Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in old city

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Everything.
We stayed at the Rim Resort towards the end of March 2014 and this was probably our favorite hotel in all of Thailand ( we visited three different cities). The hotel staff was always so welcoming and helpful, it had all the amenities we needed, and it was a homey like environment. We also found a laundry store right next door which made doing laundry very convenient. The hotel was also close to all the main areas, and they had a free shuttle to the market every night. The breakfast was also very good and eggs were made to order. I really enjoyed staying here and miss staying in the beautiful Chiang Mai. Thank you for a wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in old city

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Everything.
We stayed at the Rim Resort towards the end of March 2014 and this was probably our favorite hotel in all of Thailand ( we visited three different cities). The hotel staff was always so welcoming and helpful, it had all the amenities we needed, and it was a homey like environment. We also found a laundry store right next door which made doing laundry very convenient. The hotel was also close to all the main areas, and they had a free shuttle to the market every night. The breakfast was also very good and eggs were made to order. I really enjoyed staying here and miss staying in the beautiful Chiang Mai. Thank you for a wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rhonda from Melbourne

Boutique hotel in the Old City of Chiang Mai

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: The relaxed, calm atmosphere, it is not a huge hotel so it has an intimate feel about it.
Cons: Nothing, I just really loved it.
Location: The Old City of Chiang Mai is small so it is not far from anything, the hotel does appear to be on the quieter side of the city, so no noise at night.
Lovely quiet hotel, gives a very calm experience, old world style with a lot of wood work. A really serene stay, just the right atmosphere to chill out and relax. The pool area is beautiful, and there is a small area nearby for reading, playing chess, watching the fountains and having some drinks. The staff are lovely, nothing is too much trouble for them, they will help you to get a taxi, Tuk tuk, tell you the correct price for your journey, organise excursions, suggest restaurants as well. Lots of brochures are available at reception. The food is terrific, a lot of choice for breakfast and for dinner as well; breakfast finishes at 10am, so a sleep- in is possible and the dinner is available until 10pm which is terrific if you have had a long day. Breakfast box is possible for an early morning start.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Palm Springs, CA

Excellent Boutique Hotel

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Pros: Smaller size, and quiet atmosphere.
Location: Location is on the west side of the old city. Sunday night walking street market was a short walk [approx. 10 minutes] away.
Stayed 3 nights. Hotel is intimate with excellent facilities for a property of its size. Staff is excellent in every way. Property is located on the west side of the Old City, which is some distance from the main tourist hotels and restaurants on the east side of the Old City, but the hotel offers a free nightly shuttle to the night market on the east side of the city, and return can be easily made by tuk-tuk for 100 baht. The buffet breakfast was excellent with either American or Asian choices, as well as made to order egg dishes. I recommend using the hotel's shuttle for pickup and dropoff at the airport which is a short drive away [5 minutes.] I look forward to returning to the Rim Resort for a future stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel, walking distance to many things

Posted Nov 8, 2013
Cons: Spacious room, nice pool [small pool, but set up very well] great breakfast, free wi-fi.
Location: Close to the airport, about 35 minutes to Doi Suthep, just blocks from the Sunday night market.
We had a great stay at the Rim Resort. The staff was Very helpful and the hotel was close to many areas of old town to walk to. We spent the mornings and evenings out and about the city and area, and the afternoons by the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by yj from califonia,USA

Excellent hotel, good location . Friendly staff.

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Stay 3 nights, if I come to Chiang Mai again, will stay here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice guesthouse

Posted Sep 11, 2013
Quiet. Great staff. Very helpfull. Short ride over to the bazaar area however Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small boutique hotel at the West side of old city.

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Shaded, cool, quiet, and charming. Very clean. The help understand English well and can help with transportation and sightseeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by R

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by paul from Chicago, IL, USA

Rim, good deal

Posted Mar 15, 2013
we have just came back from Chiang Mai where we stayed at Rim for 4 nights. First, the price is reasonably. Our room is bit old but nice because they use tiles and hardwood floors. The pool is in the center of the hotel and is not big but a good place to cool off. The best part of the hotel is its resturant where we had breakfast and lunch. It has a limited western and Thai dishes, nothing fancy but tasteful and clean. We stayed in Shangri La hotel in Bangkok before coming to Chiang Mai, but this resturant ("Canal") is more to our taste than in Shangri La. we booked the hotel van to take us to the royal palace up in the mountain and it only cost 2000 baht for half a day tour. while you may get a cheaper deal outside, but this is more secure and gives you more time to visit. The hotel also runs a nightly free shuttle to night markets (one way), and you can come back with a tut-tut for 100 bahts. Paying more does not get you more, and Rim demonstrates that you can find a good hotel with great service in Thailand. Clearly, Chiang Mai is lot cheaper than Bangkok.