Ratings based on 883 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Beloit WI

Nice hotel.

Posted Mar 27, 2015
I was very comfortable. The bed was soft and the area was quiet?
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom D

Worst hotel ever.

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Good location but the hotel is terrible. Under renovation, they didn't have front desk (literally just a desk), there was a hole in the ceiling of the room. Nothing like the pictures.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Woodstock, IL

Exterior condition- scary!

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Almost didn't stay. Pulled into the parking lot and was shocked at the appearance. They are apparently renovating, but looks like they should just demolish instead. Our room had been renovated nicely and was impeccable, but that was the only saving grace. Old furniture and mattresses piled in the parking garage, elevator was downright scary!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom S

Could not leave fast enough

Posted Feb 10, 2015
The room was clean but in disrepair. The water barely had any pressure. The desk chair broke and the tv had very few channels. The wifi didn't work. The rest of the hotel was under construction so that took away the lake view rooms and the fitness center
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Basic accommodations in the heart of Hyde Park

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: It's clean and comfortable.
Cons: The beds have the general consistency of granite. I've rarely slept on a firmer bed in my life.
Location: Hyde Park is right there and full of everything.
I arrived at the tail end of a major snowstorm and the hotel was under renovation. Given these circumstances, the check in process and stay were acceptable. The room was warm and clean. I will warn others about the shuttle. They don't have a backup driver. I was handed a document telling me to call 30 minutes ahead. I did and was informed that the driver had called in sick and I'd have to take a taxi - at my own expense. Not good customer service when they'd handed me information about the shuttle and schedule when I checked it. I am disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom (Indiana) the hotel is in Chgo

I would book it again if needed.

Posted Jan 16, 2015
We needed to spend the night close to the U of I hospital for a very early apt. the next AM It Suited our need. The room was pleasant and VERY clean. The bed was comfortable, the staff was professional and very nice. The rate was reasonable. We have no complaints.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Richardfrom Fl

Average

Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels.com
The room was faurly clean. Just an average hotel. Nothing more, nothing less
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Downtown

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Hotel staff, Free breakfast with the price paid, Hotel does not look good, elevator was not working.
Only good thing about the hotel was it was close to downtown and they had free shuttle. Beside that I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Did not get the service for what I paid for.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Markfrom Dallas

a 1 star 1910 motel

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
This is a 2 star or 1 star "hotel" It was a real dump. Very very small room. archaic fixtures and furnishings. didn't look or seem clean and did not get cleaning service on the day we asked for it. Ran out of toilet paper. Even the kleenex was low quality. Water pressure in the shower was low. Bed and pillows were sufficiently comfortable I guess. I don't know how the "hotel" could legally exist because it no handicapped person would ever be able to stay here. I am not handicapped, but I do notice when buildings are not up to code. This place was probably a roadside motel in the 1900's and has not been updated since. If you are a one star motel, don't represent yourself as a three star Hotel please. It's very deceiving.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels.com