Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom rhode island

Careful...not very accessible

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: great location.
Cons: staff, comfort, accessibility
Location: museum across the street, lots of restaurants within walking distance.
the rooms are small, the staff is curt and incompetent. If you have trouble with stairs, don't stay here. The elevator is the original and is tiny and very, very slow and there is only one. I have a three legged dog(!) and at first they put us on the top floor, then moved is to the third floor which was still difficult for the quick trip outside. I love historic hotels with their charm and beauty but this one needs to upgrade a bit for comfort and accessibility. The staff just didn't care about anything, from the receptionist to the bartender to the server....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom s

Experience a visit to the historic Plains!

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Loved everything about my experience here at the Plains Hotel. Staff were lovely too! We hosted a small get-together in our room. The room was spacious and overlooked the Cheyenne Depot. Room # 232 Check it out!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Golden, Colorado

Lovely historic gem!

Posted Dec 12, 2014
I have an affinity for hotels with a history behind it, and the Plains Hotel fits the bill perfectly. The suites are spacious and comfortable, the staff are friendly and very helpful, and the restaurant and bar serve delicious food and drinks at a great price. There is an age to the facility (it was built on 1911 after all) so if you want shiny and new then this hotel may not be your cup of tea. If you like some rustic charm with a great location and a friendly vibe, then the Plains Hotel is worth a try.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historical Landmark across from the UP Depot

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Old world charm.
Cons: Fix the elevator.
Location: I'm a train buff and being across from the UP Depot and Museum was perfect. Walking distance to a few other museums.
Great charm. Room was clean and appeared to have been recently repainted. Really like the charm of old hotels: high ceilings, tile floors. Only slept there so cannot comment on restaurant. Elevator was not working so had to use the stairs. Not a bad climb but cumbersome taking luggage upstairs.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom M

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Broken building. Needs renovated. Badly. Nice entry. Elevator has been broken for months.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Garyfrom Glendale, AZ

Frontier hospitality at it's best

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
To stay where so much Wyoming history happened was fantastic. The supper meal was excellent, the bar tender even made a special martini requested by my friend. Will definitely stay here when I'm in Cheyenne.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Palm Beach Fl

Wonderful stay

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Charm
Location: Trolly tour, great restaurants nearby and if you are a train enthuiast like my husband you will enjoy the train station and museum there.
Updated but with the charm still intact. Rooms were spacious and clean but still had the creek when you walked on the floors. Just amazing. Only drawback was traffic on the bridge side of the street was a little noisy but otherwise this is a geat place to stay!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable, but no creature comforts

Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a hotel conveniently located in downtown, close to the major highways, but not too close. There's some great shopping and restaurants around the hotel, too, although there is no parking. You'll have to chance it with public parking on the street around the hotel. Very basic amenities in the rooms. Technology-wise, this hotel is about ten years behind. Although there's high speed internet available, the ping is absolutely terrible. There's very few accessible electrical outlets in the room. If you only need to check your email and charge your phone, though, you should be fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by BellaDonnafrom San Diego

One night stay

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room I had was clean and comfortable and I felt safe staying there alone. However the room was on the corner overlooking 2 busy streets and noisy at night. There is NO onsite parking and you had to park a block and a half away. I did not find that convenient and had to make 3 trips to my car for all my stuff. The hotel staff was pleasant. The restaurant onsite was good. Overall it was just an ok hotel and probably would not stay there again because of the noise and parking issue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels.com