Ratings based on 501 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Beautiful hostel in great neighborhood. Loved the stylish lobby, the nice stuff and the kitchen (no throw-away dishes and cups...!!!). Will definitely come again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheapest place to stay in Chicago.

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Cost. Location.
Cons: More comfortable and less noise beds. Serve breakfast earlier than 7 am. A/C.
The place was convenient and a great price. The bed was not the most comfortable and its springs make a bunch of noise every time you roll over, which makes sharing a room with a handful of people less pleasant, but otherwise I liked the place, and I would probably return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philippines

Perfect location!

Posted Mar 29, 2015
This hostel is for me the best in the United States! I keep coming back here when I'm in Chicago. It is close to Lincoln Park, CTA bus 22, and a walkable red line Fullerton station. The staff were very helpful. The place is always clean. It's a party place with different nationalities. I would definitely recommend this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Booked a single private room with a double bed for a one-night stay in Chicago. We were close to Lincoln Hall and a lot of food. The staff was very helpful and friendly, the room was spartan but clean, and the (shared) bathrooms were also clean. The lobby was bright and had a lot of people hanging out, and they had a pool table, piano, and kitchen with fridges. Overall, there was a great spirit of everyone doing their part to keep it clean and social.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One big family from all over the world!

Posted Mar 4, 2015
This was my first time staying at a hostel. I didn't know what to think going in, know I'm glad I did. I had the best time staying here. Originally I was going to stay a couple days ended staying 6 days. I've stay at some of the hotels downtown, and had a much better experience at Chicago Getaway. The staff, well they were great, awesome etc. etc.! I would diffidently recommend Chicago Getaway to anybody headed to Chicago. I meet some life long friend during my stay. Hostels are very affordable, but Chicago Getaway goes much beyond that! They set the bar high.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Helpful staff, nice hostel. Hostel activities planned at least once per day and a lot of information available concerning fun things to do and see in the neighborhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Saint Paul, Minnesota

Amazing experience!

Posted Feb 24, 2015
We felt very welcome by the staff and the hospitality was just amazing! We will definitely be staying here every time we visit Chicago! The vibe throughout the entire place is awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2015
This place made my fiance a believer in hostels. He always swore he'd never want to stay in one. The rooms were cool and the price was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Troy, MI

Great Experience for an Affordable Rate

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness The breakfast The kitchen Staff
Cons: The heating system could be updated but the radiators do give it a nice throw back feeling. So I would recommend more blankets...we were a tad cold.
Location: this is basically a summer time walking distance from the Pier..and a great starbucks.
I stayed in a quad with 3 others including a 14 year old niece and My Mother. I was prepared for bad comments from the worst critic in the crew...My mother of course. She couldn't have been more pleased. She was particularly admiring of the clean feeling...it even smells clean. No complaints! And the kitchen staff is endearing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom b

Great place for the price!

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Bathrooms smelled a little. Everyone was nice and we were served breakfast every morning. Parking was expensive, but free parking was unavailable. I would definitely use this hostel again.