Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Lemont, IL

Awesome!

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels
Love this place. Stayed in the main Villa and couldn't be happier. Classy accomodations, great service, great food, delicious wine, great view, GOOD TIME!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jonathan Egan from Shanghai

A great couple's getaway

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels
All-round, this was a wonderful stay. We wanted a peaceful get-away after our busy wedding down in the south of Italy, and this facilitated that, chilling by the pool and reading our books on massive sun beds and sun loungers that were so comfy. This was the best part. Although I knew I was going to have to put my hands in my pockets I did think that the food here was over-priced for relatively simple dishes. In all my years travelling I have never seen a 5 star resort ask to pay extra for the eggs at breakfast!!! 5 euro for 2 boiled eggs, and 10 euro for an omelette!!! Seriously?!?!?! I could scarcely believe this, but in fairness the rest of the breakfast was excellent. The internet was a bit of a pain as in the mornings they shut it down to reset it and seeing as I had to do a small bit of work each morning this did escalate my stress levels. But would I go back here again? Yes I would.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by nicola from Napoli

Da ripetere

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels
Splendido, rilassante ed un personale di ottimo livello. Sicuramente ci torneremo
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Fiona from Taiwan

Beautiful place

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels
It's a beautiful place and friendly workers . They even help to provide lunch When We came late afternoon . Highly recommended !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bill

Fantastic!

Posted Oct 2, 2012 on Hotels
A perfect Tuscan getaway
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Paris

Le luxe dans tous ses états

Posted Nov 13, 2007
Magnifique Villa, très belles suites avec jaccuzi interne ou externe dans jardin privatif, la cuisine est superbe, le petit déjeuner excellent et de très bonne qualité
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton, FL

A little bit of heaven!

Posted Sep 30, 2007
After having booked from only an on-line review and photo, I was beyond pleasantly surprised to see this place exceeded all of my expectations. I described it as "South Beach meets Tuscany". A historic villa and winery with all the modern luxuries and technology. The staff, the spa, the decor, the grounds and the view of Florence... the glass of champagne as you check in. I would recommend it to all of my friends, exept that we may want to keep this our little secret!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Not impressed

Posted Sep 27, 2007
This hotel is nice but did not live up to our expectations in terms of service for a 4 star hotel. The staff were less than friendly or helpful. Our bed had broken prior to our stay and we were left to sleep on a very lopsided bed for the 1st night. Upon informing the hotel that it needed to be fixed we were asked to leave our room for 15 minutes so they could fix it (strangely it seemed as though they were alreday aware of the problem). We had to repeatedly ask about returning to our room and were not able to return for at least an hour and a half. Communication of a realsitic estimate of how long we had to leave our room for would have been appreciated (as we would have told them we were just going to shower and then leave for the day), an apology for the broken bed and very sore back it caused would have been appreciated and some form of refreshment (some water or coffee would have been nice while we were made to wait). When we asked for help with restaurants etc we were told someone would just print everything out for us- and hour later we had to make the request again. Enjoy the property but don't expect much in the way of friendly helpful service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Nick from London

Great Place - Sometimes Dodgy Service

Posted Aug 31, 2007
Mangiacane is a lovely place, a bit off the beaten track but easily close enough to Florence if you have a car. Stunning setting, nicely kitted out rooms, friendly & helpful staff, great pool. It needs more management though - drinks service around the pool was pitiful and generally room service orders took ages and were usually slightly wrong - but this sort of added to the ambience in a wierd way. Check-in staff great though, and in general hotel just needs a bit of staff training and only really lacks a decent bar to hang out in. I'd return for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Wonderful Retreat

Posted Jul 5, 2007
We chose this villa as a hub for Tuscany daytrips - that was a mistake given the beauty and serenity of the grounds. While checking out we found ourselves wishing we would've spent more time enjoying the villa itself instead of braving the wet weather (unseasonable for June) and getting lost in the Tuscan countryside (d#*n roundabouts!) The grounds/gardens are exquisite and roaming the vineyards to Machiavelli's house was nice. The views are great including Florence's duomo in the distance. Susie provides great massages and the restaurant's menu is excellent as is the food (Mangiacane wine is OK but there are numerous other chianti reserves that surpass them - reason enough to explore/get lost in the surrounding chianti region and indulge in some wine tasting). The staff was extremely accomodating and provided those touches that make a stay special (welcoming bottle of champagne, drawn bath covered in rose petals and more); touches that higher priced resorts elsewhere during our honeymoon (Capri and Venice) lacked. Villa Mangiacane really is a retreat and as such needs to be soaked up...relaxation is not descriptive enough. It's not just for honeymooners; everyone deserves to be spoiled like this once in a while! The only complaint was the lack of a dresser to house our several suitcases of clothes, but then again none of the hotels we stayed at in Italy provided a dresser.