Ratings based on 5,237 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elizabethtown, PA

Hotel across from Grant Park

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: location to Grant Park, location to Soldier Field, location to Magnificent Mile.
Cons: My choice for early check in vs paying for guaranteed late arrival. The hotel was booked solid all 800 rooms.
Location: Grant & Millennium parks, Soldier Field, Field Museum, Magnificent Mile, Shaw's Crab house, and lots to do at Navy Pier incl stained glass museum.
Room was clean, staff was friendly, and helpful with transportation tips. Front desk staff actually printed bus 29 directions for the Navy Pier. Valet staff made recommendations for getting to Shaw's Crab house.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Not bad for where it sits. An in either direction you are close to many activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington , D.C.

Right in the heart of Michigan Avenue in Chicago .

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: It has a FLOOR 13 !!!!! Usually most tall buildings go from Floor 12 to Floor 14 , without any Floor 13 !!!!!
Cons: Fine hotel
Location: Very close to the Elevated trains in Chicago .
A grand old hotel !!!! Very close to sightseeing in the center of Chicago !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

A little cold inside

Posted Aug 16, 2014
The air-conditioner is really good at cooling, but the room can be cold sometimes. I arrived there on a rainy day, feeling a little chilly outside. But when I got into my room, it's even colder. The air-conditioner couldn't help me with getting warmer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Could have been better. Lousy tv reception, pay parking, pay internet, no view, and a hard bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, hotel needs work

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Very happy with location and hotel staff - hotel itself needs work. My room had drainage problems that couldn't be fixed within my 3-day stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Cons: Dingy and smelly hotel. I would not recommend the Congress.
Smelly and drab hotel which does not look like it is has been updated in years. There are numerous hotels in Chicago which are much more current and pleasant than the Congress.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

hoel is close to all the tourist spots

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: close walking distance to the Art instititue and theartres
Cons: Better Wi Fi service in the room
Location: The Grant park across the street, free concerts at the Millennium park , etc etc
Had trouble accessing wifi from the room .every 234 hours one has to renew it but it goes off long before.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location on Michigan ave.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Got room facing Michigan ave and big fountain near lake. Spectacular views. Mostly bcoz I stayed on weekday. The room location made most of the difference in my review. If weekend, I may not be that lucky. FYI.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from quebec

Nice trip in Chicago

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Mysterious and history. Good location.
Cons: Rooms need renovations, but it's ok
Location: Very good location. Close to millenium park, easy to go to magnificient mile, river, lake...
Spend 4 days, was great vacations. Very nice city, happy to have visit it, will return.