Ratings based on 407 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Stayed for two night !!

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Cons: Microwave and a small refrigerator would be good for families travelling with small kid.
The hotel is on a hilltop and very near to the bryson city downtown. We stayed for two night with a kid for our polar express experience. We booked a queen bed and it was comfortable for three of us. The room is pretty small, and has just enough space . The room was clean and it has a TV and coffee maker as mentioned. The room had a window sitting arrangement where you can relax with a view, even though my room was facing parking lot, you still can enjoy the far away mountain presence. The complimentary breakfast is pretty basic and on our next day it was closed 30 min earlier than what was communicated to us. Looks like they did post a notice but it was not visible. I had a minimum interaction with staff and i feel they were cordial. It is a very small town so there is not much of a choice . You can consider the hotel for short stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Room was very nice! Very clean!

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Would definitely recommend and would stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom s

Sweet to see all the kids for the Santa Express

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Good I am willing to give a review, not advertise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Donna was so kind..very accommodating! Thank you for taking our group picture Donna! not impressed with breakfast...waffle mix was out syrup was out...coffee not very tasty
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florence, SC

Polar express

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Great exsperience. Only a mile out of town. It was high on a hill over looking the mountains.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom W

Bad breakfast

Posted Nov 23, 2014
The continental breakfast was fair. Coffee (Douie Edberts) coffee was good. We were locked out of our rooms when we came back up after breakfast around 9am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B

Disappointed

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Last year we booked this hotel in conjunction with getting tickets in the Polar Express. We had 2 young grand children with us so we booked two rooms that were connecting. Everything worked out well. This year the price if the rooms were $20 higher booking with the train tickets so I booked 2 rooms through Expedia. I talked with Expedia about needing connecting rooms. They made a note but advised that I also needed to contact the hotel direct. I contacted the hotel the Sunday before and was assured I had connecting rooms. We did not have connecting rooms and the clerk kept mentioning that I had booked through a 3rd party. So lesson learned.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Hotel was ok but everything seemed "cheap" - a sliver of soap for washing, bath clothes and towels that were new but very thin and unsatisfactory. Breakfast was good. Staff was helpful. Most likely will not stay at a Microtel again as the cost is higher than other hotels with similar offerings.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom central NC

Close enough to everything.

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: They allowed my dog. Receptionist was exceedingly helpful.
Cons: Shampoo pet rooms carpets.
Location: See above notes about railroad.
Main attraction in Bryson City is Great Smoky Mountain Railroad. When making reservation with them, they will tout "a special connection" or "special agreement" with this motel, in our case being a one-night stay, pet fee, taxes, etc. for $113 plus change. We booked through Expedia and got same for $57.30 and paid $25 at motel for pet fee. That seems to be a "strange" connection: $57.30 + $25.00 = $82. 30 versus the "special" for $113 ! Not a complaint but be aware that GSMR (railroad) and tourism it brings apparently keep town alive, and many, many extras around the corner await the visitor/train rider: your photograph; souvenir mug; DVD's of train route; etc., etc. But then again, as stated, they do need to make their money. Be advised, and bring more cash.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

True to its brand image

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bristol City is short on lodging options, so we stayed at a brand we only visit occasionally. The location is right off the main highway, about a mile from town. They tend to compete on price, with some inevitable cutting of corners. Within that competitive set, I liked this place: Very good service, a reasonable "continental breakfast," clean facility, plenty of parking. On two of my key criteria, however, they fell down somewhat: comfort of bed and quiet climate control.