Ratings based on 262 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Clean, nicely decorated. Convenient to our hockey arena.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2015 by esimon, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We truly appreciate your business and time.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom crown point , in

Noisy

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Room walls are so thin that you can hear others speaking in the room next door. Not audible but they weren't screaming, that's scary. You can hear in the hallway people as if they were right in your room, my wife and I looked at each other and said I guess we should be whispering....
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by esimon@cpglenellyn.com, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for giving us your feedback regarding your stay with us. I will personally look into the soundproofing of the rooms here. We truly appreciate your business and hope you have a great weekend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Good stay. Good hotel. The hotel is good this review process is annoying. Trying to give the hotel a good rating but hampered by an arduous review process. Hopefully this is enough feedback to actually submit my review.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by eric simon, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. I am sorry the expedia process took so long. On behalf of the entire staff we want to wish you a very happy Valentines day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Surprise Trip

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Everything: Location, it was clean, great staff, comfortable bed, quiet & nicely priced.
Cons: I would recommend offering tea to go - not just coffee. At the counter by the door in the morning.
It was enjoyable to come back to the calmness of our room. After an evening of excitement for my Aunt's 75 surprise party.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2015 by Eric Simon, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and that the Birthday party went well! I hope there are many more to come!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Family Trip to Chicago

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
Our family of 4 traveled to Chicago to visit relatives, and we stayed at the Crown Plaza in Lombard/Downers Grove area. When making the reservation on hotels.com, we booked our room with breakfast included, which incurred an additional fee. Upon arrival, the clerk informed me that we only get 2 breakfast vouchers per night stayed in the hotel, so we could either use all 4 vouchers for breakfast one morning or use 2 vouchers each morning of our stay and pay for 2 breakfasts for our kids. My husband and I informed the clerk that this was not stated on the hotels.com website when we booked the hotel, and we would not have payed for breakfast if we had known it would only cover 2 of the 4 members of our family. The clerk did provide us with additional vouchers for breakfast based on this information. Additionally, the room information listed on the hotels.com website is incorrect. We booked our room thinking that we would have 2 queens and a sofa bed. However, the clerk informed us that the website was incorrect and none of the rooms at the Crown Plaza have a sofa bed. We likely would have booked somewhere else if that was the case. My children are getting to the ages where they don't want to share a bed, so we try to accomodate that when making hotel reservations. On a more positive note, our kids really enjoyed the pool at the Crown Plaza. The deep end is over 9ft deep, which allowed our kids to really use their swimming skills.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2015 by Eric Simon, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for choosing our Hotel and sharing your feedback! We really appreciate your time and your business!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Crown review!!

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
Heard there was an 'adult happy hour''.. Nope on the weekends. Heard breakfast included make your own omelettes!! On weekends no, although breakfast buffet pretty much what you would expect: scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes , toast
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2015 by Eric Simon, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback and your patronage. I checked and we have never had make your own omelettes. We do have a managers reception Monday through Wednesday, it has never been on weekends. I apologize for any miscommunication. Thanks again for your business.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toledo

Crowns Plaza

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Good clean place under 100 bucks. So I was in!,.............
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2015 by Eric Simon, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review. We truly value your input and your patronage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Company function

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: The location.
Cons: More signs clearly indicating the entrances to the parking lot. At night, you really can't see where to enter from the busy streets.
Location: Whirlly ball
Overall I was pleased with the stay. My only issue was the fact that you are limited with the heating and A/C options. I like to sleep in a cold setting but the room never got cool. It was Luke warm. Granted we are in winter but why put a thermostat if the temperature is control by the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2015 by Eric Simon, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing our property. We really appreciate your input and feedback. On behalf of our team we want to wish you the best for 2015
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

A very fine Holiday Inn

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: Clean, easy to navigate, everything works well. The indoor swimming pool room is especially nice, as is the restaurant.
Cons: Spiff up the lobby a bit more, make it more welcoming hangout -- offer tea as well as coffee in the mornings.
Location: Very little within walking distance, surprisingly. But Roosevelt Road is easy to navigate, with plenty of shopping malls and highways around.
We stayed for a week, attending a nearby family reunion. Locals told us -- and the seems true -- this was an old style dumpy hotel that was renovated and re-badged a CrownePlaza, with an upscale restaurant that is attracting lots of local well-heeled customers. I consider the place a high-level Holiday Inn, or a very low-level Crowne Plaza, compared to other properties I've experienced of both brands. The renovation was well done: the rooms are not spacious, but still are comfortable. The showerhead is the most luxurious item. And everything worked well, no sign of poor maintenance at all. The swimming pool area is quite nice, though we were disappointed by the lack of a hot tub. Fitness room was fine -- again, everything worked well and seemed well-maintained.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2015 by Eric Simon, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for choosing our Hotel. Your input is very important to us. I will share your comments with our staff. thank you for your kind words.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2015 by Eric Simon, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for rating us. your business and score are truly appreciated.