Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel comfy beds decor abit dated

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Had a lovely time at a family wedding, staff were lovely and friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Close to M56

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Location, just off M56.
Cons: What's with feather pillows - they aren't good - they are bad for the bird and allergies.
Location: Very handy for work!
Relaxing spot and handy for M56. Got a good deal including breakfast but it was January.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Peterfrom Leicester

Noisy fire alarm!

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was fine apart from the fire alarm going off in the middle of the night, which woke the whole hotel and seemed to take several minutes to switch off! Great breakfast and spa facilities, although we were rather tired using them after our disturbed night!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Owenfrom Sunbury on Thames

Disappointing room but good for shopping

Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I arrived early evening and had booked a one night stay at Macdonald Craxton Wood expecting a 5 star stay. Check in was quick and easy, the girl who served me told me about Cheshire Oaks & off i popped for some shopping. I decided to eat out as the hotel is not reasonably priced for food or drink! As I went to my room, I was expecting a clean and modern room - I was very disappointed. The room furniture was dated and scratched all over - particularly the shelves in the wardrobe. Bathroom was a throw back to 1980's. The King bed was infact - two beds pushed together, with a noticeable gap in the middle. The a/c was very noisy but did work. The wait to be seated at breakfast had been mentioned on previous review - and yes i had the same thing. The food was all pre-cooked, dry on one side as it had been sat under a heat lamp for an age. As i was there at 7am, i did expect it to be fresh - the buffet range and other items were good though. If i had paid full price (as advertised £285per night) I would be claiming a refund, but as i paid £81 - it was satisfactory. If you want the Wow factor, i would go elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recent half term visit

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Cons: Flexibility with pool hours at holiday times
Location: Great location for visit to the wonderful Chester Zoo
Good facilities but very disappointing that our youngest -12 year old- could not get a swim in the morning before breakfast particularly in the Half Term week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andyfrom Northampton

Excellent Hotls

Posted Oct 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel, beautiful location, friendly staff, great accommodation and service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

A great breakfastA very pleasnt stay

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have used this hotel for work on a number of ocassions and had a very pleasant stay and the breakfast has a real wide choice and is very good. The beds are very comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by pffrom Chesterfield

Very comfortable

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
A lovely hotel with great facilities....BUT watch out for the cost of meals and drinks - they're expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel and staff, learnt a lesson- book it directly for a much better price than through broker
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Rochdale, Lancashire

Pleasant gardens in nice surroundings

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Excellent bedroom, with lovely garden views. good public rooms, and attractive large conservatory.
Cons: Addition of "real ale" in bar.
Location: Excellent location, very quiet, lovely, well tended gardens, surrounded by fields. We were guests at a wedding, so didn't explore the area.
Nice public rooms, and excellent bedroom. Thought breakfast too pricy, especially as I am satisfied with coffee and toast. Bar prices very high.