Ratings based on 421 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Nice and fancy hostel

Posted Dec 13, 2014
it is a very nice hostel. The staff was very helpful. it was really a good deal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2014 by Vincent Sassana, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay, and our staff was helpful. We hope to greet you again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Above average hostel

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: Good location and price was great for Chicago.
Cons: Sound proofing.
Location: Close to the L train (red line), restaurants on Clark Street, and Lincoln Park Zoo.
One of the nicer hostels I've stayed at in North America. Beautiful building. Enjoyed the planned activities. A little ways away from downtown, but walking distance to the train. My only complaint is the soundproofing isn't great. We had a separate room but I didn't sleep well with noise coming in from both outside and the hallway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2014 by Vincent Sassana, Hotel Management
Hey Michael, thanks for your recent review. It means a lot to us that you rank us with the top American hostels. Please come visit us again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bentonville, AR

Safe and Comfortable

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Walking distance from many stores, restaurants and bars. Many attractions close by and the hostel even offers discounts to many shows. Safe neighborhood and comfortable rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2014
The hotel room was small but thats what I was expecting and payed for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by Vincent Sassana, Hotel Management
Greetings! And thank you for leaving us a review. We have different rooms of various types and sizes. Please feel free to preview our full room listing next time you wish to stay with us! Thanks again for your feedback.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Louisville KY

Friendly & helpful staff

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Staff & the breakfast
Cons: Bathrooms were down a short and then a LONG hallway (had to cross over the stairwell landing) for both women's & men's.
Location: Location is great. You are close to both the Halsted & Clark street buses and the Fullerton Red Line stop. There are restaurants and neat shops.
Although hostelling is not our favorite way to travel (I do prefer my own bathroom), it is certainly one of the cheaper ways to travel. We decided to try out the Chicago Getaway Hostel, as it was one train stop south of my son's apartment (just off the Red line Fullerton stop) or a short bus ride on the Clark Street bus (stop is closer to the hostel). We didn't expect much and the long trips to the bathroom in the middle of the night weren't fun, but we were pleasantly surprised by the friendly and helpful staff at the hostel. The complimentary breakfast was great and offered waffles on one day and scrambled eggs the second day. They always had hot oatmeal, cereal, toast, bagels, fruit, coffee & tea with all the items needed to make a nice breakfast to start the day. There were activities every night (we didn't take advantage of these) and pool, foosball, computers, etc. If we were younger and didn't have our time away planned with our son, this would have been a fun place to stay, too. The beds weren't bad, but not as comfy as a hotel room. The room had the barest of necessities (bed, linens, pillows, desk, chair & lamp. I was glad that I brought my own alarm clock. The bathrooms were always clean, even though the building is old, and the showers were nice. At an average about $70 per night (for two people), this was a bargain in Chicago. I would stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by Vincent Sassana, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. Guest reviews are extremely important to us and we try to evaluate each and every one of them on a daily basis. Guest feedback is crucial to always improving our facility. I hope you come back and stay with us again in the future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ct

quick chicago weekend

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: i lived the liveliness of the lobby. hotel lobbies are usually too quiet .very quiet neighborhood
Cons: cleanliness of common areas for the most part. better shower stall cleaning for community bathrooms
Location: great location in chicago. just a couple blocks from the train. we stayed here because we were visiting SAIC and didn't want to pay so much.
room was clean. community bathrooms were pretty clean except for drains in shower stalls (reminded me of campground shower stalls). mattress was surprisingly comfy. common areas and hallways could have been cleaner. this was our first stay at a hostel so nothing to compare it to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by Vincent Sassana, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our property. We value guest feedback as we are always trying to improve our facility. I hope you come back and have an even better Chicago experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Burlington, NC

Nice hostel, nice neighborhood, pleasant staff

Posted Oct 28, 2014
1. Nice facility, clean and pleasant, comfortable beds, adequate bath/shower area. 2. Great staff! Nice to work with, helpful, and friendly. 3. A fun place, but not crazy loud.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2014 by Vincent Sassana, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your recent review of our property. We appreciate the kind words, and guest feedback is very important to us. Hope to greet you the next time you come to Chicago!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom italia

Un posto orrendo!!!

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Arrivata molto tardi alla sera ho trovato alla reception la persona più maleducata che ho mai visto!!! La camera orribile e i letti disposti molto male senza nessun tipo di privacy !!! Non ci sono luci vicino a i letti e quindi solo per trovare il letto nel buoi totale è stato a dir poco difficile. Ok parliamo di un ostello , ma un puo di privasy ci va. Per me è stata un esperienza nuova , mai stata in un ostello è mai più ci tornerò. Questo ostello in particolare è orrendo! Il bagno che era in camera era molto sporco, le mura delle stanze scrostati e sporche. La camera si trovava nel sotterraneo e c'era un odore terribile di fogna. Insetti di ogni tipo in stanza e nei spazi comuni, topi fuori dal ostello. Pulizia insufficiente !!! La colazione povera anzi non c'era nulla a parte pane e burro, marmellata, ceriali e caffè stop!!!! Uno schifo unico con tanto di stoviglie sporche! Ogni sera nonostante si è vietato c'erano diversi persone che bevevano superalcolici nei spazi comuni! Un esperienza x me orribile , mai più! Su questo ostello non posso che dire solo cose brutte ma vere , nulla di positivo. E si trova anche distante dal centro!!!! Non posso consigliare a nessuno un posto così! Mai più un ostello x me , mai piu!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2014 by Vincent Sassana, Hotel Management
Grazie per la tua opinione della nostra struttura. Lavoriamo molto duramente per fornire un ambiente pulito, sicuro e confortevole per i nostri ospiti. Mi dispiace molto di aver trovato così tanti aspetti negativi per quanto riguarda la nostra proprietà. Voglio solo farvi sapere, che tutti i feedback ospite è molto importante per noi, e che la vostra risposta è apprezzato.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ireland

good location near CTA metro

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: excellent staff. good location
Cons: no
Location: excellent location. hired one of the hostels bike and cycled the nearby coastal path. excellent
good breakfast at reasonable time. v helpful staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2014 by Vincent Sassana, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of our property, Patrick. We sincerely hope to accommodate you again in the future for an even better Chicago experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

リピートありです。

Posted Oct 2, 2014
クチコミがいいので利用しました。施設はキレイです。スタッフも親切です。 コスパはとてもいいと思います。
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2014 by Vincent Sassana, Hotel Management
私たちのホステルを検討していただきありがとうございます。私たちは、あなたが私たちとの良好な滞在を持っていたことを読んさせていただきます。私たちは再びあなたがシカゴに来て次回あなたをホストするために願っています!