Ratings based on 1,022 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Fresh and Clean

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: convenience, clean and still feels new
Cons: great for the price
Location: Old Orchard Mall, movies, restaurants, cab service
While visiting family back in Chicago I have stayed at the Double Tree and just recently was reminded of what a nice hotel it is. Room had no ordor or smells that most hotels have and the staff were polite, professional and very accommodating especially the housekeeping staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Worst Stay I have had ANYWHERE in 10 years

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: It's convenient location
Cons: Other than the location, EVERYTHING!!
Location: Located close to the expressway and across the street from Old Orchard Shopping Mall
I stayed here for a 3-day class along with others in my field. There were more people in my class (including the instructor) who were unhappy with this hotel than there were who were pleased. In fact, NO ONE was pleased. A few thought it was "ok". Everyone agreed that the beds were extremely uncomfortable. Several of us complained that we did not sleep all night the entire stay. I had my door key cards not working for the first 2 days, even with several complaints. I also had to call for someone to come up and fix the television and bring a hair dryer. They charged my credit card $75.00 without telling me "in case" I spent anything extra. The rooms were already paid. If they had told me, it wouldn't have been a problem, but they said NOTHING!! Just did it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent place, good location

Posted Dec 12, 2014
The hotel is far nicer than I expected for the price. Very classy with excellent service. The location is quite decent also, surrounded by grocery stores and restaurants (nothing fancy but nice standard places), and very close to Northwestern University's campus. You can take public transport to downtown Chicago rather easily too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient access to downtown at a great price

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Easy to find, the staff were very pleasant and made us feel welcomed. Accommodations were comfortable.
Location: There's a performing arts center next door that was busy the evening we arrived, but mainly this hotel is just up the freeway from downtown Chicago.
We just had to stay one night (me, my wife and two adult children), just needed an affordable place to rest our heads so this was perfect for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles, CA.

Perfect location just outside of Chicago

Posted Dec 8, 2014
The hotel is on a perfect location just outside of a mayor city like Chicago And right across from everything
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Syracuse, NY

Very comfortable and convenient hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: The beds are comfortable , the linens, pillows, towels are all top quality. The room was clean and well stocked.
Cons: Did not see anything that needed improvement for this stay.
Location: Location was convenient to the business we were visiting, did not get a chance to explore. Could see a movie theater from my window!
Stayed at the recommendation of a supplier we were visiting. Was very pleased with this hotel, will stay again if we are in the area in the future. The restaurant is very nice, as we had arrived late and were starving, it was a blessing to have them there and open to feed us. Although the warm cookie at check in was wonderful, the dinner at the restaurant was excellent! Would have stayed more than one night if I could.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotle close to everything.

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Everything, friendly staff clean and have access to everywhere.
Cons: The way room was setup when you open the door for a delivery man or the staff you will see the person on the bed, this is the only concern I have.
Location: As I said is close to everything.
I had a blessed in this hotel and I am welling to come back, I only had one problem but the hotel staff took care of it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Osaka

ダウンタウンからは遠いホテル

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Location: シカゴのダウンタウンからは離れているので,私たち以外の日本人はほとんどいませんでした.周辺にはショッピングモールがありアクセスも良かったです.イリノイ ホロコースト博物館 & 教育センターが近くにあり,ナチスドイツ,アウシュビッツ収容所,移民の受け入れなど知ることができました.
学会のため利用しました.ホテルとしては,清潔で,不足物品の補充も十分にしてくれ,良かったと思います.フロント横ではコーヒーの無料サービスがありました.全館,WifiがFreeで快適に利用できました.日本のTV番組はありませんでした.私の部屋のバスルームは浴槽が浅く,ゆっくりつかるには難しかったです.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Back again!

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Location, ease of access, relatively reasonably priced (for Chicago suburb).
Cons: The workout room needs more machines and would benefit from a bigger space.
This is our 3rd or 4th time at the Doubletree. We stay here whenever we're visiting Northwestern. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the location is ideal for parental visits which require shopping for our favorite student. It's close to school, the Orchard shops and good restaurants. Our only issue this visit was the hotel's popularity (Family Weekend, multiple conferences and a large wedding). It made parking a little harder to find, but we didn't have to walk far. The only reason I gave it a 4 on facilities instead of 5 is that the workout room is too small for a hotel of this size. Because of limited facilities, people had to wait for exercise machines. We'll be back again in the spring. Thanks for a good visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Was only there to sleep but it was great. Clean and comfortable and very close to our location of where we needed to be