Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

Historic Hotel, Unfortunate Flaw

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: It's an older hotel, can be noisy (across from the rebuilt train station) but it has its charms. Location is fantastic. Capitol Grille v good
Cons: Get a valet for god's sake. Internet was slow and spotty. Could use a few renovations
Location: Old Train depot has been refurbished, there was a concert on Friday nite, a farmers market in Sat am. Shopping, restaurants nearby.
There is no parking. There is (was) no valet to help with the parking. There is no signage directing someone who has driven many miles and many hours to Cheyenne where to park. THIS IS UNBELIEVABLE! You may be a historic hotel but the vast majority of people no longer arrive by train. As charming as the old hotel may be, as fine as the location is (right in the middle of downtown) the impression made upon arrival is horrible. Imagine artriving in a Thunderstorm after driving 6 hours, with a dog and more than 1 bag and neing told to park 2 blocks away! For god sake dress a guy up as a cowboy and have him act as valet or at least heklp with the baggage.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PV, MX

Historic but bad

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Really nothing
Cons: Everything.......especially the rooms and beds
Location: ok downtown area, but nothing historic
Where to start.....parking is over 2 blocks away and no loading zone to unload baggage. Room window would not close and ac wouldn't work right. Floor was softer than the bed and the pillows were terrible. Coffee pot and microwave had to be moved to the floor by the door to be used.....no plugins around. After 2 weeks in the west, this was the worst room and one of the highest priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Couldn't have asked for better service

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
We got to the hotel late around 9:30 or 10 pm. We were warmly greeeted. We had the pleasure of working with Vinny. She saw that my grandfather was wearing an veterans hat and asked if he had any kind of id showing that he had been in the military. She then offered him the military discount. She also gave coupons for the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. As I'm sure that is normal for everyone she went above and beyond to make a old veteran feel special.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ashley from Ft. Collins, CO

Great Customer Service, Not Great Room

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
We reserved a 2 queen bed room but when we checked in, the room was unavailable. They gave us 2 adjoining rooms for the same price to make up for the mistake. My room smelled like pickles, we had one pillow on the bed and the bathrooms are very old. My daughter's room smelled like smoke and didn't have a tv remote. The desk couldn't provide her with a remote. Great people, not such a great hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Shannon from Marshfield

Nice downtown location

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed in a parlor room, which was a nice size. I heard some of the other rooms were quite small. This is historic as in old, and a bit outdated. It did have a certain charm. Our room face the street and you could hear traffice all night, but Cheyenne seems to quiet down around 10-11pm anyways. the hotel restaurant was nice, but nothing special. Beware, street parking is only for 2 hours during the week before 5pm, and the only other choices are a parking lot or a parking garage, both about 2 blocks away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Jason from MN

My window was so dirty I couldn't see the trains!

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not very well maintained and overall was dirty. On a loud street across from train yard. Could not see out the window because it was so dirty so I could only hear the trains. Best part was the elevator was out order all week and they just slapped a "wet paint" sign on it.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Stephen K. from Denver, CO

Iceberg in the room

Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
During an extremely cold night the window that didn't fit in the window frame was allowing massive frigid air into the room. The window could not physically be closed so I had to use bathroom towels to partially seal the window frame. The room heater still could not adequately warm the room. There was no closet just a rolling rack. Even with minimal furniture walking around can be challenging. The little refrigerator froze my water. The coffee maker still had a used coffee pack in the basket from a former guest. There were not enough electrical outlets; I had to keep unplugging and plugging items. At check out I was not asked about my experience with their hotel. The lobby was great because of the history. The restaurant and bar were fine. The public spaces were slightly dated by also fine. The experience in my room was very disappointing.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Patrick from California

Know before you go

Posted Feb 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel certainly has character but you need to know what you're getting into before you go. It's a historic hotel with lots of interesting architectural details. The rooms that face the railway station are extremely noisy, as all windows are single paned. My room also smelled bad and had a draft from the air conditioner installed in the window. It's more interesting than the chain motels in town but I wish I could say that I slept as well as I would have had I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by VMan from Aurora, CO

Great Old Hotel

Posted Dec 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great Old Hotel - love this place, staff is incredibly accommodating and friendly. Of course, being an old building there are some issues - elevator was not working on this last trip - but, in general, I love the ambience and cozy atmosphere here!