Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chelmsford

Central hotel for town centre.

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Its central location.
Cons: More emphasis on the cleaning and a true reflection on the web site of the actual rooms.
Location: Not much to do at night and no nearby facilities for entertainment.
On arrival ,dissappointed with room as it had very small windows that were broken and could not be reached as they were too high, nor was it the room as shown on the web site for room descriptions.The room was not as clean as you would expect for a 4 star hotel.There was also a constant smell of fish in the hotel from the fish bar.Meals very expensive and only one small lift for up to 3 people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Excellent stay, would highly recommend! Very clean comfortable rooms, friendly staff, and great food! Perfect location for being in centre of Chester.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Elegant, historic hotel in city centre

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Its character and architecture - spacious, lofty rooms.
Cons: Flexible pricing for breakfast.
Location: It's in the middle of Chester, five minutes' walk from the Cathedral, just a few yards from the stairs up to the walls and close to the river.
I stayed at this hotel Friday afternoon-Monday morning; I was a member of a choir singing Cathedral services. The hotel is well located and very comfortable. I did not eat in at all, as breakfast cost £17.50 and I don't eat much at that time of day so I went to a local cafe. The hotel kindly provided tea and coffee facilities which were very welcome. The hotel does not have its own car park and uses the nearby Grosvenor Shopping centre car park. I wasn't aware of this, and was delayed on my way to Chester due to a road closure and consequent diversion through the centre of Crewe, which was a slow process. Consequently I had to park the car outside the hotel on a yellow line while I asked about parking, and having parked the car had to bring my luggage some distance. As the hotel provided internet access in the room I took my laptop, so I had that as well as my case and other bits and pieces, and I didn't have time on that occasion to make two journeys with a part load each time (as I had to attend a rehearsal in the cathedral). Paying for the car parking via the hotel gives a discount which was helpful. If I had had meals in the hotel and paid by credit card there would have been a £2 admin charge. While the location is very central and attractive, it is noisy at night as there is a night club next door. Nevertheless the stay was very pleasant and the hotel has character. The staff were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Claire from Ireland

Comfy beds

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location, very comfy beds, room very warm but a fan was provided. All of the staff (bar one) were very peasant and helpful. One staff member I felt was inexperienced, maybe new, but came across as cheeky when we asked for help with something very, very simple. Other than that, wonderful experience, would love to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Great location.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: location helpful staff
Location: great location right i city centre near to cathedral and shopping.
Great location. The staff where excellent polite and helpful. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by TimG from South West

Great Location

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We Stayed at the hotel as a stop over. The location is fantastic, central and close to shops, restaurants and all Chester has to offer. Friendly staff and breakfast was great, lots of choice and quality local products used. Room was comfortable with all amenities expected. Only slight grip was that the room we were allocated had a very tight bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jen from Cheshire

Short stay

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Great central hotel for our overnight stay in the beautiful city of Chester. All the staff were very friendly and extremely accommodating. Our room was very clean and comfortable, but we found it quite hot even with the window open. Thankfully we had a fan. We will definitely stay again but ask for a room at the back as the "club/bar" next door was noisy until the late hours!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pamela from Warwickshire

Perfect location in the middle of the city.

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Central - perfect for a first visit to the city.
Cons: The service at breakfast was extremely slow.
Location: Near cathedral, town hall, race course and river - and shops of course.
Fairly quiet despite being in the middle of the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anna B from Bolton

A wonderful stay with Macdonald as usual

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is located just off the main stretch in the centre of chester and was really easy to find. We parked in the shopping centre multi story which was only about a 5-10 walk away and was only £10 for 24hrs. As usual we chose to stay with Macdonald because the hotels are always clean, comfortable and the staff are very polite and attentive. This is exactly what we got when staying at the New Blossoms hotel. The room was spotless and there was a personalised welcome note and cake ready for when we checked in. We also enjoyed the 2-4-1 cocktails served 5-7, they were fantastic value for money and tasted delicious! Although the bed was comfortable, I could hear some noise from a night club along the street however this didn't really bother me but I would probably ask for a room on the other side of the hotel if I stayed again. We stayed for 1 night and had breakfast in which you could help yourself to a great variety of fruit, cereal and yoghurts all beautifully presented. The lovely waiter then came over and took our order for breakfast and it was made fresh for us in the kitchen. Overall we had a fantastic stay and would definitely recommend the New Blossoms hotel and any other Macdonald hotels.