Ratings based on 1,879 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Hotel close to all amenities in Chicago

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The view from our upgrade suite was fantastic. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Swimming pool and workout room are very nice. Safe location.
Cons: This is an older hotel that needs updates. Rooms advertised as double beds beware. Bathrooms are tiny.
Location: Across from Grant Park. Millenium Park is close by. Segway rentals one block down. Boat cruises are within walking distances.
This was our first visit to Chicago and the Essex Inn. We booked a room with two double beds. The beds were so small my feet hung over the end of the bed and I'm only 5'10". These beds are not double beds as advertised! The room was small for our family of four. The sink in the bathroom is about the size of a large soup bowl and didn't drain. The bathtub shower didn't drain. Our phone did not work. We complained about the room and were offered a King bed suite with pullout sofa for a discounted upgrade($200US for 4 nights). The suit was much larger but the bathroom was so small you had to back into it and sit on the toilet to close the door. The heating/cooling system is archaic - its either cold or hot nothing in between. Called to have towels and cups replaced but no one ever showed up so we had to go to front desk to pick things up ourselves. Apart from the hiccups with the hotel we had a fantastic time in Chicago! What a great city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from detroit

Great location

Posted Aug 18, 2014
This hotel has a great price for the ubication, clean and beautiful inside, don't be scary about the exterior. The only bad thing is the parking is sooooo expensive but you could find cheaper parking lots around
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Paul MN

Posted Aug 18, 2014
The best part of this hotel is its location--we walked everywhere and it is on or near bus and train lines. The room was very dark, even the bathroom, which I found oppressive. They needed a towel bar near the sink and a grab bar near the toilet (there was absolutely nothing to hang onto getting up, and I am guessing many baby-boomers with joint problems need that). The WiFi is very slow and the business center in the lobby charges at a fifteen minute rate, so that even checking in for your flight and printing out boarding passes will cost you. That said, I would go here again, if only for the location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location near parks

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location is great.
The hotel was OK but it was just too noisy for me to sleep. Walls are thin, windows are thin and the L could be heard easily. It was also difficult to maintain a comfortable temperature in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern Illinois

Great location and Rico

Posted Aug 16, 2014
The Essex Inn is in a great location. An easy walk to the Museum campus. We took the shuttle when we could to save our feet. We had views of Lake Michigan which was a nice treat. Rico, the gentlemen at the front desk, enhanced our visit tremendously. He was helpful, kind, full of useful information and it was all delivered with a smile. Yeah Rico!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The room was a little small but, not too bad. We had 2 adults and 2 children in a standard room with 2 double beds. Summertime in Chicago is best spent outside, not in a room. When comparing prices this is definitely a great deal. Then throw in the pool and free wifi. If you are looking for luxury, look elsewhere. If you are looking for a hotel in a great location, with great amenities, at a good price, and Lots of friendly service. This one is worth taking a look at.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Excellent location, good value for the money.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location! Shuttle service Helpful, friendly staff
Cons: Larger bathrooms and hot coffee in the lobby would be a nice amenity.
Location: On Magnificent Mile, Museum Campus nearby, Grant Park, Buckingham Fountain, Bike and Roll the lakefront, lots of shopping on State Street!
My family of four stayed in a regular room for four nights in August. The location was fabulous. You can literally walk to any destination along the Mag Mile or in the loop in within (at most) 2 miles. The walk to/from the Museum Campus was beautiful and easy. This hotel offers a shuttle service to the campus, Navy Pier, John Hancock Center, etc. We took advantage of this service 3 times in our stay. It was a really nice benefit since we flew in and were relying on public transport and our feet for getting around. The room is decently appointed, but be aware that the bathroom is small. There is a great pool, well-appointed gym, and a great lounging deck on the 4th floor. Other hotel amenities we are used to were missing at this location (hot coffee in the lobby, newspapers, breakfast offerings, etc) - but for the price in this location we were willing to forgo those items. The hotel staff was kind and helpful at every turn. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it. BTW - have breakfast 1.5 blocks south at Yolk. Very good food and fun atmosphere!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from madison wi

Great staff great location

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Hotel was very clean and comfortable. Location was perfect. Walking distance to Shedd and Mellenium park. Hotel bellmen were excellent and very professional.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London Ontario

Chicago Essex

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Good location if want to be near aquarium and planetarium. Pool good for the kids but quite hot in the room. Rooms are quite tiny. The sink is like a travel trailer size, far too small and slow to drain. Shuttle wasn't running and no compensation offered for not having this service available and we were hoping to use it partially why we booked with this hotel so a big disappointment. Beds were comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Good for Lollapalooza, but...

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: No wristband policy, cheaper parking
Location: Lollapalooza in Grant Park
I stayed in this hotel for the great pricing deal I found during Lollapalooza. Watch out though, as they installed a crazy (and ridiculous in my opinion) wristband policy to make sure only hotel guests could go to the rooms, so my friends couldn't even visit. If you lost your wristband, it was $40 to replace. This was kind of a frustrating system (and was definitely beatable), so I'm not sure why they even had it in the first place. Outlets in the room were rough. I think 4 of them didn't work, out of around 8. If you've ever been to Lolla, you know an outlet is your best friend when you get back to the hotel. This was very frustrating. Hotel staff definitely gave advantages to females, including giving them extra wristbands for free. I befriended some other guests in the hotel which is how I found out about this. They weren't the nicest to me when I checked in, but the cleaning staff was very friendly and nice. Room was clean, but small as expected (Chicago). Two double beds; not a big deal for me, but don't expect queen size for a standard room to fit 4. Good location for Lollapalooza. Very expensive parking; I would recommend spending $25/night in the garage down the street than stay in the hotel for $52/night. Overall satisfied with the hotel, but I'd probably only use it as a last resort when I go back to Lolla again. Price was right- this is the only way I'd recommend it to a friend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Good place with great location. Stayed there for Lollapalooza weekend and was awesome to be so close to Grant Park. The staff was also very friendly!