Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Best of Both Worlds

Posted Mar 23, 2015
We came from Canada looking for a Castle experience. Lumley Castle was wonderful. The original Lord of Lumley Castle would have loved to stay there today. He would have had a clear view of the countryside with first class accommodations, comforts and service. It was easy to get immersed in the history of the castle, the grounds are very nice and we walked by the river. It is an easy drive to Durham Cathedral and Castle. Walking up the circular stone stairs to our room was part of the fun (but let the bellman carry the bags).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A game of two half's

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Friday evening
Cons: Breakfast was poor. poached eggs were hard boiled, black pudding was incinerated. Residents should be considered as well as the functions.
Location: Golf
Arrived on the Friday evening and everything was fine. The room was pleasing although not in the castle. Booked into the restaurant and had a lovely meal. Went to breakfast on the Saturday at 8.30 and tried to book the restaurant for that evening. Went down hill from there. No restaurant availability for hotel guests. The staff were only interested in the wedding guests. we were offered a fast food menu or nothing in an upstairs lounge which had no staff or bar service, only a telephone to order food and drinks. Took 3/4 of an hour for a drink to come and then had to make do with a burnt burger for evening dinner. Gave up at 9.00pm and went to bed as we couldn't get a drink in the hotel bar area as it had been rearranged to accommodate the wedding guests. Two other gentlemen who were residents also complained that they could not get service in the bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hampshire, England

Good historic castle hotel.

Posted Jan 18, 2015
It was quite an experience. We stayed in a state room with four poster bed and all the trimmings. You 'walk through a wardrobe' to access the bathrobe. We had a good evening meal and the staff were helpful and pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kevinfrom Glasgow

Nice setting, great bar, average room

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
Friendly staff, the team in the restaurant were a little overtly loud when talking which interrupted a quiet meal Room was ok nothing special, if I hadn't got a special rate I wouldn't have thought it was worth the money Grounds are well kept and a lovely setting The library bar was a fantastic place to relax in the evening
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by suefrom North Tyneside

Disappointing

Posted Jan 10, 2015 on Hotels.com
I felt it was over priced for a Wednesday night just after Christmas also the first room we were offered was like a cupboard and had no bath I'm sure the whole hotel could not have been full so was at a loss why this is what was offered
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Amazing experience

Posted Jan 6, 2015
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Denisefrom Scarborough

Wonderful Anniversary

Posted Dec 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wedding anniversary 1 night stay; Tremendous stay - even with the rose tinted spectacles we were wearing as it was our wedding anniversary treat. Oodles of obvious character - we stayed in one of the feature castle rooms - with even a trip through the bedroom wardrobe which led not to Narnia, but to a wonderful bathroom. The service was very good. However, we would have expected at £200/night for room only that there would have been two nice bottles (in the room), one each of sparkling and still water. Alas, no water was provided of any sort apart from bathroom sink tap water with only 1 pack of two biscuits - along with a 2 Twining breakfast tea bags, 1 green tea, 1 red bush and 1 of another type plus 2 nescafe coffee decaffeinated and ordinary sachets - hardly matching the surroundings of a very lovely room. We eat in the restaurant and had a fabulous and great value meal - the red mullet and beef fillet were especially delightful. So, 4/5 overall, but it would have been maximum if the provided drinks had been just that little better. We have enjoyed such in many hotel rooms that were nowhere near the same tariff. Would we go again - yes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bobfrom Hanover Ontario

Stay in a castle

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you have never stayed in a castle then I would highly recommend this hotel. Great experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Elizabeth, NJ

Lumley Castle

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
A charming place, and well kept. Our bedroom and bathroom were small: one side of the double bed was against the wall so that getting up during the night disturbed both of us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom West Yorks

Lovely setting

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The building and the grounds were lovely, we had one evening meal in the restaurant and the food and service were excellent.
Cons: The restaurant and the old building were very warm, small point but was a bit uncomfortable.
Location: Good walks in the grounds
This was a lovely old building with a very interesting history. We stayed for 2 nights in one of the courtyard rooms, which was small but adequate. Some of the reviews were critical about staff attitude, we did not find this at all, all staff both restaurant and reception were very pleasant and helpful