Ratings based on 393 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Donna was so kind..very accommodating! Thank you for taking our group picture Donna! not impressed with breakfast...waffle mix was out syrup was out...coffee not very tasty
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florence, SC

Polar express

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Great exsperience. Only a mile out of town. It was high on a hill over looking the mountains.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom W

Bad breakfast

Posted Nov 23, 2014
The continental breakfast was fair. Coffee (Douie Edberts) coffee was good. We were locked out of our rooms when we came back up after breakfast around 9am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B

Disappointed

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Last year we booked this hotel in conjunction with getting tickets in the Polar Express. We had 2 young grand children with us so we booked two rooms that were connecting. Everything worked out well. This year the price if the rooms were $20 higher booking with the train tickets so I booked 2 rooms through Expedia. I talked with Expedia about needing connecting rooms. They made a note but advised that I also needed to contact the hotel direct. I contacted the hotel the Sunday before and was assured I had connecting rooms. We did not have connecting rooms and the clerk kept mentioning that I had booked through a 3rd party. So lesson learned.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Hotel was ok but everything seemed "cheap" - a sliver of soap for washing, bath clothes and towels that were new but very thin and unsatisfactory. Breakfast was good. Staff was helpful. Most likely will not stay at a Microtel again as the cost is higher than other hotels with similar offerings.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom central NC

Close enough to everything.

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: They allowed my dog. Receptionist was exceedingly helpful.
Cons: Shampoo pet rooms carpets.
Location: See above notes about railroad.
Main attraction in Bryson City is Great Smoky Mountain Railroad. When making reservation with them, they will tout "a special connection" or "special agreement" with this motel, in our case being a one-night stay, pet fee, taxes, etc. for $113 plus change. We booked through Expedia and got same for $57.30 and paid $25 at motel for pet fee. That seems to be a "strange" connection: $57.30 + $25.00 = $82. 30 versus the "special" for $113 ! Not a complaint but be aware that GSMR (railroad) and tourism it brings apparently keep town alive, and many, many extras around the corner await the visitor/train rider: your photograph; souvenir mug; DVD's of train route; etc., etc. But then again, as stated, they do need to make their money. Be advised, and bring more cash.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2014
pleasing stay. convenient location. staff very helpful. continental breakfast could be a little better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Lovely hotel near Bryson City

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, location
Cons: It would be good to have a few more tables in the breakfast area
Location: Wonderful location near Bryson city (smoky mountains) . We went to the local restaurant joey Mac where I could have my bison steak!
The hotel is very well located on a quiet road up a hill with super views. The staff was welcoming. Our room was clean and comfortable . We had a fridge, microwave, tea and coffee making facilities. Continental breakfast was included and was very adequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2014
We had a great stay. Simple breakfast, no problems checking in or out, and very friendly staff :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Greenville, SC

Weekend stay for Great Smokey Mountain Railroad

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and modern amenities.
Cons: Bathroom fixtures.
Location: We went to the Smokey Mountain Railroad trip from Bryson City to Nantahala gorge. Also, went to the Deep Creek trio of falls which is nearby.
This hotel is clean and comfortable. Staff is helpful for tips on where to eat and what to do in Bryson City. The complimentary breakfast is not that great. I found a few issues with the room in terms of bathroom fixtures and temperature control. If you plan to have night stay in Bryson City, this is one of your better choices.