Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great area but choose different accomodations

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Location: Radda in Chianti is a wonderful town, and the hotel is right next to, and within easy walking distance from, the old town.
Cons: Wi-Fi in rooms, commitment to customer satisfaction (i.e., friendlier and more helpful staff) and smaller keys (seriously, they're huge and heavy).
Location: Radda in Chianti has the best of everything. Highly recommend the Vignavecchia winery just outside town. I enjoyed Siena so much more than Florence.
Radda in Chianti was excellent, but I recommend looking for a different hotel. Positive characteristics include great location (being just on the edge of town, it has views overlooking both "sides" of the hill) and pretty grounds (the outside seating area for breakfast was especially pleasant). However, I was particularly disappointed by most of the staff. I give the staff credit for their excellent ability and willingness to speak English. I was also surprised by how well-staffed (i.e., number of personnel) the hotel was. However, the front desk staff were at best cold, somewhat unhelpful and seemingly eager to pick a fight. About halfway through the stay I had a dispute with the barman that soured the rest of the trip. He set some hor d'oeuvres in the lobby that seemed to be available to guests. However, when my wife ate one, he scolded her for eating without ordering drinks from the bar (despite our spending over 50 Euro at the bar the previous night). The next day he refused to provide me 2 wine glasses because the wine I wanted to consume out on the patio by the pool was not from the approved winery. He told me I would have to leave the premises or remain in my room (even though I'd still need the glasses to have a drink in the room). I must say the other barman who only works Sundays was wonderfully helpful and kind. Finally, the room was advertised as having free Wi-Fi but had none. To use Wi-Fi you must go to a specific room in a separate building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diana from Sydney.Australia

Great location, terrific staff and ambience.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: It's general location was perfect for day trips...very easy to get around. The hotel offered everything ..good food, great staff, terrific amenities
Cons: nothing...
Location: Very good spot for other towns...day trips were easy ...delightful towns nearby.
We were most impressed by the staff (Serena! on reception - fabulous).. they made great effort to make our stay perfect. The hotel is absolutely charming...lovely garden... beautiful terraces/pool, with the feel of old world with modern amenities. The restaurant was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ruet from Philadelphia, PA

relaxing hotel in Tuscany

Posted Oct 3, 2013
We stayed here for 3 nights in September during our honeymoon. We had beautiful weather so we spent a lot of time outside at the pool enjoying the view. We also really liked the charming small town of Radda which is right across the street from the hotel. The hotel restaurant was fantastic, probably our favorite of our entire trip. We had 2 great dinners there (I am still dreaming of their truffle ravioli) as well as the very substantial and enjoyable breakfast they provided each morning. The perfect weather we had definitely added to our experience because much of the charm of this hotel is the beautiful views from the restaurant and pool area. Our room was on the first floor facing the garden and was fairly small but comfortable enough. The bathroom was one of the larger ones we had during our trip. The shower had great water pressure and plenty of hot water. All of the staff we encountered were very helpful and eager to please. We would love to return one day and would certainly recommend it to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by BBD from palm springs

Posted Jul 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
big hotel service in tiny mountain town
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from London, UK

Great hotel, great location

Posted Jun 28, 2013
Pros: We liked that there were several different areas to sit and have a quiet drink both inside and out.
Cons: Nothing bad to say.
Location: Location was great for exploring The Chianti region.
As I said for a review on trip advisor... We stayed here for 6 nights and could not have been happier with our choice! Our room was spacious, clean and cool with good air con. The hotel is a nice size with plenty of different terraces and indoor seating areas. We had breakfast daily looking over Tuscan hills with plenty of food options to suit all tastes. We also had a good dinner in the restaurant. The hotel bar was well stocked and reasonably priced. The staff are very friendly and only too happy to help. Leaving a recipe card and wine information sheet in the rooms is a nice touch.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
I didn't feel like the hotel was a nice as I would expect from a 4 star. The place was cool and certainly had a nice pool area but overall I felt it was a little sub par for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dan from US

Amazing Views! Very spacious accommodations.

Posted Jun 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is the perfect getaway location in southern Tuscany. It is very romantic! The views are awesome and the rooms spacious. A bit more room in the shower would be nice but by European standards the overall bathroom was very large. The staff is friendly and accommodating and the food in the restaurant is excellent. This a great place to stay if you have a car and want to tour the hilltowns in Tuscany.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in small Tuscany town

Posted May 24, 2013
Pros: windows with shutters and adjustable room thermostat
Cons: 10 euros for wifi--really??
Location: Pleasant small town
Stayed 2 weekend nights in mid-May. Nice hotel, but I prefer more luxurious accommodations. Pretty grounds (not pool weather!) and a good location to walk to restaurants and a few shops (I prefer that to some of the isolated hotels seen while driving around). Breakfast was good, despite the odd maitre d' and the silent staff. Too bad it was too rainy and cold to sit outside--it's a pretty setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by MC from London

Beautiful property

Posted May 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Really lovely property with amazing views. Excellent breakfast with homemade baked goods. Only disappointment was the pool is open May-September only.