Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, extremely helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jimlim from From -Seattle

Quiet Nice New Hotel/Service Apt style

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
I really enjoyed the quality of the service and excellent value for the money. It is a new hotel all amenities were new and service is exceptional. I booked my hotel via Hotel.com and got really good deal for my money. Hotel.com is excellent service even in a foreign country like Thailand. I only rate it 4 stars because 5 Stars I would have to pay much more than this hotel. I highly recommend this hotel among using Hotel.com to book it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Natalie from Australia

A tucked away gem!

Posted Mar 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed in a kitchenette so we were able to cook some meals, but one of the cookers was broken, there was no dish cloths or dish towels which we had to ask for, but otherwise the room was superb. We stumbled across an excellent bamboo tattooist and a really cool (yummy) food court. Highly recommended - staff were really helpful and free breakfast was extensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by r from sydney

very friendly and pleasant stay.

Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything we expected. 5 days. Great value. Will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great people, cheap and nice place

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The place is nice for $30USD, a bathtub is a hard thing to find in Thailand, it is a great place! super sweet staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from London United Kingdom

Informal, well managed friendly hotel.

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly, helpful staff.
Location: Nu's Place restaurant and Siriwattana market.
The medium sized Opium Hotel is located in the mainly residential area to the north of the Chang Phuak gate. My partner and I stayed for six weeks in a suite consisting of a kitchen with sink, microwave, refrigerator and two ring cooker, a separate bedroom and bathroom with shower and bath and constant hot water. All the rooms were quite large by hotel standards and were comfortable, clean and well decorated. The rooms were serviced daily. The lounge area had French doors which overlooked a narrow well tended garden. There was a multi channel flat screen T.V. in the lounge area and the bedroom. The wi fi connection was consistently high speed. Although away from the main tourist area, (a plus point for us) taxis or Tuk Tuk’s are easily available to take you most places within the city itself, the Chang Phuak gate is only about 15 minutes walk. Tours including day trips, taxis and Tuk Tuk’s can be booked by the reception staff. Virtually everything a tourist would need is in the immediate vicinity including restaurants catering for all tastes, ( try Nu’s place), mens barbers, women’s hairdressers, numerous laundries and a wonderful fruit and vegetable market (Siriwattana) which is worth a visit in its own right, particularly in the evening when cooked food is sold. Without exception the very knowledgeable staff in the hotel were always willing to help in any way possible and never failed to greet you with a genuine friendly smile.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Rick from United States

Hmm...

Posted Jan 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pros: Room is large. Staff is friendly. There are some cheap little restaurants in the area. Cons: Property is rather old and somewhat in need of restoration. Breakfast buffet items are cold and sausage and ham ordered off the menu is uncooked. The pool is tiny and situated at the hotel entrance. Rather noisy as there are many families staying here. It's a local neighbourhood and not within walking distance of the walled part of the city or other tourist sites, thus a car or tour driver is needed. Overall I would say it is overpriced compared with other hotels. (Jan. 2014).
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Dawn Anderson from United States

Posted Jan 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice place. staff was very pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Daniel from Mexico

Too bad it's not well located

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms are well kept as well as clean, also very spacious. The shower was a bit annoying since water would get out to other parts of the bathroom but staff said they are installing doors to prevent this. Staff was really nice and helped us several times with reservations, transfers and tours. Biggest con for the hotel is the location. While it is not too far away from the old city and the night market and river it is not close compared to other hotels. If you like to walk around then this is not your best option since you have to move by tuk tuk or taxi. (130-150 bahts each way) for almost any restaurant. They have bike rentals (100 B for each bike for a day).
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jonathan Thoms from Phoenix, AZ USA

Would stay again

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Front office staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. It doesn't get 5 stars because it's not a 5 star hotel. However, it was clean, comfortable, and safe. All you can ask for when paying these kind of prices. When we come back we will definitely stay here again. The front office staff literally did whatever they needed to so to help us and make sure we were taken care of. Can express my gratitude to them enough. Things to note: the bed is not very soft, more stiff actually, and the hotel is not easy to find for tuk-tuks or taxis. Be sure to grab a map or card of the place before you leave and you will be alright. Otherwise, you could be up for quite an adventure getting back.