Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harrogate

City Break

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Customer care could be improved, if staff listen to guests and offer good customer service people are more likely to return.
Location: Chester is a lovely city,walk round the walls ,visit the Cathedral, river trip and lovely shopping. Excellent restaurants, cafes and bistros.
My sister-in-law and I like to spend a few days in August each year visiting cities by train in the UK. We choose 3 star hotels, reputable chains, near the centre offering clean, reasonably priced accommodation. This hotel was clean and very near the railway station but was a little 'tired'. I have a gluten intolerance and despite asking each morning of our 3 night stay there was no gluten free bread available at breakfast. Our room was at the front of the hotel and as there was no air conditioning we tried having the window open...unfortunately the noise from the street below meant we had to close the window which made the room quite warm. It was our first stay in a Best Western Hotel and if I'm honest I found it disappointing. Other chains seem to offer better facilities for the same price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ashton under Lyne

Don't stay in summer!

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Location: Good central location.
Absolutely awful nights sleep. This hotel does not have air conditioning & on one of the hottest nights of the year, my partner and I just couldn't get comfortable. When I requested an electric fan from reception, I was informed that there were only 25 fans and 75 rooms so all the fans had been taken. Also, the window in the room was the old fashioned sash type, which was very stiff and did not provide adequate ventilation for the conditions. It was also cracked and could have easily broken if force had been used. I would expect that the advertised recent renovations would have included air conditioning, which is usual for hotels within this price bracket nowadays. The Feathers group need to invest in this hotel if it wants to maintain its charges. I would not stay again, until they make provision to maintain the comfort of their guests. On a plus point, the breakfast buffet was very well stocked with good quality ingredients.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from London

Hotel Close to Chester Station

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Clean Bathroom, Biscuit with tea
Cons: Bed was a little tired - clean but squeaked a little. TV was not brilliant either - very grainy but I didn't really watch it!
Location: Chester station 100m
The Hotel was 100m from the station so very hand for late arrivals. Checked in by night watchman who was very friendly and offered assistance with luggage - not required. The room was small but clean, the bathroom was better than many more expensive hotel I have stayed in and spotless. IT was nice to have a biscuit with my tea and coffee too - a small thing but you often don;t get this now in many hotels. I didn't really see much of the hotel but 1st impressions is that it is an old Victorian building - yes could do with a little TLC but at the price I paid was adequate. I was mildly surprised and would definitely consider going back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was small bathroom tiny and I mean tiny will not stay there again the Queens across the road was far better bedroom/bathroom etc
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Joanne from Barnsley

Poor

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was not one that's displayed on your photographs. I complained and the fab guy on the desk transferred us to a lovely room over at the Queens which I was very grateful of.
2 out of 5
by mads Bo from Copenhagen

Dark and worn out, bad wi-fi.

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was not too bad
Cons: Yes, change furniture, they are old and gives a tired atmosphere.
Location: Close to central station, but away from the nice city centre on the other side of he canal
This is probably what you get for 79£, but the room was extremely small, furniture throughout the hotel were very old and worn out, breakfast ok. The hotel is close to main statio, but away from city centre. Hotels in England are probably where you get the least for your money in Europe, but in this case, I'd rather pay a small premium, and get something nicer. The staff however is kind and helpfull.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Pete from Bristol

Beware the Building Site

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was varied and generous with attentive staff.
Cons: The building site!
Location: Very convenient for the railway station (100 yards across the road). A canalside walk takes you to the city centre and shops wit(about 10-15 minutes).
My ground floor room had a view of the razor wire round the adjacent building site with noisy demolition work during the day and early Sat morning. The sealed windows gave no ventilation. I guess the upper floor rooms at the front of the hotel would be much better. There was no hot water at the breakfast time peak. Parking is relatively expensive unless you use the nearby station's 24 hour facility.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2014 on Hotels.com