Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Nathanaelfrom Texas

Great Little Resort!

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rim Tara was a good choice for my vacation to Chiang Mai. It was in a nice quiet neighborhood and had tropical plants and trees to give you an out of the city feel. Yet it was close enough to reach downtown in 10-15 minutes depending on traffic. The boutique resort was very clean and offered everything you would need. The rooms included a mini fridge, flat screen TV, a safe, balcony on 2nd floor, free breakfast and a pool. However the best feature was the friendly and helpful staff. I don't speak any Thai, however they helped arrange transportation, made phone calls to arrange tourist activities and looked up information if they didn't have the answer. They can even take care of your laundry if that's needed. This resort was a good choice and I recommend staying here if you don't mind being away from the center of the city.
2 out of 5
by Tamarafrom Montreal, QC, Canada

Bad Experience

Posted Dec 11, 2012
Pros: Nice japenese water garden
Cons: The staff, the breakfast, the 'tours'
Location: Terrible location, far from the city, no restaurants in the area.
I generally don't like to write bad reviews, however, this is not about me but about those that come after me. From the begining this hotel was a disappointment, I sent them two emails requesting an airport transfer and never heard back. I thought it was just my a problem with the email so I managed myself at the airport. When I arrived to check in the woman behind the counter was uninterested and didn't acknowledge me, so I took a seat and waited, finally after about 20 minutes she said hello, I checked in and was given a really badly located room just off the parking lot, the room had a patio but it was about 3 feet wide and faced a brick wall, thanks. I booked a tour with one of the woman and paid 1500 baht, I asked if entrance fees were included she said yes, so I thought why not. I had already been quoted a price of 400 baht for the whole day but without entrance fees from the taxi that dropped me there. Well when it came time of course this was not the case, entrance fees were not inluded, the car was a simple taxi and the "tour guide" was a taxi driver with very limited english. I went back to the hotel to complain and the women suddenly lost her ability to understand english, how convient. The hotel took advantage simply because I was a tourist, not cool. Also breakfast is a joke, tired fried egg, dry toast and two little pink cocktail weiners, honestly there are much better hotels for the price, stay away from this place, it's to far from the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Antfrom St Albans, Hertfordshire, UK

Excellent value for money, great atmosphere.

Posted Aug 17, 2012
Pros: Lovely quirky atmosphere. Clean and comfortable. Excellent value for money.
Location: Ten minute ride from the town centre.
We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the layout of the grounds is lovely, with lots of water features, very peaceful. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the pool is kept clean as well. There is a great Japanese restaurant on site, which is really handy if you're tired at the end of the day and can't be bothered to venture further afield. It's a ten minute taxi or tuk-tuk ride into and out of Chiang Mai centre, which costs next to nothing. We'd happily stay here again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Not a four star experience

Posted Jul 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
The biggest issue with Neil Tara is that no one seems to know where it is. Whenever we went out, the trip home was always very difficult, and, more often than not, the tuk tuk driver would have to call the hotel for directions. The second biggest challenge was that the staff, while very nice, did not speak English and thus could not be very helpful. Our hotel had a strange smell and the shower was mostly freezing cold with spurts of scalding hot water. The pool is small and not very clean. There is nothing to do in the surrounding location of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mike

Nice off the path stay

Posted May 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
The Neil Tara Resotel was a pleasant stay. We loved the staff and the atmosphere created for this smaller resort. The staff was very friendly and helped to the best of their ability, even when language was an issue. The main problem this hotel has is its distance to the city center or other attractions. Be prepared to take a tuk tuk every time you leave the hotel as well as carry their card so that the taxis can find their way back. Also it seemed as though the shower only had two settings, scalding hot and freezing cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Great Time In Chiang Mai

Posted Feb 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
Neil Tara has a super friendly staff, and the hotel is really nice for the price. The grounds are very well maintaned. Just a short walk to a busy business district, with shopping and some good resteraunts, very convenient to the city, and yet it is quiet and secluded on the grounds. We had a wonderful time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful hotel

Posted Jan 31, 2012
Pros: SIze of rooms and comfortable beds
Cons: Breakfast options .
Location: It seemed a bit far but talking to locals they did not find it far from anywhere at all.
Grounds are very well taken care of. Rooms are spacious and comfortable ; very well appointed . Location is a bit far from downtown area and there is not much around it. Breakfast needs to be upgraded; you have the choice of Japanese or American brekfast but it is not enough food and you get half a glass of FANTA as your "orange" drink . Staff is very corteous . Overall, I like this hotel and would stay in it again.