Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Steve

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nothing too much trouble for staff

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: My 10 year old granddaughter liked the swimming pool.
Cons: Lift for us oldies
Location: Not far from Chester Zoo. We drove into Chester on our second day and managed to park for a visit to Chester - city walls and shops!
We stayed in January with our granddaughter following a visit to Chester Zoo. The hotel was very warm and welcoming. Staff very friendly and helpful. The only problem for us with our arthritic knees was the lack of a lift but hey ho we needed the exercise!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom York

Hotel close to Chester city centre.

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: The receptionist obliged us with our room requirements. The spa facilities were fine, the outlook from the dining area was very pleasant. Location.
Cons: The service at breakfast. Heat control of the radiators in the bedroom and heat control of the shower in the bathroom.
Location: Walked in to the city centre. Could have driven to Chester Outlet centre.
We had difficulty finding the hotel. The receptionist was very pleasant and helpful when we did arrive. On entering the bedroom there was a strong smell of chlorine which we assume must have been from the spa. The radiators were on full blast which was over powering. The pool, whirlpool and mixed sauna were very nice. Service for breakfast was very slow. We had read it depended on the number of guests as to the breakfast being individually cooked or a buffet. Considering there were a coach load of people in the dining room we would have thought a buffet would have been done but no we each had to wait for our breakfast order to be taken which was frustrating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Quiet Cheshire

Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Although the pool was out of order everything else was fabulous ...... And I highly recommend ratting in the hotels resturant ..... Yummy
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

not good value

Posted Jul 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
good service and staff very friendly, but it's old fashioned, over priced (especially the restaurant) I've been in alot better places for less money and it's a nighmare to get out onto the busy road.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: weekend away
Cons: the decoration around the hotel
Location: cheshire oaks shopping area very good for shopping also go into chester
very nice hotel just needs to be updated in the decorating area as its looking a bit worn out . staff very friendly and helpful on arrival
2 out of 5
by Norvilfrom Newcastle

Convenient & pleasant setting but poor offer

Posted Nov 14, 2013
Pros: It was a nice building with attractive public rooms and gardens. Staff were well meaning, friendly & helpful if a touch unprofessional for a 4 star.
Cons: Professional management applied to all aspects would improve this hotel enormously.
Arrived early for check-in and was served an indifferent lunch. Hotel decor & room decor faded and in need of repair/redecoration. Bedroom was a decent size but smelt stale & linen had not been laundered. Afternoon tea was enjoyable and served by friendly staff/management. Check out billing was incorrect & needed some time to sort out. They had undercharged for extras. Even overnight rate was less than quoted online. Professional management applied to all aspects would improve this hotel enormously.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Benfrom Kent

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff were very efficient and keen to help.Our problem was luke warm water from the shower,though the bath was very hot.There was no towel rail or hooks to hang a towel or clothes.The key card kept failing for our room, we had it re-programmed 3 times.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

a tale of 2 nights

Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good sized room. Mixed service/food - great first night, v poor second with excessively long waits for food and a cellar that did not match the wine list. public areas are a bit tired, in need of some TLC but staff were generally friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Davidfrom Bucks, UK

Looked promising - but needs maintenance!

Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Looked great in the pictures so we booked - but in real life the hotel needs maintenance. it looks like it had a lot of money invested in it at one point with the decent sized pool, gym and squash courts but it also looks like nothing has been spent since. Service in the restaraunt was absolutely terrible and we ended up walking out after almost 2 hours. Very overpriced food. Room was OK, the carpets need cleaning and walls are paperthin - you can hear absolutely everything next door are doing!!