Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torpoint

Overnight stay

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was excellent
Cons: Rooms could do with a refurb.
Only stayed overnight as part of an onward journey. We had everything we required and although there were no frills staff were friendly, breakfast excellent and room adequate. For the discounted price we paid it was good value.
2 out of 5
by john from manchester

Nice approach

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: The approach
Cons: Rooms need upgrading,the swipe system needs removing to make guests feel confortable in a more relaxed environment.the bar is not very convienent
Location: Unless you play golf,then there is precious little to do.
What a disappointment,I attended a training day in this hotel last year and although the facilities were basic , the approach and grounds were fantastic and As I travel a lot ,I made an decision to book this hotel if I was in the area again. I had the opportunity recently to stay in the area and decided to book the Wychwood as it seemed to be a modern hotel.i can tell you from my experience that this hotel bearly reaches the 3star rating that it has been awarded.The staff were friendly enough and the rooms were tidy but that is as far as it goes.the rooms are dated and in need of modernising,the beds a tad on the hard side with bearly what you could call a duvet,the tv was modern in the 80s,and the electronic swipe system to the accommodation levels made me feel like I was in a prison rather than a modern hotel.the price for staying at this hotel is high for the facilities you get , I will not be staying there again and certainly will not be recommending it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lorraine from Cambs.

Great Hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Everything except having so few channels on the tv.
Cons: More Freeview channels on the tv.
Location: Trentham Estate is good especially The Monkey Forest - well worth a visit, only sorry I didn't know about it years ago.
I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last year. I like it very much and think that it is very sad that it only scores 3.8 out of 5. I agree that some of the rooms are a little tired but the bed is the most comfortable I've slept in, including my own! The bedroom and bathroom contain are clean and contain everything that I would want for a night's stay. I intend to stay here again at least twice later in the year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by GK from London

Great value basic hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a very cheap hotel to stay at but the communal areas give the impression of something far grander. I stayed in a basic room and it was very basic but for the price it's hard to argue. The restaurant was much better than I expected and very good value. Two problems were the amount of black muck on the iron which made ironing a white shirt impossible. I cannot understand why this oh-so-frequent problem is so rarely picked up on by staff when they clean the rooms - all that happens is guests ask for new irons or proceed to wipe as much black stuff off as they can and in the process ruin the hotel towels! The other thing was the classically poor TV offering. For some reason De Vere are one of the few hotel groups that still rely on a limited selection of TV channels and old TVs, which makes them look very out-dated. The free wifi is great and I found the staff to be friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Sam from Glasgow

Great hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very convenient and clean. I was given twin instead of double however, and in the morning I was woken by linen being delivered by a lorry outside my window. It was very loud. Apart from that I would probably stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from Crewe

Stylish, contemporary, Friendly, Clean, Excellent!

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: Contemporary styling, spacious and clean rooms, highly finished bathrooms, quiet and peaceful location and friendly, efficient staff.
Cons: TVs are ancient and channel choices abysmal! Come on De Vere, this small issue affects our stay! If you don't like a hard bed ask for mattress topper
Location: Superb, peaceful location amongst acres and acres of green.
We got to know this hotel through a cheap deal for an overnight stay, but the full room price is still well worth it. My advice is - don't bother looking anywhere else - you won't be disappointed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
An excellent hotel in a very quiet location, which meant a relaxing sleep. Nice rooms and good service from the staff. Would definitely stay here again.