Ratings based on 2,216 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom OFALLON ILLINOIS

If a picture is worth 1000 words....yikes

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: it was close to attractions several attractions
Cons: It left a lot to be desired, and we are not by any means " fancy people". One would expect their money's worth at the very least however.
Location: The aquarium and Field Museum are not far from here.
We were very disappointed in our stay. The "roof top"( on an overhang on the fourth floor, the building has 15 floors) pool that was all hours and had a life guard, closed at 9 pm and there was no life guard. The "rooftop"garden( although it was cold ) was not well kept. The $25 parking was down the street and they wanted $60 nightly to have your car parked in their garage. They wanted $15 for french toast. The beds were small and hard. The room was not nearly as expansive as the photos let on. it was a tight fit fir my husband , myself and our nearly 2 year old. The staff was not very helpful except for the gentleman who checked us in. Overall out of 5 stars I would give this hotel experience one, and that is only because I did not have to sleep in my car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel is in a good place.

Posted Mar 1, 2015
It is so convenience so you can walk to the main attraction in the downtown and the museums, and it is easy to take buses to other places. I think I will come here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Decatur, IL

Outrageous Parking Fee

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: It was nice to have the experience of being in downtown Chicago.
Cons: Drop the parking fee. Or at minimum, cite it clearly before people book with you on a non-refundable site.
Location: It's close to museums and soldier field
What we didn't realize until after we got there was that we would have to pay an additional fee to park our car at the hotel. To add insult to injury, it was 2 to 3 times the cost to park anywhere else! It was a $60 fee and we were there only about 14 hours for our stay. The rooms are small, but it is an older hotel. It was nice to have the experience of being in downtown Chicago.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

DON'T STAY HERE

Posted Feb 28, 2015
The shower did not drain. The front desk did explain how or where any of the hotel facilities where. The bathroom had stain on the ceiling. A smoke detector went off on our floor no one came to explain why and what happen. I went to front desk to ask for more coffee for my room and heard the clerk complaining about other guest. It was awful the worst part of our trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grand Rapids, MI

Great location

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Good location, right on Michigan avenue by Grant Park. When we checked in we were told people have been calling the rooms as the front desk saying their credit card didn't go through and asking for the cars number on the phone. This seemed very sketchy but we appreciated the heads up since about an hour after checking in someone did call the room. Room was dated. The shower and toilet were rusty. The heater was very dirty and dusty. The walls of the hotel are very thin. However it worked out for our weekend trip to Chicago!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Friendly helpful staff Quick service Clean comfortable rooms Look forward to staying again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't waste ur time

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Small not comfortable should be a 1 or 2 star hotel no where near a 4 star
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel for a small price to pay

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Overall it was decent for the price. The hotel is very old. If you are just staying for a couple of days, this will work but not for long term stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Cons: pool needed cleaning, there was a lot of hair and what looked like fibers floating in the water. Hot tub would have been preferred over the sauna.
overall nice experience. Parking seemed high for a guest of the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Saint Louis, MO

It wasn't horrible.

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Our first night down there we couldn't get into the hotel to check in bc the hotel parking entrance was blocked. A camera crew was shooting until 11pm that night. The hotel suggested we park two blocks away, pay for parking and walk our two small children and all our luggage the two blocks (in -7 degree weather). They ended up letting us into the garage bc we said we were going to park in a bus stop and unload our luggage right there. Not one person working in the hotel was friendly, not one single person!!! After five minutes of unpacking we got a phone call from the front desk saying they needed our card again bc something didn't go through. Instead of giving the number over the phone i walked back down to the front desk. They said it was not them but it was a scam to get my credit card number. They went on to discuss that this has happened multiple times that evening. I personally think that information should be shared with the hotel guests as they check in!!! Especially if it had happened multiple times that night! The indoor pool was freezing. We stayed in a double full sized bed room. It was very tight even for two adults and two small kids. Any question we asked the front desk we got a look of annoyance and inconvenience and had to wait in a long line any time we needed to go to the front desk. The in hotel restaurant was very expensive. And it overall was just a clean shell that we slept in, nothing else. Also the hotel charged $54 a night for parking.