Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bedfordshire

Nice Hotel, room could of had a better view (116)

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Hotel is in lovely setting, didn't know main restaurant was closed on Saturday evening due to private party until we tried to book a table in the morning. Also no mini bar in room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2014 by Liz Owen, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review,. We are sorry that you did not have the opportunity to dine in Morgans due to private party and that you were not advised of this prior to your arrival. We do hope that we can welcome you back to St Pierre when your travels next bring you to Chepstow.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and Relaxing

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: Staff were friendly and welcoming.
Cons: Breakfast very motorway service station average
Hotel was cosy and friendly. Our room was fine, and the various lounges comfortable. The only let down was the very average breakfast that was an extra charge on our deal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay and that the team looked after you well. We were sorry to learn of your disappointing dining experience at breakfast and we do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to St Pierre again before too long so that you may experience first-hand a true Marriott breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Midlands

Great place to relax of play golf

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Combines old and new reasonably well. In a lovely spot. The 18th hole is a challenge having to hit over the edge of the lake! Late Breakfast/checkout!
Cons: Breakfast at 10.00am was very busy, so had to wait 10 minutes to get a table for 4.
Location: Tree lined golf course. Chepstow Castle, Tintern Abbey and Wye Valley drive to Monmouth. Easy drive to Cardiff and Bristol.
Stayed overnight, enjoyed a generous breakfast, walked through the churchyard and took in the views around the golf course. Still the impressive hotel I remember from my twenty's.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Essex

Great stay in a stunning location

Posted Nov 2, 2014
My 3 children and I stayed at the St Pierre at half term so it was very busy, however, the staff were friendly and helpful. We had 2 twin rooms, close together, which were comfy, warm and clean. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast before using the leisure facilities. The building is beautiful - it could do with a bit of a spruce up in some areas, but overall a lovely stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and comfortable country break

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Historic archectecture, large range of spirits, peacefulness
Cons: I loathe long life milk!
Location: Tintern Abbey
This historic former stately home is stylish yet homely. The grounds and buildings are stunning. There is even a tiny church and graveyard here. The female vicar let us have a look around and was very interesting. There were weddings on both days we stayed here and a wedding fayre on the Sunday. We ate at the brasserie which was comfortable and stylish with pleasant countryside views. The staff were helpful and friendly but the menu was quite limited. After going for a walk, we spent time in the pool area. The pool was quite busy but had a nice atmosphere as the large windows offer tranquil views. There is a large jacuzzi pool and a children's pool and of course the obligatory sauna and steam room. Everything was clean and comfortable. In the evening, we ate at Morgan's restaurant. Our food was beautiful, the restaurant itself was stylish and the staff were polite and helpful. Our room was large with a view of the golf course. The decor was pleasant and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was a self-service affair. Food was varied and plentiful. It was refreshing to see poached eggs for a change - these were made to order - and yummy porridge. There was a huge selection of fruit available so I was a happy bunny indeed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Haverfordwest

Pleasant location, charming old buildings.

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Buildings were quirky
Cons: Standard of conduct by clientele. Bad language is never acceptable in a family hotel. Golf club dress code should be adhered to
Location: Tinted Abbey is outstanding
Generally OK. Bar and public areas very noisy. Patrons were boisterous and in several cases loud and foul mouthed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Excellent Golf/Leisure Venue

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Stayed here for 1 night in a golf view room on the ground floor. Room had its own patio with table and chairs. Good clean accommodation excellent golf course and food was good quality. Enjoyed our stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cardiff

Lovely but expensive

Posted Sep 24, 2014
We stayed at this hotel for a friend's wedding - I was bridesmaid. It was lovely and the staff on the day were faultless. Polite, helpful and professional throughout. The rooms were comfortable and tastefully furnished and decorated. However, I could not believe how expensive drinks at the bar were. Almost £10 for 2 lager shandies is daylight robbery. It was made even worse by the fact the lager was flat as a pancake. I understand that it's an upmarket hotel but if you're charging that much for drinks, they should at least be good quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom South Wales

fantastic location

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Great location , Good breakfast and on the whole helpful and friendly staff.
Cons: Without doubt better service at Morgans restaurant. Service far too hurried, we were handed our bill before we were ready to complete our meal.
Location: Chepstow very nice as is the drive to Monmouth and the Forest of Dean
Wonderful stay great resort lots of male golfers but this was not an issue. However we dined in Morgans a la carte restaurant and whilst the food was very good the service let it down . We drew this to the attention of the restaurant manager who made a slight adjustment to our bill but we would have preferred good service rather than a monetary discount. It did take the edge off our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Feenyfrom Stafford

Lovely weekend

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had an amazing stay, and despite arriving quite late were made very welcome. Wonderful faculties and a beautiful setting.