Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sussex

Central position,but rather old and worn.

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Central position.
Cons: Bedding . ( Duvets,for instance,instead of sheets and blankets )
Location: Very central,with a one minute walk to the cathedral,one minute to gain the City Wall,and most other Central facilities very close.
Being an old , historic building, I was not sure what to expect.The bar and dining area were what I thought they would be,and very acceptable. The accommodation was OK ,but was a little careworn. The staff could not be faulted.Very helpful and polite. The beers were excellent ! Parking limited onsite,public parking nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom huyton liverpool

Lovely hotel right next to all eminities

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Staff were lovely very helpful and the pub it's self was beautiful just what a old pub should be lots of beams and lovely atmosphere would recommend it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hereford

Short break

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Great little hotel, friendly & comfortable. Great city location, paid parking it far either
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location perfect for centre of City.

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Room on 2nd floor. Rickety stairs. Room very warm, small windows. TV did not work and no plug near kettle. On the whole for the price it was ok and clean with crisp bed linen and soft white towels. .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great city location

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: The evening staff
Cons: The fixtures and fittings.
Location: City centre location with lots to see and do around
The evening staff were excellent, courteous and friendly. Alas the room was disappointing, an uncomfortably noisy bed, shabby bathroom fittings and a hike down to reception to ask for the TV remote control. Certainly not worth the money paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hull

Good and ideal for the city centre

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Overall good clean and very old. But that is what we wanted from Chester Not to happy that breakfast finished at 9 on the Saturday. They seemed to be more interested to get the pub open. But that was my only quibble
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tugboatjackfrom Liverpool

Chester Visit

Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel...great service and staff.nothing was too much trouble.great location by Cathedral. Superb breakfast.Will be back next month.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very Nice Old Pub

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room was very nice and the service was attentive and friendly. However, there was live music until 11 and our room was just above the bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by miss k

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by R Benfrom Southport

Great service but poor decor.

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Although the room was very clean, the general decor was dated and tired. It is a shame because with some investment this could be a brilliant hotel. The staff are really efficient and very helpful and the cooked breakfast is excellent.