Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous ready steady cook evening

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Hotel was way too hot which made sleeping uncomfortable , pillows hard But the spa and Neilson pub is great
Cons: Yes turn the heating down and better quality of pillows
Location: Chester lots to do
Great night watching Chef preparing a three course meal After each course the cleft had demonstrated the waitress would bring the food out which was served with wine. Definitely worth going again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom west Yorkshire

Don't go corporate please !

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Food , quirky decor and individuality a privately run hotel achieves when run well
Cons: The spa & pool are tired . Lighting in new rooms poor and staff seem unhappy
Location: Great for local gastro pubs , and country Walks . 10 mins to park and ride
We have been going here several times a year for four years now . The rooms used to be individual , the decor a little quirky , staff friendly offering a personal touch . We arrived this time to find major building work we were not aware of . On leaving the temporary reception we were immediately lost . I suppose the staff have got sick off redirecting guests and certainly in our case didn't even try ! We were booked on a spa day . This was an absolute disaster . The builders set the alarms off twice . The spa was being used as a cut through by staff and workmen , there was even one by the pool in his work boots ! Our treatments accompanied not only by piped music but the drone of power tools too . Coupled with a problem with our booking it did prove to be the opposite of the relaxing retreat we had hoped for . We were promised a visit from the manager who didn't turn up and we left without any reimbursement . No one has contacted us as promised . Our room was small albeit newly refurbed and quite stylish . A horribly dark room with little natural or artificial light and a view that was feet from another rooms window and a flat roof that was being used as a rubbish bin . Why do hoteliers ruin a good formula . This hotel was run and maintained beautifully , it had a fabulous ambience and I fear it will be no more . On a positive the food as always was faultless both in Nelsons and Ciros . We will try again after building work finishes but I fear its been ' travellodged '
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Buckinghamshire.

Close to Chester

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: High standard of staff, food and comfort.
Cons: Unfortunately, they are remodelling so the noise, although limited, was still annoying.
Location: We loved our trips into Chester, a very interesting and unique town. Grosvenor Museum is very interesting place to visit.
Planned a trip to Chester but wanted somewhere with secure parking. Very convenient to Chester the hotel has everything you need away from the sightseeing. The hotel has a wedding venue, spa and choice of two restaurants. Staff are helpful, attentive, unobtrusive while always being available. Definitely not only recommend to friends but planning to visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom E

Romantic stay. Nice spa and gardens

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Very lovely rooms but ensure you upgrade to the superior rooms (modernised to a very high standard and good size, lovely bathroom, little noticible extras, i.e. Toothbrush, tooth paste, good quality coffee, etc.). The Spa area is impressive, lovely japenese gardens and the lighting in the hotel is impressive. The restaurant is lovely (chairs a bit uncomfortable, but I guess they match the restaurant style), food is good and all the staff are very friendly and dressed impeccably. Make sure you book spa treatments early too. Reception haven't refurb done so first impressions not great.. But the charm of the rest of the hotel soon wins you over.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Amandafrom Sheffield

Grosvenor Pulford -excellent all round

Posted Dec 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic 2 night stay, hotel couldn't do enough for us, food was great in the bar and excellent in the restaurant, already looking to book again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lancashire

Good food and very nice hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Good food. Room
Cons: Manners of some of the staff.
Location: We didn't go anywhere else.
We liked the hotel overall. Lovely food in the restaurant. Nice room which had everything we needed and it was very clean. The only complaint was the bar as it was freezing cold and there was no heating on. Also we found some of the staff in the bar area were abrupt and not very welcoming. Having said that the reception staff were lovely and friendly. We would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Andrewfrom Manchester

5 out of 5 - We will be returning

Posted Dec 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
A lovely hotel. Definitely recommend it and only a short drive to Chester. Staff couldn't be more friendly and accommodating. The restaurant is also very nice. I would recommend the deluxe room. A little more expensive but worth it for the space (and if you have young children)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Trevorfrom Suffolk

Birthday weekend

Posted Dec 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful weekend. We used the restaurants where both service and food were second to none. We also used the spa (out of this world). The staff in the hotel were helpful and the overall ambiance was just perfect. We would recommend the hotel and restaurants without hesitation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sheffield

Lovely hotel.

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Everything - plenty of eating choices - bar or restaurant. Staff very helpful. Beautiful decor
Cons: A little history of the building would have been nice. Perhaps in the welcome book in the rooms.
Location: see above
Fab hotel. Lovely quiet location but walking distance to village (Rossett) with pubs and restaurant. Short drive to Park and Ride so ideal for shopping in Chester. Our room was an executive room and although a little small it had a separate seating area and wardrobe on the door level and up a spiral staircase to bedroom and large bathroom. Lovely views of gardens and countryside. Staff very helpful. Reported light bulb not working and it had been replaced by the time we got back from a stroll. Would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Solytayre

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com