Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Great stay at Spaltenna in July 2014! The staff was amazing and extremely accommodating - never had better. Beautiful grounds and amazing food. Got engaged in one of the gardens so I have no complaints!!! Great wine too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by funnyfou from san diego, ca

Great hotel in the heart of Chianti

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: Quiet Staff Pool and spa Walking distance to a town Hiking trails
Cons: Offer lighter fare for dinner in bar Heat the outdoor pool
Awesome hotel in Gaiole! The ameneties are fantastic! Quiet. Well manicured. The staff was great and spoke very good English (in case your italian is not too good) . Located in the center of 5 wonderfully scenic hiking routes ( watch out, though, the hiking trails are not well marked-look for blue or white and red paint marks on trees or stone walls). If you are only going to do one trail, do #3 going clockwise don't start the other way because the trail is really hard to find. The included breakfast is awesome! Just eat a big breakfast there and then wait for dinner. I would unfortunately not recomend their restaurant for more than night. It is very expensive and formal. The free spa (5 "treatments" showers, sauna, turkish bath and jacuzzi were also great. Especially since the outdoor pool is not heated it felt nice to to a warm up in the turkish bath. The hotel is also located 5 min from the main town. Restaurant there are not fancy and somewhat touristy but they were decent (we did not feel like driving anywhere after hiking all day, anyway). I would also recommend buying salame and prosciutto from the little butcher next to the jolly caffe. You can also buy bread in the pane shop on the main piazza (unsalted in tuscany, apparently). The main con would be the price of eating and drinking. Just eat somewhere else (except the breakfast) and buy wine in town. We still had an after dinner drink in the bar and hung out with the bartender. Would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Linda J. from Miami

Fantastic. Fantastic. Fantastic

Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Everything we could have expected and more in a luxurious monastery. The hotel and restaurant were first rate. The service impeccable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andre from USA

What a nice surprise!

Posted Oct 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Medieval castle in the middle of Chianti, Tuscany. Amazing experience. Fantastic service, beautiful views. We really enjoyed the rustic but comfortable accommodations. The restaurant is a most-have experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stephen from London

Superb villa in the heart of Chianti wine country

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Pros: Pretty much everything! Two pools, superb room, great location. Beautiful location.
Cons: Worth upgrading to the room with its own balcony.
Location: Walk to town with small shops, supermarket, wine shops & restaurant. Also Capenelle vineyard. Drive to Florence, Sienna, vineyards & other towns.
Cannot recommend this villa highly enough. Staff are polite and very helpful, location is beautiful, restaurant is amazing and the 'room' was actually 4 rooms! Beautiful building in a beautiful location in Chianti wine country. Amazing views from the hotel and superb food in the restaurant. And when you tire of 5-star dining it's only a short walk to cheap and cheerful restaurants in town. Within easy walking distance of small town and one vineyard. Easy driving distance of several vineyards, several medieval towns, Sienna & Florence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by lindsey from USA

beautiful hotel in a small town

Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Castello di Spaltenna was a beautiful hotel, it's only downfall was that it was a hike down (and back up) a hill to get to the town, which was very small and closed down early. If you are looking to primarily stay in the hotel, this is a lovely spot!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul from UK

Great Break

Posted Jul 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed three nights in June. It's a great hotel with extremely good food. Attentive friendly service. Country walking from the door yet only a short walk from the village/town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BEN from Atlanta, GA, USA

A four star hotel that is a five star hotel

Posted Jun 11, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Can not think of anything
Location: Giaole in Chianti is overlooked by many visitors but you have many nice wine castles nearby and Siena is only 27km away.
This is not a four star hotel it is closer to a five star hotel. The service, amenities, staff, upkeep and all the small details was there and the breakfast is the best in Tuscany. We had dinner in the restaurant twice and this was our best food and wine experience in Tuscany.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Blanca from Miami

Fantasy castle.......

Posted Jan 7, 2013
Pros: The magical and historical building
Cons: The internet connection
Location: On a hill overlooking the town of Gaiole in Chianti and rolling hills filled with olive trees and vineyards. Very romantic and charming.
I've always wanted to stay in a castle or castle like building and Castelo di Spaltenna filled all of our requirements and surpasses my fantasy wishes. We were upgraded to a beautiful and spacious room with all the modern day comforts.The setting is spectacular sitting above the quaint town of Gaiole in Chianti. The grounds are beautiful with the most beautiful evergreens and even wild berries even in the winter. The hotel has an amazing restaurant with an expert chef Fabrizio. You don't want to miss out on his creative culinary skills and his service staff is incredible. Ask for Micaela...she is extremely friendly and can answer many questions and make you feel at home. We spent an entire week including Christmas and traveled in our car daily to the nearby towns like Siena, San Gimignano, and Raada. The roads are excellent and filled with flowing curves and the most scenic terrain ever. We will definitely be back !!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Alison F

Amazing place!!!

Posted Sep 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
My husband and I spent 2 weeks in Italy and the time we spent here was the best part of the trip! Friziano the reservation manager upgraded our room to a gorgeous balcony room with amazing views!! We will definitely stay here again!! Everything was perfect & breakfast & lunches on the terrace are a must do!! Special thanks to all the staff (especially Friziano, Joyce, Andrea, Marco, Sebastion, & Emily) for making our stay memorable!! We will be back!!