Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from hereford

manor house elegant

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: everything!
Cons: noone there on entryto breakfast room helped ourselves to table and cutlery etc no marmalade otherwise good service
Location: very much in the country but quickly found off main road have family in area so know what to do where to go but recommend visit to Ness Gardens
enjoyed our stay and would be happy to return when in area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anna from Wales

Beautiful country hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2014
We had two nights mid-week and had a very relaxing stay. The staff were warm, friendly and welcoming and really enhanced our stay at the hotel. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and we felt very relaxed and refreshed after our break. The food was very tasty-we had an evening meal as well as the breakfast. We found the hotel to be in a convenient location for visiting Liverpool and Chester. I hope to have the opportunity to stay there again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz C.

A wonderful English countryside experience.

Posted Apr 19, 2014
The hotel was lovely and a very nice surprise after a long journey. The breakfast was excellent and our dinner too. My only 'complaint" was the price of a glass of wine in the bar which was far too high.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peterborough

Good base for property hunting

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Hotel very welcoming with lovely grounds, the staff couldn't be more helpful, the room was comfortable and cosy, great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by niffy from West Yorkshire

Wonderful country getaway!

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful 1-night stay the night before a visit to the nearby designer outlets. The property is nestled away down a quiet road on some beautiful, welcoming grounds. The building is stunning but not too imposing - probably helped by the very friendly, un-stuffy staff! The place was quiet so we could've done with some low background music in the lounge and dining room, but the overall service and atmosphere were wonderful - I especially enjoyed poking around the fireplace! Our room was small but lovely with a view over the beautiful grounds. Molton Brown bathroom products a plus! The only qualm I had was when I was trying to sleep I could hear a door constantly shutting and some conversation from the room below us - perhaps the wedding party for the following day? You can't really help thin walls and creakiness in old properties like this, but perhaps something can be done to cushion the impact of closing doors. Overall we loved our stay and wished we could have stayed longer!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by glaslyn from gwynedd

A stylish Edwardian house in delightful grounds

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
A pleasure to stay in a house of this quality; now a comfortable hotel with pleasant staff. I look forward to a return visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from WNC

Lovely hotel, off the beaten track yet handy!

Posted Dec 19, 2013
Pros: hotels.com
Cons: restaurant
Location: a car is required at this hotel which lays beautiful grounds just a couple of miles off the main road, with easy access to motorways and surround.
Most welcoming and accommodating reception staff. Not overly impressed with the restaurant in which i dined the first evening; food was fair and waiter service decent & friendly but not outstanding in terms of expertise. Would stay here again and would recommend to other travelers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com