Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Excellent Hotel Perfect Location

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Fantastic stay. Lovely rooms and staff. Pied Bull is a perfect location for exploring Chester and a fantastic location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Weekend in Chester at Pied Bull

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Accommodation, food, cleanliness, location.
Location: Central location near Town Hall ideal for exploring Chester. City Walls, River, walks and historic buildings all within walking distance.
Our weekend stay at Pied Bull was perfect - gorgeous characterful building, beautiful room, spotless modern bathroom. We had pre-booked parking at Pied Bull which was safe and secure. All the staff were efficient, helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent with a good selection, cooked very well and lots of tea and coffee. For evening meal I can honestly say I had the best burger ever with real home-made chips, with lots on the menu to choose from. We sampled The Pied Bull's beer also - can recommend! There was nothing to find fault with our stay at Pied Bull. Fantastic!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Lovely rooms, noisy road

Posted Jul 6, 2015
This is a great hotel with central location. However bear this in mind if you want any sleep! The beds are really comfy but we didn't get to sleep until after 4am because of the noise in the street outside. Breakfast really good and plentiful. Would return but not on a Saturday night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lytham

Central to town

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Food
Location: In centre of town more or less
Very convenient for town - food not that great (.the peas were still frozen and the chips burnt) - comment from staff when we told them was "oh sorry" - the breakfast was nice but the sausage is full of herbs ( not nice at all) lots of places to eat nearby Room was lovely but very steep steps and noise from street in the night Very clean and updated I would stay again but eat out of an evening - enjoyed my stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

city center break

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: friendly staff clean and well finished historic
Cons: weak wifi signal in room
Location: city center- about 500 yards from tourist information center and city hall
great pub with 16 rooms. we had a family suit on the top floor. 2 bedrooms one with 2 single beds, the other with a double, and a spacious bath room. pub down stairs has it's own micro brewery with some nice ales. didn't eat here (except for breakfast which was a good cooked breakfast) but the menu looked reasonable for pub grub. couldn't be a more central base for exploring the city
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gayle from Rochester, NY

A few issues but overall good

Posted Apr 13, 2015 on Hotels
The only real issue I have with this hotel is that my room was just above the pub and in the evening it was noisy! It was as if they were playing music in my room. If I turned on the TV, I could block some of it but Thursday night I could not possibly have gone to sleep until the festivities were over.Friday night wasn't as bad. I have no idea what was going on down there on Thursday. I was OK with waiting until almost midnight to go to sleep, but for someone who wants to go to bed early, this is not the place for you. But the food was very good, and the bed and chair were comfortable, the rate was reasonable, and I had a nice stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Going Back in Time

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: The location is wonderful, bang in the centre, Town Hall, Cathedral both less than 3 minutes away
Cons: Nothing
When you walk into the Pied Bull it's like walking back in time, a wonderful experience, full of character and a warm friendly greeting. This is our second stay and since our last visit all rooms have had a full refurbishment, whilst keeping the traditional touch. The cleanliness of the rooms are immaculate and the bedding was sumptuous cotton mmmmmmmmm You get a great full English in the morning. Chris the wonderful lady who seems to be there most of the time is a treasure and ensures everything goes like clockwork. We will be back Jenny & Linda Cheshire
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Fantastic en-suite bedroom and great pub!

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Great room, great pub, friendly staff, nice food, quality cooked breakfast and a great location in the heart of Chester.
Location: Central location very close to the cathedral and the main streets for shopping, restaurants and bars.
We had a memorable overnight stay in Chester at the Pied Bull. Great pub with friendly staff. The accomodation is impressive based on the double room we stayed in. It had just been refurbished to an excellent standard and was very clean and comfortable. The en-suite bathroom was perfect in every way. Really good breakfast provided a final memory before our departure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Martin from Rhuddlan

Works night out

Posted Mar 3, 2015 on Hotels
Good, the only thing I would say is that the breakfast times are very short. On a Saturday morning it is 8am-9am which is a bit short when you have been out the night before
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Martin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels