Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shelby from Omaha, NE

Such a great place to meet new people!

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Everyone was so friendly. Of course I appreciated the BYOB and pool table!
Cons: I think that adding a bar would be ideal!
Location: There are a ton of bars all around this Hotel within walking distance. There is so much to do just around this vecentity.
The Hotel staff were amazing and so friendly! I loved that they had activities every night to bring everyone together! I met some really awesome people from all over the world and made life long friends from this experience. I will definitely be staying at this Hotel every trip to Chicago I can get!
2 out of 5
by Will from Virginia

disappointing

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: price. very nice staff
Cons: a smoke-free policy
Location: we chose the location because of its proximity to DePaul University
It seemed to be quite noisy and was not smoke-free. An alarming number of young people. I felt like I was staying in a boarding school.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

best experience

Posted Mar 4, 2014
This place is absolutely amazing. room was good and checking in / out was no problem. the best part about staying here are the people and staff who are amazing. Definitely enjoyed the nightly events and made a lot of great new friends. will only stay here next time i am in Chicago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from st.louis

Nice hotel right in Lincoln park!

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Only a couple blocks away from all the restaurants and bars! Great location and great place overall!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Audrey from Chicago

Great stay

Posted Jan 21, 2014
The whole hostel in general was clean and the staff were helpful and friendly. They even have events organized at night for guests. Really enjoyed our 2 nights here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice night spent in Chicago

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: Cleaninness, Staff
I was planning to stay in a room for 2 persons and we had another friend that needed to stay, the hotel staff was very flexible and helpful to book us another room with 4 beds without any additional charge, room was very clean, toilets and showers were clean and I really enjoyed my stay, Location of Hostel is also great will definitely go there again if I have to stay in Chicago
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Erin from China

Getaway was the Highlight of a Travel Nightmare

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: Staff was super helpful and friendly; hostel guest were friendly and happy to chat, play pool, drink with me, etc. Simple but efficient room.
Cons: A few more options for breakfast (which is free, but doesn't offer much selection)
Location: Lots of great restaurants and bars within walking distance. "CrossRoads" is an awesome second-hand shop just down the road.
After numerous delays and cancellations due to weather, I was informed I would not be able to fly out of Chicago for 2 whole days. Very upset and low on money, I booked the easiest hostel I could find online, which happened to be Chicago Getaway. Check-in wasn't until 3pm, but when I arrived there, coming in out of the freezing cold at 1:30am after spending 3-hours at the airport for customer service, the Getaway staff member at the desk promptly checked me in and got me a bed for no additional cost. Spent a very nice 2-days there, meeting plenty of very interesting and kind folks from around the world, and even got to explore a bit of Chicago, despite the biting cold. Played pool late into the night over some beers and then rested my head in a cozy 8-person all-female room. Felt welcomed, comfortable, and safe. Should I ever go back to Chicago, I would stay at Getaway again, no questions asked. They turned my 2-day travel delay nightmare, into a pleasant experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gar from Chicago Getaway Hostel

Average Overnight Stay

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The price for the hostel was fantastic in a very quiet neighborhood. Too good to be true. Make sure you have a license that DOES NOT start in "60***" otherwise they will give you a difficult time staying overnight here. The only place I read this was the FAQ section of their website after I had already booked a room through Hotels.com. Nowhere on Hotels.com did it say this, which I think is a huge requirement to overlook. Staff was friendly and helpful. The only problem I had was that the blankets/sheets in my room were unacceptable. I know I should have brought along my own blankets and pillows to use, but I didn't think I would have to use paper thin blankets to try and keep warm all night. Overall, very mediocre stay without future improvements being made.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keely from Mi

Awesome, but bring flip flops!

Posted Jan 3, 2014
This place was a new experience for me, as I've never stayed at a hostel before. It was really awesome, and the staff were incredibly helpful. I actually didn't realize that it was a hostel until I got there, as I didn't read the name of the place correctly! But as my title states, bring flip flops! The showers are communal (like a freshman dorm), but they have nice dividers for privacy. Bring any toiletries you would use at home, because none of that is provided. But this place was excellent, to be sure! I would absolutely stay here again.