Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Fab hotel Brilliant views Excellent restaurant

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Food comfort view
Cons: Lower air con in restaurant. Better music.
Location: Brilliant location Shops and history galore near by.
Upgrade to a view of Race course if offered. Dine in the restaurant it's Amazing and drink in cocktail bar amazing. Room clean and comfortable with nice toiletries Air con on too high in restaurant and weird music. Would stay here again in a heart beat. We are veggies and food was great, even breakfast..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Unexpected opportunity

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Dinner - the tasting menu was amazing and well worth splashing out on.
Cons: Access arrangements. Comfy seating for 2 in double rooms Kettle plug in the cupboard it's stored in rather than the desk.
Location: Chester is a walled Roman city and bits of the Roman occupation are to be found all over the place. Its great for walking round as well as shopping.
I only live 25 miles away from this hotel but had planned an overnight following a wine tasting so that neither of us had to forgo the wine experience. Booking the stay was easy but for us finding the way in to the integral garage was a nightmare. In the end I had to park the car in a bus layby while my companion dashed to the pedestrian entrance to find out where we should go. We feel that although this is temporary due to alterations being made to the underground car park area, there should be some mention of this with instructions as to how one approaches to hotel by car. We ended up being told we accessed the parking area by going in the exit! There is also a coded annotation to the parking spaces, those with an H prefix being allocated to hotel guests. This is not obvious until you realise that the hotel only occupies one quarter of the building, the remainder being residential (R) and council offices (C). Our room was large with good bathroom space. The desk/dressing table was full of information leaving little room for our stuff, but the main lack was of a comfortable corner with a table and easy charis. There was the space for this and indeed a standard lamp, but with only one upright chair in the room, one of us had to sit on the be. Not ideal. The main advertising theme of Abode is its Michael Caines restaurants. The tasting menu with wines is to die for. Don't begrudge the spend, it's something special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good 3*

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Location and parking
Cons: Free in room bottled water, better wi-fi.
Location: Chester Racecourse, historic city, Wirral, Liverpool and North Wales all very close by
Close to the racecourse, with good mid week rates and a very nice ground floor bar. The Champagne bar, "Fabulous on 6th" has great views over the Wirral and into North Wales. Staff are very helpful, dilligent and well informed. The rooms are nicely finished in terms of the material quality, but not too luxurious. One bug-bear is paying £1.85 for bottled water from the in-room "tuck shop". Hence 3* and not 4* in my opinion. It's those detail things that count and make the difference between a good experience and a great one. Equally, the wi-fi, though free, is painfully slow and I've had faster download times and better streaming using 3G, which renders it useless.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sara

Lovely hotel but let down by arrogant receptionist

Posted Jun 16, 2014
We stayed at the Abode Chester for 2 nights spending around £500. The hotel was lovely but the experience was marred by a patronising, arrogant receptionist who wouldn't waive the late check out fee of £10 when we queried it. It was a matter of principle that spending so much she wouldn't waive the fee. Instead she lied saying she couldn't then when we pressed her she said 'well i can you're right but don't want to on this occasion'. For the sake of £10 we couldn't understand why she would risk putting such a negative spin on our entire experience which up until that point was lovely. The £10 wasn't the issue it was how she handled it (we tipped the waiter at breakfast £10 for great service). She was unprofessional, smug and certainly didn't act with the customer at the heart of the interaction.
3 out of 5
by grump y from chester

Very average

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: Car park
Cons: Linen and general cleanliness
Location: Good location
Very average Poor quality bed linen,tired towels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeenshire

Nice hotel and very central for shops

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Cons: Make the breakfasts more afordable
Location: Lovely walks round the chester walls . Shopping great Lovely lunch in the slug & lettuce
Loved our short stay here . Cant comment on breakfasts as didn't take . Parking at the hotel car park was excellent although it did cost £10 per night . Would stay here again if in Chester . Hotel was only a short walk from shops and resturants . Tried the tapas resturant not far from hotel it was excellent .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kevin from Spain

Perfect location for exploring Chester by foot

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Location, room comfort.
Cons: Directions to hotel and parking, not used to paying to park when staying at hotels. Free street map of Chester at reception would be helpful
Location: The whole of Chester is within walking distance of the hotel, good access to river and canal.
Could not fault it, possibly more up market than we are used to but made a nice treat, staff were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by libby from Leeds

Lovely City centre hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Beds too soft
Cons: Firmer beds. Raised height for the bed in the accessible room. The drains in the shower were a bit slow also...not blocked but were slow
We stayed in a Disabled accessible room, which had the excellent bathroom facilities for wheelchair user in our party. The bed was the only down side. It was too soft! And not high enough for a wheelchair user. However the hotel itself was clean and bright and modern. very friendly and helpful staff. Will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pippa from Cotswolds

Wonderful location with brilliant staff

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: Bed was VERY comfortable!
Cons: Pass .... we thought that we received very good value for money
Location: The racecourse is across the road - ten minute walk to the city center - can pick up the 'wall walk' from the front door.... marvelous
Thoroughly enjoyed a shot break away with my partner to celebrate his 30th birthday. We were both impressed with the location and the very positive and hugely helpful staff. The room was small but perfectly formed, impeccably clean and had all of the much appreciated attention to detail that makes a hotel stay especially comfortable (steam proof bathroom mirror, hairdryer, proper filter coffee kits...etc). We would both stay again without hesitation and would recommend to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by heather

Nice hotel with lovely view of racecourse

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Beautiful bedroom very good size. Very good breakfast in restaurant with excellent view