Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dont get a downstairs room!

Posted Jan 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
Have stayed here a few times as it is convenient for the city and rooms can be picked up cheap on the internet. Rooms are dated but ok. Can I warn you that the downstairs rooms suffer terribly from noise from above. I know its not the hotel's fault but we recently had a sleepless night on account of people in the room above being noisy all night. By all means book but avoid at all costs a downstairs room
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Dewsbury

The Dene

Posted Dec 8, 2011 on Hotels.com
Ok hotel if you're on a budget, we were selected for a room upgrade on arrival but not really sure what the upgrade was. decor was a little tired in the room we were in. But staff were friendly and receptionist was very knowledgable about the surrounding areas. A good ten minutes walk into Chester or #3.50 in taxi during the day.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom blackpool

dean hotel chester

Posted Dec 1, 2011 on Hotels.com
rooms very tatty bed and linnen comfy &clean but droped someting on the floor and found a sock just under the bed hasent to say not mine, booked breakfast for two mornings was asked to go to reception for proof on both days ,i refused on the second ,better to go into town,if the staff and rooms were up to scratch it would be a great hotel but for some were to sleep it ok
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jennyfrom Somerset

Depends what you're looking for

Posted Jul 24, 2011
Hotel was a bit tired looking but if, like me, all you want is somewhere to sleep and shower it is absolutely fine. The reception staff were friendly, the room was clean, there was lots of parking spaces, and it was inexpensive - so more money to spend on doing things in the city. And it's only a 10-15 minute walk into the centre of Chester.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Peebles Scotland

A Quiet Hotel in Chester

Posted Nov 3, 2009
This is a 2 star hotel with plenty of parking (free) quick checkin, bar area good prices on par with prices everywhere reasonable. We were on the ground floor at the back of the building room good double bed, kettle for tea making trouser press and hair dryer, small shower room and toilet, sink. The only problem with the room is the heat very warm althought not a heating fault if we opened window it was the kitchen back yard and no child lock on window so we were not happy to leave open all night. No noise during night very quite althougth the hotel full lot of working people. Would use again breakfast was included in price and it was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Shropshire

Needs updating and better cleaner. Good value room and lamb shank was g8.Poor breakfast though.

Posted Nov 3, 2009
Generally the hotel was ok for an overnight stay. Especially, if you are visiting Chester Zoo. Evening meal was good and the staff are very professional too.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Worn out and threadbear!

Posted Oct 4, 2009 on Hotels.com
The hotel was cramped, room was literally the size of the old worn out bed. The mattress creaked and swallowed you up giving a very uncomfortable nights sleep. If you had included breakfast in your stay, well don't bother. The breakfast staff were not presentable, they looked greasy and there manner was un professional. The breakfast itself was terrible, I just didn't bother having it after the first day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Cheltenham

Excellent value for money would definately book again

Posted Aug 6, 2009 on Hotels.com
Hotel was great value for money. The food was fantastic in the evenings even though food was only served in the bar! Only criticism would be the room and most parts of the hotel were far too HOT!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Sheffield

Fun in Chester

Posted Aug 4, 2009 on Hotels.com
Had a brilliant weekend in Chester, it was to celebrate our best friend's 50th birthday and their silver wedding anniversary. Would recommend the Flava Indian restaurant. The hotel was good for the money and would return. The only complaint would be the mildew on the shower curtain in room 64,(they are so cheap these days would cost less than a couple of qiud to replace).
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Preston

Will certainly use this hotel again

Posted Aug 3, 2009 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in an great location both for the motorway and Chester city centre. A excellent value for money hotel with friendly staff.