Ratings based on 5,311 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Good location close to everything

Posted Aug 24, 2014
They advertise free wireless internet and fee wired internet, but just when check in you real use that the wireless is just for one device at time and the connection is terrible. The high speed wired internet didn't work. One of the days they didn't clean our room , they just make the beds, didn't take out the trash or replace towels.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from QC, Canada

Great location, avoid the Buckingham wing!

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Booked a smaller room with queen size bed. Got a room in Buckingham wing which is old, tiny, not renovated or well taken care of. Rest of the hotel seemed cleaned and looked like the pictures. Staff was great and room clean considering the situation. Would not recommend my room as was not worth the price! But great location thus would recommend the hotel if you book a big room!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany

Dirty and unpleasant

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything: management, building condition, cleanliness, friendliness, food availability
Hotel is old and not well maintained. Worst of all was the mold all around the bathtub. After complaining and showing the picture of the bath tub at the front desk I was given another room. Check-in and check-out were OK but front desk personnel was not particularly friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

The hotel was very good loved the view of the lake

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Our stay was wonderful I appreciated the pleasant experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Peoria, IL

Not so Grand.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: The staff was very good. We had great help with the Valet and the recommendations for eateries.
Cons: Time for some updating. Our wallpaper was old. The sheet tile in the bathrooms was very baby blue and out dated. And the curtains were just funny.
Location: Location was great. Right across from Buckingham Fountain! So pretty! And plenty to eat near by.
Overall, my experience was not bad...just not as clean as I would wish it to be for the price. The hotel is lovely but definitely dated, especially the rooms. The Grand may want to do some updating on the carpets, painting, bathrooms in the rooms, and the plastic curtains.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Excellent location with average amenity.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: It's due for a major renovation.
Location: Walking distance to Lake Michigan, And almost all other downtown area south of the river.
We have a good experience with out stay there. Will return in the future when visiting Chicago again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Baseball Road Trip

Posted Aug 22, 2014
The hotel was in a great location. Right in the middle between US Cellular Field and Wrigley. Less than $20 can ride to either or a 4 min walk to the subway station ($2.25). I read a lot of reviews about the hotel needing upgrades but I didn't understand until I got there. All the major things are great, but it's the small details that they are missing. It didn't really affect my trip though. I'd totally stay there again!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dearborn heights .MI

Rooms are very old and the smell of the paint bad

Posted Aug 22, 2014
It is the ugliest hotel ever , bad service for 2 night didn't clean the room and the gave a room in a section they are painting it and the smell was bad............................................................ Never again. ()()()()()()()()(()()()()()()()()()()())(
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jackson,Michigan

The parks in front were nice.

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The lobby staff very helpful and courteous.
Cons: Room decor could be improved, at least in our room.
Location: Other than the nearby museums and Shedds Aquarium, nothing.
No hot water, rm s.359 felt like were in abandoned section of hotel. Never saw or heard anyone in the area of our room. Room decor very drab. No swimming pool for the kids. Limited dining outside of hotel within walking distance, only sandwich shops available. Vending machines very expensive. The bellhop who delivered our luggage said he had never been to the area of our room, was a long time employee. My family was frightened to be so isolated in our section of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2014
It was a lovely location and a wonderful suite. The finishes were very old and the doors did not seem very secure. Although I did not have a chance to experience it, I bet the views were spectacular.