Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Very nice hotel and staff couldn't do enough to help. I would recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel comfy beds decor abit dated

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Had a lovely time at a family wedding, staff were lovely and friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Close to M56

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Location, just off M56.
Cons: What's with feather pillows - they aren't good - they are bad for the bird and allergies.
Location: Very handy for work!
Relaxing spot and handy for M56. Got a good deal including breakfast but it was January.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by JULIEfrom USA

decent enough

Posted Dec 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Uncomfortable mattress, but bedroom otherwise ok. poor selection/size of toiletries in bathroom. shame the staff are permitted smoke right outside the main entrance thus when guests come & go, one is subjected to second-hand smoke!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by neileshfrom preston

id give 4 start for this hotel ;-)

Posted Nov 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
it was for our first anniversary and since we had stayed here in the past, we decided to come here again..its very clean and its located only a few miles away from Cheshire oaks, Chester zoo and Blue planet, ideal family location. would definitely stay here again......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Peterfrom Leicester

Noisy fire alarm!

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was fine apart from the fire alarm going off in the middle of the night, which woke the whole hotel and seemed to take several minutes to switch off! Great breakfast and spa facilities, although we were rather tired using them after our disturbed night!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Owenfrom Sunbury on Thames

Disappointing room but good for shopping

Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I arrived early evening and had booked a one night stay at Macdonald Craxton Wood expecting a 5 star stay. Check in was quick and easy, the girl who served me told me about Cheshire Oaks & off i popped for some shopping. I decided to eat out as the hotel is not reasonably priced for food or drink! As I went to my room, I was expecting a clean and modern room - I was very disappointed. The room furniture was dated and scratched all over - particularly the shelves in the wardrobe. Bathroom was a throw back to 1980's. The King bed was infact - two beds pushed together, with a noticeable gap in the middle. The a/c was very noisy but did work. The wait to be seated at breakfast had been mentioned on previous review - and yes i had the same thing. The food was all pre-cooked, dry on one side as it had been sat under a heat lamp for an age. As i was there at 7am, i did expect it to be fresh - the buffet range and other items were good though. If i had paid full price (as advertised £285per night) I would be claiming a refund, but as i paid £81 - it was satisfactory. If you want the Wow factor, i would go elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recent half term visit

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Cons: Flexibility with pool hours at holiday times
Location: Great location for visit to the wonderful Chester Zoo
Good facilities but very disappointing that our youngest -12 year old- could not get a swim in the morning before breakfast particularly in the Half Term week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andyfrom Northampton

Excellent Hotls

Posted Oct 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel, beautiful location, friendly staff, great accommodation and service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

A great breakfastA very pleasnt stay

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have used this hotel for work on a number of ocassions and had a very pleasant stay and the breakfast has a real wide choice and is very good. The beds are very comfortable