a balcony, because the description said opens to a patio, but there was none. The hotel manager was also not very helpful. At the lunch buffet there was a hair in the rice. Even though they gave me a 20% discount, I did not expect this in a 5 star Hotel. The hotel is old built in the 1970's and upgrades were poorly done. The tariff was too steep for the room
2 out of 5
by GJ from India

Not all Taj Vivanta properties are created equal

Posted Jan 2, 2013
Pros: The price was reasonable considering we visited during a peak period.
Cons: Can use sprucing up & management should look at how this location is being maintained relative to other Vivantas. Check-in was very frustrating.
Location: Conveniently located outside of Chennai in a scenic location. Perhaps because of stormy weather, there was a lot of plastic and other trash in the bay
We were disappointed by the overall condition of this property. While we were in the new wing, the fit and finish was poor (tub wouldn't drain, shower door was misaligned and would not fully close, desk drawer refused to stay closed, etc). Unlike other Vivanta properties we've frequented, the grass was not well maintained, the pool and other parts of the property can use an overhaul and the beach was OK but contained plastic and other trash. The check-in experience was poor as they had trouble locating the reservation. While I would gladly stay at another Taj or Vivanta property based on very positive past experiences, we won't be back to the Fisherman's Cove location again. The outdoor seafood restaurant was quite good, but the main restaurant was mediocre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable stay and also the beach was clean and had Life Saving Personal on the beach for the guest .Food was great and perfect locations for Dinning Nr the Beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Philip from Seattle

Superb service and great family hotel.

Posted Dec 28, 2012
Pros: Make sure to stay in a cottage. We loved it so much we will probably stay at a villa next time.
Cons: The garbage that gets washed up on shore everyday. Not much the hotel can do about it other regularly clean which they did while we were there.
I've stayed at several places across the world and this is in the top 5. Right from the facilities to all the super friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended for anyone with a family visiting Chennai that just wants to relax and spend a few days unwinding. Make sure you get a cottage at the minimum because it will be specially fun with the awesome completely private outdoor shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ahmed

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

an oasis on the beach

Posted Dec 17, 2012
Cons: Spa and beach side restaurant
The staff are fantastic and the beach side location is an oasis. Two of the best things are the fine beach side restaurant and the spa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good holiday getaway

Posted Nov 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
Fisherman's Cove Hotel still managed to delight us though the hotel infrastructure is going downhill. We stayed at one of the beach side cottages which were very comfortable and had an interesting variation of an outdoor shower which gives one a feeling of bathing in the open which I liked. Service was good, staff courteous and eager to please, food was excellent and facilities like gym, tennis court etc available which is nice for a holiday. The only negative is the buildings are taking a beating due to the climatic conditions and upkeep is not matching the wear and tear. The power outlets in the room were not working as well. Other than that, an enjoyable stay.and I would return again. I would recommend the Baywatch restaurant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anurag from Amersham, UK

Great family break!

Posted Sep 16, 2012
Stayed with my wife and daughter (10 months) for 3 nights. Had a fantastic time, made largely possible by the excellent staff in all areas of the hotel - from the front desk to room service to security. Picturesque location, great facilities, and a great break from the hustle and bustle of the city. Strongly recommend! We stayed in a cottage, ideal for a small/young family - they also have normal rooms and villas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
The trip was fantastic and the staff very efficient and with a sense of humor. The room we stayed in was a cottage overlooking the beach which was fantastic. One place the room could have been better was the angle of the tv. it was difficult to watch the TV from either the bed or the sofa. The food at the sea food restaurant was outstanding.