Ratings based on 7,816 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Affordable surprise in Chicago

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Room almost European. Staff very friendly
Location: Location close to everything.
Chose this hotel on the basis of price. How nice to find a hotel convenient to all of downtown chicago. The room was clean and spacious. Yes, the furniture had seen better days but furniture was not the reason I was visiting Chicago. very friendly and helpful staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Very dated and rundown. I was placed in a section at the far end of the hotel, so I am not sure if this is representative of the entire facility.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: The location of the hotel was fantastic for my family and I. We were close to the shopping, eating and Museum and Aquarium. Great location.
We were very happy with the location of this hotel. It was across the street from Grant park and within walking distance from the Magnificent Mile, many restaurants and the museums and aquarium. The hotel is very old. It was built in the late 1800's and the rooms reflect this. The architechture if very interesting, but the rooms need to be updated in my opinion. Hallways are old and dark and have many doors leading to corridors. It was spooky and a bit creepy, but thankfully, there is no need to spend much time in your room while in Chicago. I would have stayed there again in the future, if visiting, if it weren't for the giant cockroach we saw when leaving right by our room that darted into our neighbors room when it felt us pass by.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Carpet, furniture and decor is old. Tub did not drain well, but got fixed on day 2. Elevator did not work 1 day. Bathroom door knob locked up and we had to work to get it loose.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waukesha, WI

Room was not very clean

Posted Jun 29, 2015
The room smelled like sweat and was not exactly clean. Very old building, elevators sounded like they were breaking. Vending machine ate $2, but the hotel staff did refund the money. Only nice part of the room was bathroom, though the toilet lid did not fit properly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Jun 29, 2015
The room wasnt clean at all and smells humidity really bad, there's no hand towells and carpet really old ,definitely next time I'm going to look another one
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Nice historic hotel lalalalalalalalalalalalalalalalalalalalalalalalalalalalalala
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san Francisco

not the best Place

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: location is great
Cons: needs to be updated
this hotel needs to be re model, the elevator and the carper is very old
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elgin, IL

Beautiful hotel, close to many local attractions,

Posted Jun 28, 2015
I was not impressed though with the restaurants within the hotel. Service was extremely poor, food mediocre. Not many choices on either menu. After both meals I felt like I should have gone to the nearest McDonalds instead. This surprised me because the hotel staff itself was so efficient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Hotel needs updating. Rooms aren't awful but service is not great and restaurant is like cafeteria food. No late room service and no delivery options if your flight comes in late