Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice oasis in Chiang Mai

Posted Dec 6, 2013
This is a lovely oasis in a beautiful city. Great location. Good staff. Our bed was creaking and keeping us awake but they changed out the mattress. Wish this place, plus most other Asia hotels, put a spare plug by the bed for my cell phone, but there if you unplugged the lamp, there was a great reading light you could still use. good breakfast with choices of a hot meal so you don;t get bored. they have a large DVD collection that you can use plus very good free wifi. Nice pool area. A free minibar was included in our room and it was replenished. The first night the cleaning person decided to rearrange everything we put out in the bathroom, which we don;t appreciate. Made us sorted out whose stuff was whose each day until we wisely put most stuff away. Small price to pay for a nice place Check out the library. A ton of books to borrow You can do better for evening dining, but if you don;t want to go out, the atmosphere is good and the bar is always pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Holly B. from Houston

Great boutique hotel (warm and approachable)

Posted Dec 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Exceeded our expectations on EVERY level.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Eric from New York City

Thai luxury

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed at the Rachamankha for 6 nights - longer than I had intended but so lovely it was hard to leave. Quiet, Asian elegance and oasis right in the middle of Chiang Mai. And the owner and staff could not have been nicer - If you want to avoid the luxury skyscrapers and be in a place that really feels Thai this is the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by EG from Kenwood, CA

Peaceful and Practically Perfect

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Tranquil, intimate hotel with 27 rooms, built 10 years ago with all the modern conveniences but made to look like an older guest house. The rooms open to beautifully planted courtyards and the sound of birds. There are no bad rooms we could see and the gathering rooms are conducive to traveling with other couples or small groups The rooms are well appointed with elephant trunks, beautiful armoires and writing desks, and black lacquered trays and boxes. The bed was great. The antiques in the common spaces are worth a trip even if you aren't staying there; tables, sculptures, armoires, manuscript chests. The staff was helpful and accommodating. The restaurant was excellent, a good variety on the menu and nicely presented. Don't miss the cinnamon French toast in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jack from Beijing

A romantic, real escape

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: A great place to return to after a long, sweaty day out.
Cons: Free Wi-fi was much appreciated, but it would have been great if we didn't have to log in every time we wanted to use it.
Location: Right in the heart of the old city, a short tuk tuk ride from pretty much anywhere. Wat Pra Singh is just around the corner.
Despite all the hype I wasn't prepared for just how lovely the Rachamankha is. My partner and I and his parents had the pleasure of making it our base for our brief stay in Chiang Mai, and it is simply the loveliest boutique hotel I've ever stayed in. The landscaping is gorgeous, the pool a delight, the staff endlessly helpful and accommodating and the rooms clean, comfortable and just the right side of luxurious - tasteful and plush without being fussy. The free greeting cards and mosquito repellent were particularly welcome. The kitchen staff even reheated the food we had made at our cooking class and provided rice free of charge!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David

A Zen oasis in a hot and busy city

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: Serene setting and atmosphere--yet it is in the heart of the old city.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Within walking distance of most points of interest and restaurants in the old city, including the night market.
This is a great hotel. It is only about a dozen years old, but the Lanna architecture makes you feel you are going back in time. The minute you enter the grounds, you feel you have left the hustle and bustle and heat of the city behind and have entered an oasis. The rooms are a bit Spartan, and not large by any means, but somehow that adds to the charm of it all. I would definitely come back here if the occasion were to arise.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Jim from USA

Nice property, poor service

Posted Sep 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is beautiful, the design is amazing and it has a spa like atmosphere. The breakfast was wonderful - fine dinning at breakfast! However, I was disappointed with the service and the inflexibility of the staff. Due to some car trouble in the mountains on our way into CM, we arrived at midnight tired, hungry and in soaking wet clothes. We were taken care of and shown to our room, but the hotel had nothing to offer to eat. The only suggestion was to go to a 7-11 down the street for dinner. This is a limitation of the location and hotel service. We asked for a late checkout, but they were firm on the noon checkout, so we couldn't stay there even 12 hrs. I understand the checkout policy, but I would have appreciated an extra hour in the room that morning. In place of a late check out my wife and I went to a nearby spa recommended by the front desk. It was a terrible and expensive Thai massage. Should have found a 200B place as they seem to do a better job. This is a customer service issue. I would stay closer to the night bizarre next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

gorgeous hotel.

Posted Sep 11, 2013
Pros: Every thing
Cons: The water at the bath was stink Insure that if we were staying more nights they where fixing it.
We came at night and felt sorry in advance that we couldn't Stay more.