Ratings based on 5,383 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great view!

Posted Sep 14, 2014
We were only there one night but it was a lovely experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ashland Oregon

Very old and tired hotel.

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: The room was clean, but it reeked terribly of what I assume was a very sweetly odorized insecticide.
Cons: Major rennovations.
Peeling wallpaper, cracked molding, no in-room temperature control, painted over rusted pipes. It's an old hotel that badly needs upgrading. I wouldn't book there unless it's absolutely necessary, which it was in my case this time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lombard, IL

Love Old - But Not This One

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Cons: Remodel those bathrooms and keep them clean. Train the staff in hospitality - I like to feel welcomed to an establishment!
We enjoy older hotels with "character," but this stay was very disappointing. Hotel staff was indifferent at best. Room was fair, but the bathroom was GROSS. No fan, awful lighting, and the gross tub had mold in the caulking and the bottom of the tub was "stained" dirty. Location was really nice, but the city noises were super loud!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Badly outdated

Posted Sep 10, 2014
I kept thinking of Captain Obvious throughout this stay. Though the lobby and most of the main floor were fine, and the staff were uniformly friendly and helpful, the condition of the room was the worst I have ever experienced. The rug was dingy, the draperies were tattered, all of the furniture was scraped and dinged, the AC barely cooled the room, the hallway was dark and dank. We were greeted exiting the elevator on our floor by a room directory that had stained the wall with rust-colored oozings. It seemed that there had been no updates or repairs in decades. The location near Soldier Field was convenient for our visit, and our view of Grant Park was pleasant, but it was painfully obvious why this was one of the least-expensive hotels available in or near The Loop. I would never choose this hotel again, in spite of the location and the very helpful staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very dated

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: bed was comfy
Cons: needs a full-size renovation smoking in the lounge which is open to the lobby should not be allowed
Location: location is great - right across Buckingham Fountain - walking 30 mins to Hancock Tower and 20 mins to Willis Tower
the hotel is very dated - this says it all - the last renovation must have been decades ago - another full-size renovation would be appropriate
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel room and corridors look old

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The reception lobby
Hotel room and corridors look old need painting. Elevator is old and door sometimes doesnt close. I understand they try to keep a "vintage" or "classic" look. But they should at least paint and repair the walls in the corridors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Whole hotel needs updated, stinks
Location: Everything downtown is within walking distance
Outdated and stinks like others have mentioned, BUT great price and location are worth it. If you are not going to spend much time there stay here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Check in pleasant and fast BUT

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Close to event
Cons: Cleaning!
Location: Lots to do!
Peeling wall paper, baseboard in room hadn't been wash or vacuumed in years. Bathroom clean. Just felt dirty.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Downtown, old hotel, rooms not great

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Staying downtown Chicago, wasn't in the room long so I didn't really care that the rooms weren't updated. The first room we were in smelled strongly of mold/mildew and got our room switched with no problem. Staff was nice, lobby was nice, just the rooms are terribly old.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Good location, old but clean.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Location and character.
Cons: More guest-friendly policies.
Location: Across from Grant Park. 15-minute walk to Willis tower. Good restaurants nearby.
Other reviews sum things up accurately. Hotel is old but clean. Location is excellent but you can hear the train and street noise, if that is a concern. Staff was friendly and helpful, but there is a fee associated with almost everything and there was no flexibility with hotel policies. We got yelled at for using a luggage cart, as they are only for the bell staff. So you hand carry your luggage upstairs or you tip a bellman to do it. Parking is overpriced...it is a third-party garage that contracts with the hotel because it is next door. Self-parking is a misnomer: the lot keeps your keys and you need to request your car, so coming and going is not easy and sometimes time consuming if you plan to drive. I did not trust the staff to park my car so I found alternative parking elsewhere. The red and brown lines are a short walk, so if you plan to stay in the city use the train you won't need your car anyway.