Ratings based on 417 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

The staff makes the stay

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: Could use some updating
Location: Good location in a neighborhood where you get a feel for the lives of typical Chicago residents. Nearby restaurants, essential shopping.
I can't say enough about the staff: friendly, accessible, helpful, going above and beyond to assist you in having a great visit to Chicago. We relied on their restaurant recommendations and overall advice. When we went downtown we were encouraged to call the office if we had any questions about where to go or how to get there. We took them up on the offer and had directions texted to our phone within minutes. The shuttle is always available to take you to nearby places, but we didn't need it because walking to the "L", restaurants and a nearby Walgreen's felt safe and easy. If you want staff that treats you like family, stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Chapel Hill, NC

Good cheap hotel close to the Airport.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location!
Spartan, but very functional! In the middle of the city, like the Airport (Midway)!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Nice southwest Chicago hotel close to Orange Line

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Accommodations, location, cost, cleanliness, free and safe parking, shuttle to Orange Line, and especially the staff.
Cons: The bathroom sink was cracked and had a hole in the bowl.
Location: We picked that hotel because of cost and location to an Orange Line station, and it didn't disappoint.
All of the hotel staff that we encountered were extremely nice, especially the guy we called "Do-It-All" Steve who was excellent as shuttle driver, maintenance man and overall host. We're from Michigan, but if we ever need to stay in the vicinity again, we're staying there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel near airport

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff was pleasant. A security guard was walking at night.
Cons: The room condidtion.
Location: There was nothing to do and the clerk said do not walk anywhere.
The carpet was stained and dirty. The room a musty smell. The walls are very thin. It is in a high crime area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Suite spot of Chicago Midway hotels...

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Convenience of location and bonus features, plus excellent customer service.
Amazing hotel, affordable yet pleasantly well-appointed, free shuttle from/to airport, right beside the Pulaski Chicago Metra stop (which also goes to airport subway stop, next and last stop). Complimentary continental PLUS breakfast with breakfast sandwiches! Modern room decor. Service excellence from Victor at front desk and all the desk staff with my many concierge type requests. Outdoor cafe/patio sheltered area with heaters for breakfast in the cool mornings. This truly is in the sweet spot of price and features for hotels at Midway Airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Perfect Place

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: We liked everything about this hotel.
Location: The hotel is a block and a half from the train station. We found three good restaurants near the hotel. Target is close by too.
We had a great stay at the Carlton. The staff is so friendly and helpful. The location is also great. Close to the train and some good restaurants. We would definetly stay there again. Good breakfast, too.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2014
When I checked in late night, I was told by the hotel clerk that my reservation had been cancelled by Expedia for some reasons. And then she said she could get a room for me, so I felt relieved and checked in and stayed at this hotel. The next morning when I checked out, the hotel charged me a $10 higher than my original reservation. While I asked to change it back to the original, the hotel denied. Even it's only $10, I feel so bad as I was tricked by this hotel (or Expedia?). I was charged $160/night for a small old room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2014 by Gary, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, When making a reservation either through a hotel direct or a travel site (such as Expedia) a valid credit card is required to hold the room. Your reservation automatically cancelled day of arrival when your credit card declined. Upon arrival we were sold out of the room type you had reserved but had one room left- a smaller room which we were happy to accommodate you with. The person who checked you in did make you aware of the rate ($139 plus tax) which you even initialed. I am sorry that you felt you were tricked but you do need to use a valid credit card to guarantee a hotel room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Midway and metro

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Very positive experience with this hotel. It's close to Midway, has a shuttle, and is close to the orange line. I was very happy with this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel in chicago with very friendly staff

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Its staff. They have been always very kind with us. The train station and the free parking are very useful: you can forget your car.....
Cons: The structure is pretty basic, maybe a little refurbishment would improve customers' staying.
Location: The hotel is far from the city center, but still in the inner belt. The train is a great asset.
the hotel itself is quite outdated, but the hotel staff has been very kind with us. They helped us with our bicycles, the shuttle driver was very kind too. The hotel is located very close to the train station (5 minutes walk), and in 15 minutes you are at the Magnificient Mile. Far from rush hours, train personnel allows to bring on board the bicycle, so we really enjoied the combination of train bicycle to tour the windy city. Close to the hotel there some few restaurants, good if you're tired and you don't want to be far away from your room. Otherwise you can take the train and get off where ever you want. Rooms are clean, beds comfortable. It's worth for the price
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ajax, Ontario, Canada

Just Adequate

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Like previous reviews, this hotel is okay. Bathroom is clean, bedsheets are clean. We had issues with the remote for the tv - it only worked if you were right in front of the tv. Carpet was gross. I never walked on it with bare feet. Had a fridge and microwave which is nice. Wireless Internet was strong. A couple blocks from the "L" train station. Takes a half hour to get downtown. Close to airport, could hear planes over head a lot but was quiet at night to sleep. Overall it was good for the price, as I didn't want to pay an arm and a leg to stay downtown. Lots of restaurants nearby.