Ratings based on 674 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Great place to stay while we were in Chicago!

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: It was quiet and I liked that staff kept front door locked to keep patrons safe but let us in immediately no matter how late at night.
Location: Lots of cool souvenir shops around the corner, and the mall across the street has delicious restaurants, a beauty salon, a T-Mobile store.
This is NOT Grand Hyatt, but if you want a hotel that is clean, staff is very friendly, it's very quiet at night, and you feel safe, this is very decent hotel. Yes, it is older and rooms are small, but if you are looking for CHEAP and to feel safe, this is very good deal. Again, you are not paying for luxury but place to lay your head and feel safe. The staff was always friendly and answered all our requests promptly. One staff member even helped me w/my iPhone settings that I didn't understand. WiFi also works perfect here. Rooms would probably be too small if with children, but just 2 people it was perfect. I love all the stores and people of Chinatown..so friendly and cool stuff at cheap prices. There are some great restaurants close by as well, esp. at the mall across the street from main entrance to Chinatown. Nothing like yummy Chinese food after a great concert at 3 am!! As long as I'm not traveling w/family, I would stay there again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

You get what you pay for

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: The hotel is very close to the "L", which makes access to downtown easy.
Cons: The staff could be a little more accommodating. They didn't seem very willing to provide guests information about the area.
Location: Food everywhere but communication makes it hard to know what you're really getting and paying for. Tourist shops and Chinese markets.
Rooms are not big or fancy and the bathroom is little and could have been nicer. The room was what's to be expected for the price you pay, not lavish but it serves its purpose.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Small and cheap hotel close to downtown

Posted Jun 17, 2015
The room was relatively clean but VERY small for 2 people. When we asked them not to clean our room they almost refused to give us clean towels. No coffee maker, no ice machine, a community fridge in the lounge to share with other guests. Bring your own toiletries, cooler, and blow dryer. Do not expect to depend on them for anything. Hot water for the shower came in and out, more often cold then not. We basically paid for a bed to sleep in, and a lock on our room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conveniente y cerca de todo

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Las habitaciones son pequeñas, el aire acondicionado no funcionaba, las regaderas ultra reducidas. Pero en general el precio y la ubicación volvería sabiendo que esperar
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, Indiana

Comfort

Posted Jun 8, 2015
I can get over the smallness of the room cause it's just a place to shower and lay your head,but the queen bed was rock hard,the pillows not big enough or fluffy.I recommend if you don't like stairs that this isn't the place for you,I know that its an older building but no elevator. There was no discounted parking, if you are a hotel guest there you should have either free or discounted parking, I was there for two days and spent $45 on just parking
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap, dirty, convenient.

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Cheapest hotel around, dirty, and everything is broken. Wifi, shower, toilet, all barely functioning. Similar to the upkeep of a youth hostel and priced the same. I've stayed there three times. Incredibly convenient to the convention center, with the 21 bus and the red line seconds away. Know what to expect. I think my lousy rating is accurate, but I also stand by saying that I would reccomend to a friend, so long as they understood the situation. It's safe and ugly. Cheap and convenient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2015
Poor service and dirty floor dirty air conditioner dirty towels with hairs on it , no elevator very small rooms hotel management seems out of date . Good location to good foods , though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2015
It's so so so experience Not fragrant at all Stairways is too narrow No elevator & very difficult to take luggage to your room at 2nd or 3rd floor If you're a smoker then it's hell for you because you must go out side the premises of hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No-frills budget hotel

Posted May 4, 2015
We needed a place to stay that was close to Reggie's Rock Club, where we were attending a music festival. The Chinatown Hotel is definitely a barebones, no-frills kind of place, but you know what? It was clean, our bed was comfortable, the location was just right for us, price was fair for the accommodations, and it fit our needs perfectly. Would I stay there again if I needed a place to stay after a gig at Reggie's? Absolutely.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Decent hotel that meets basic needs

Posted Apr 28, 2015
The room was small, the air conditioner in our room wasn't working, but I'm sure we could have gotten help with it if we needed it. The room met all our basic needs and it was close to all sorts of bakeries and restaurants. It's no 5 star hotel, but we enjoyed our stay.