Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1.6 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
1.6 Room cleanliness
2.4 Service & staff
1.6 Room comfort
1.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Westland, MI

One word

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Disqusting, dirty, old, musty ... pick one. I wouldn't go back if you paid me too!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Safe, but in need of update.

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: mentioned above
Cons: mentioned above
Location: Convenient Mcdonalds across the street.
People were friendly. Location was safe and convenient. The temperature in the room was comfortable. Inside the room, everything looked original and extremely dated. The carpet was severely stained. The walls were tired. And the furniture and beds were worn. The walls were thin, and you could hear everything in the hall. The staff was up doing things in the middle of the night in the halls. I heard a lot of banging and doors slamming around 4:30am.
2 out of 5
by Jamesfrom MI.

Run Down

Posted Nov 23, 2013
The brass bell is run diwn and in need of repairs.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

The Dirty Bell

Posted Jul 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
We couldn't stay at this hotel because it was so filthy. There was old spilled milk on the carpeting next to the bed, there were fingernail clippings on the carpeting by the bed, finger and hand prints on the mirrors and the toilet was so gross that my spouse couldn't sit on it. The furniture was old and shabby and the overall condition of the facility seemed more like a dorm rather than a hotel. I would recommend that Hotels.com drop them as one of their listed clients.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
Hotel was a bit run down. Carpet in room was so stained that you did not want to walk with your shoes off. It served its purpose as a place to stay after a concert.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Fine place to stay

Posted Aug 3, 2011 on Hotels.com
I stayed at the Brass Bell Inn for a wedding I attended over the weekend, despite reservations given some of the negative comments I had received. It was slightly cheaper than the places the bride and groom had suggested, so I decided to take the risk. The hotel was fine. It wasn't the classy place I stayed at in Chicago, but it was what you'd expect from a small-town place. The hallways were hot, but the air conditioning worked (more than my friends could say about the other hotel). The room came with a couch as well as the bed, which is more than I expected. The wireless in the building worked just fine. There's really only 2 negatives I could manage out of this whole experience. There are no peepholes in the doors (though there are the chains to open the door and check outside), and the toilet in the bathroom was very close to the wall so that I felt like I had to sit sideways. That was a nuisance, but perhaps not so bad I would write a scathing review of the place. Overall, it was a fine hotel - as I said, not spectacular, but good for what I paid for - and I would stay there again if I had to be in Chesaning for whatever reason in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

run away, anywhere but here

Posted Jul 6, 2011
a nightmare, first room. filthy, gave us another room, not quite as bad. Light in the ceiling was falling out, baseboards, falling off, tub stopper not hooked up, there were handcuffs fitting on top of the Bible in the night stand. Hollow core doors between the rooms, and people can be heard between the rooms, I had to call the owner, who was on duty at 1:40am due to the next room on Sat Morning, and 3:40am Sun morning, due the drunken parties (brawls). the AM Cont. Breakfast was 1 gal Sunny delight, 1-gal Fruit drink from their refrig, 1/2 full and coffee in the Mr. Coffee, they went to the store and got donut holes after they asked if we wanted some. The State of Mich should close this hourly rental place.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ohio

worst hotel ever

Posted Jun 27, 2011 on Hotels.com
this was horrible! the carpets were filthy, everything in the room was filthy. the linen is stained. door locks are from the 60's window locks are broken. the best thing in the room was the new shower curtain.. reminded me of bates motel. never again will i stay here. i will sleep in my car first.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Elgin, IL

Stay at the truckstop in a booth

Posted Jan 31, 2011
I could not in good conscience give this hotel 1 star. If there was another hotel within 10 miles and I wasn't absolutely exhausted by the time I got there I would have gone somewhere else. It smelled, It was dirty there was visible mold along the base of the shower stall. The furniture in the lobby didn't match there is a shrunken head hanging on the wall.