Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roachcreek from Oregon

Charming little hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Staff, location.
Cons: Safes did not work.
Location: It is inside the old city walls and as a result it is within walking distance to the night market, the cafes and sights.
Cute little hotel, but on a busy street. Hotel staff was great and the breakfast was not too bad. Great area just a little busy and noisy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2014
Pros: Nothing,even the pool was dirty.
Cons: Larger rooms so at least two people could move around in the room.
Location: You are near a market, some stores and barsfornight life. The street is very busy and noisy throughout the night.
Unless you are young and backpacking throughThailand, don't stay here. The staff could not speak Engliah well, the accommodations were small, event hogs we ordered a deluxe room with two beds. We had one bed and that was all except for the very,very small bathroom. We left after one night and went to another hotel. We want a refund fromExpedia for the other nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JLW from San Diego

Nice Hotel in Old Chiang Mai

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: I like the look, location and comfort of the hotel.
Cons: Four suggestions: Carry bags of older people up the stairs, offer more variety for breakfast, improve the coffee, allow guests to pay for dryer use.
Location: The location is great for food, shopping, some temples.
It took me a while to warm up to the Chiang Mai Boutique House. First, I love the colors and the look of the place. The hotel is near the Chiang Mai Gate so you are really close to the Walking Street Markets on Saturday and Sunday night - a huge attraction. Go around 4:00pm to avoid the largest crowds. That said, being in the old city on those days means that it can be noisy. Usually you are so tired and the beds are comfortable so it isn't much of a problem. Be advised, guests climb stairs to get to the rooms and carry their own bags. There is a coin-operated washer you can use but you can't use the dryer. There are racks to dry your clothes. Great food choices in walking distance. We had two problems while we were there: a leak in the one bathroom and in the other room a dripping air conditioner. The first was fixed the next day and neither problem was horrible. It has a pool but this is a place to stay if you want to be out and around in Old Chiang Mai and come back for a good night sleep in a clean, comfortable bed.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by CatManDo from Mount Hood

If you like noise....

Posted Nov 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
If you enjoy falling asleep to the sound of street noise, you'll love this place! I initially picked this small hotel because it's on a side street. That side street, even though it's one way & narrow, has to be one of the busiest streets in Chiang Mai. To made matters worse, my room was one of those right over this side street. This noise condition could be greatly improved by replacing the single paned windows with sound proofing glass. The breakfast is also very minimal. I stayed here two nights before giving up and moving to something better, for my remaining four nights in Chiang Mai. There is lots to choose from, I suggest choosing elsewhere.
3 out of 5
by Alice from San Mateo, CA

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: Colorful hotel and location was OK. They do have computers that the guests can use so that was good and free Wi-Fi.
Location: The hotel is located just inside the old city. It's walkable to the Sunday market, Saturday night market (closest) and the Night Bazaar.
This hotel is in a good location in terms of being able to walk to the Sunday market, Saturday night market and the Night Bazaar. The not so good part of it was it was noisy since it was right off the street. There's something in the hotel that was going on almost all night every night that sounded like construction work (we think maybe it's a generator). We can hear pigeons outside the bathroom window. There were spider webs and a couple of dead insects (maybe moths) on the walls. We noticed the last two nights there were ants on the bed near the headboard. The mattress is uncomfortable. I was disappointed with the breakfast which was included in the room price because it was an American breakfast. There was a safe in the room that did not work and they did offer use another room but we would have to wait another day. We would not go back to this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ed from Seattle

Great location in the old city

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: good price, very clean, location
Location: Walking around the old city, go to the night market, and the street market on the weekend. Chiang Mai have the BEST photo to canvas painters in Asia
It is a very good location. The staff was very helpful setting up transport to the airport. Breakfast was simple but good. Bathrooms clean and small but the shower was big. Overall very good value for the dollar. Could use a few more outlets as is true of most hotels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by baumo

Not what I expected

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: The pool, the breakfast
Cons: The personnel. Not friendly and not proactive
Location: There are many restaurants near it. There is a market near it.
I expected a bigger room and I got a very small room. There was a lot of noise from the guests. The receptionist was not friendly and lied to me telling me there were not two twin rooms in the hotel. The pool was ok for relaxing and meeting people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Noel from China

not good to stay here

Posted Aug 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
The GH is so Thailand style. The room is clean but too small especial the restroom. The swimming is a bit small and dirty. About the breakfast is simple no the 2nd choice. A lady in receiption is always unfriendly. Most time she is impatient so pls do not wish to get the help from her.