Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gladius from Dorset Uk

Characterful

Posted Feb 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Quirky hotel with interesting rooms and water garden. Helpful hotel although the checkin procedure was a bit of a grilling. We liked it enough to stay there again when we returned to Chiang Mai after a week touring the Golden Triangle, and were upgraded to the larger 'superior' room. There a building site next door but not noisy at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rosebud from Consett

Great place to stay

Posted Jan 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a really great small family hotel close to the old city walls. Walking to old city passes some small friendly bars and restaurants. The staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms have dark wood paneling and decorative painting. Good choice of food for breakfast. Swimming pool quite small and water cold but very clean with sun beds and seats around. Lovely water garden with lots of large koi fish.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by S. Green from U. S .A.

Best hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our hotel was far better than that of others that we met during our stay in Chiang Mai. We were there one night, left for one night to visit Elephant Nature Park and then returned for two more nights. The first room was facing the street and was a bit noisy, but the second room was beautifully quiet and we only heard the waterfall. There was also a bit of a bad smell in the first ro while the second room was perfect in every way . The staff was always kind and helpful. The location was an easy walk or short tuk-tuk ride to many places in the city. The stairs could be difficult for some . We wll definitely stay at the Thannatee again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Eric from Minneapolis

Nice Hotel Just outside of the old city

Posted Nov 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
There are only stairs - FYI. Very nice rooms and service about 3 blocks from the street that encircles the moat. The immediate area is a bit dumpy, but as with all Thai cities, is defintely safe to walk around. Very nice rooms with soft beds. The breakfast was adequate. We are yet to find a place that can do eggs ham and bacon just right, but the thai and continental breakfast options are good. Superior service with complementary transport to most places. They even took us to another hotel when we tried to book the next night, but they were full.
3 out of 5
by Jerry from canada

Nice hotel , kinda outta the way.

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Pros: The room was very nice , although the sheets could have been changed more. I could get a ride just about anywhere in the city , oneway.
Cons: More signage as even the taxi drivers from the airport didn't know where it was,airport pickup would be nice especially at 10:30 P.M.; More English.
Location: Back Soi location,A long walk to any where but not too hard to figure out once a Map is obtained; almost had to plead for that.
The rooms and ambience are charming. The Koi fish and waterfall were a quite a nice touch to the courtyard; enve though I could see that being a huge safety issue if it was my place the large gaps on the slippery concrete(read phoey) rocks are just waiting for some one to slip or get a leg or ankle in the crevice and craaaack. The food was pretty limited but good. The rooms were clean but I think the concrete patterned floor needs a good cleaning.Very Limited English and not really very helpful. The tours offered frpm this hotel and others by van to Night Safari and to Doi Suthep are a joke, save your money and plan it youself in a songtaew. The dumb tours are rushed to get you in, out and someone else in; Hmong Hilltribe village is a joke too, just a bunch of small shops set up with the same gear anyone can get at the Chiang Mai night bazaar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A unique boutique hotel.

Posted Jul 4, 2013
My wife and I had a most enjoyable 3 days here. Staff were wonderful and extremely helpful. Breakfast excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dianne from Medicine Hat, AB, Canada

Thanatee is a very cool experience.

Posted May 27, 2013
Pros: Decor and staff
Cons: Size of the rooms
Location: Chiang Mai, Thailand
Very unique hotel, with interesting decor and unique design. Great staff. Good shuttle service to most locations. Nice breakfast. But be careful. Some of the rooms are TINY!!! Actually found it a little hard to breathe at times (but I am slightly claustraphobic.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Iza from Seattle, WA

More like Bed&Breakfast

Posted Feb 23, 2013
Pros: It is small and we got very personal attention from a staff.
Cons: next time in Ching Mai we stay in the hotel inside old town
Location: This hotel is really in walking distance to old city, but immediate surrounding is quite messy.
We spent four nights at Thannatee Boutique. For the first one we got grotesquely small room, and only after complaining we were moved to one comfortably enough. The hotel itself has been very nicely designed and decorated. Rooms are (over)decorated in the mood of Bed and Breakfast. The hotel changed name recently, and tuk-tuk drivers will often not recognize it by name. It is necessary to carry hotel's business card with address in Thai alphabet. The one particular drink in the bar, originally Thai (lemon grass, lime leaves, ginger, chili with vodka and rum), is superb.